Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike

Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Des8138
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Decent bike for the price

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, brakes, tyres
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable, uncomfortable saddle, hit and miss gears
After owning a Trek Fuel EX5, I decided that a hybrid would better suit my needs for commuting and rides out rather than a mountain bike. Therefore I sold it and after a week of searching around, I decided to go for the Scott Sportster 30 instead and subsequently ordered and paid for it online.
I couldn't find an 'Urban Kit' for it anywhere, so fitted a pair of SKS P50 Chromoplastic mudguards which makes the bike look a bit like an old man's bike, but at least I'm protected for my commute to work.
The bike is perhaps a little heavy compared to my Trek, but I can live with this. The brakes are excellent and the 700c wheels sure make a difference to the ride. The tyres are smooth and have little rolling resistance, but not the best on gravel or in mud, and the front suspension absorbs bumps quite well.
If I had to complain about anything, it is that the saddle is uncomfortable. I've tried it in all different positions, but my man parts still go numb after around 6 miles. The handlebar grips make your hands sweat after a while and become slippery. Finally, the rear gears are hit and miss. Changing up or down sometimes doesn't do anything and changing again often jumps 2 gears and makes that clicking sound like they are not engaging properly. I will ask about this on the first 6 week service. However, the front derailleur seems fine. All in all, I'm pleased with the bike. At £599, it's worth it for what it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
toasty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great build quality light and rugged

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
i purchased this as a bike to work replacement ,already own a scott mtb so was expecting same quality and not disappointed.i compared it with others and this came out top for components the bike is fast and responsive i have used it off road on bike trails and is perfectly capable
brakes good suspension good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MF67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This bike has a great specification

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After some extensive research I decided the Scott Sportster had the hybrid specification I wanted, coupled with fantastic looks. I have previously owned an older Scott mountain bike and was very happy with the build quality and reliability. I tried out different frame sizes beforehand and was surprised that the larger frame suited me best (I'm 1.73 mts). I've had the bike for four weeks now. On a 20 mile round trip, covering mainly country roads and some rough downhill terrain the bike works superbly. The brakes are awesome and gear changes smooth. The lock out suspension is also excellent for both types of terrain. So far, I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bikenation
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bike great service.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am still getting use to the bike but it has not disappointed me to date. The biggest positive is the service I got from Evans. I live in Sweden and it was cheaper to have this bike shipped to me from them. The bike arrive within a week with nothing missing from my order. Being an international shipment meant the front wheel and handle bars needed to be attached. Breaks and gears already fixed to the bars. Attaching these was fairly straight forward but I did need to contact Evans with a couple of questions which were duly answered and solved.
Attaching all the extras proved no problems and straight forward
Great stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dado68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great Bike

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have this bike for four weeks now and done 100 miles. It's much faster than my mountain bike and very easy to bike up the hill.
Very happy as I ride sometimes off the road and it's been really good.
Guys at Evans in Kingston were very helpful and they set it all up for me when I came to collect it.
Great bike and looks good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

My first ever hybrid bike. Fun to ride.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is light and fast. My first choice was really a Boardman mx sport. But on this price range I got better features and a lot better specs than the Boardman.
It looks great too with the top peak mud guards. The bike has already some admirers at work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scott Sportster 30 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Perfect bike!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, excellent brakes
Cons: uncomfortable saddle
Finally chose this bike after months of research, same as the "20" but lower spec forks which I've opted to upgrade at a later date as I prefer the "30" colours. Cycled around 6 miles and really pleased. Great choice and not seen many Scott bikes around but apparently are really good. Could do with a better saddle and grips but they are cheap to change.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.