Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike

Super light fully-manipulated E5 Premium Aluminium frame is built for high speed, low-fuss, and great versatility; with tapered headtube, internal routing, rack/mudguard mounts, and wide tyre clearance, FACT carbon legs and alloy steerer fork with Zertz for responsive road feel and forgiving ride; with mudguard mounts and wide clearance for added versatility. Sirrus semi aero, machined alloy rims plus alloy sealed-bearing hubs for a strong, fast-rolling wheelset, Shimano triple crankset for 9-speed drivetrain provides gearing for any terrain and any load, with precise, reliable action; chain guard keeps pants clean. Body Geometry Targa grips lock on and help alleviate hand pain and tingling fingers.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pasha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Delightful, thoroughly recommended

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I had mistakenly bought a cheap mountain bike about four years ago having not ridden much for several years and after developing a heart condition. I spent most of the time riding on road saving shortish car journeys and not off road on tracks as I had expected. The combination of layout and cheap design made this really hard work and long or steep hills nigh on impossible without pause. So in making the decision over a new bike I tried out quite a few, different makes and specs up to £1000. I liked the Sirrius instantly, its combination of weight, gearing and balance are an excellent match for my pacemaker and 66 years. It is a sheer joy to ride and although I will never reach tour performance hills are now a worry consigned to the past. The only noticeable drawback is the front forks without suspension make every pothole an adventure. Apart from that no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mungoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Nice light responsive bike

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I picked this up from the Edinburgh store and rode it 60 miles home. All well set up and a pleasure to ride, as it has been since. Feels just a touch lighter and stiffer than the other Specialized bikes in the family which is as I'd hoped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisN16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Quick commuter bike with upright riding position

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, smooth over bumps
Cons: weird shape frame, very upright position
I bought this to replace my old Ridgeback hybrid commuter which had given up the ghost. I do about 100 miles a week on city roads, i.e. mostly tarmac with potholes, speed bumps, mounting the occasional pavement etc
Pros - This bike is really light and is quick. It is smooth over the bumps probably due to the carbon fork. I have done a lot of PBs on this bike (am slightly addicted to strava). It is gutting to have to add the extra weight of mudguards and D-lock but I need them to get to work.
Cons - The seating position is very upright which I hadn't really noticed when I was in the store. Obviously I knew it wasn't a road bike but equally this is a lot more upright than my old Ridgeback hybrid. I notice it especially in headwinds. The tyres are very narrow and light - they look like they could have come from a road bike which I am slightly worried about as I hate getting punctures. But that is the price you pay for the speed I guess. I may switch to harder wearing tyres at some point. Finally the frame has oddly sized bars which make it hard to affix brackets for d-locks etc but that is a minor grumble
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mireks4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Light and quick

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've been cycling to work on this bike for a few weeks (about 11miles) and I think the bike is very comfortable to ride on, Light and slim. Gears are shifting very smoothly. 100 psi is a bit too much on uneven roads, 80 psi on the rear tyre makes the ride smoother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simplybob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Good hybrid for work commute and cycle touring

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I find the bike really stable, I bought it after borrowing the 2012 version to go cycle touring and liked the ride so much that I bought it. The supplied brakes are fine but I think they are probably not going to last that long with daily use. The decal on the 2014 bike is a bit fussy but that can be altered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharpett

Brilliant light weight commuter

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Use for commuting to work. Suitable for attaching panniers and mud guards for a comfortable ride.
Lightweight and 28c tyres make for a quick commute.
Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SouthPaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great return to cycling after 15+ years

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I recently started cycle commuting to work after not having owned a bike since childhood.
The Sirrus Elite has been a very pleasant surprise. Light, comfortable and easy to ride. I don't have any recent experience of other bikes to compare this against, but I feel that it has made the 13 mile journey easier than I was expecting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
disneyholic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

very happy with the bike

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Super light fantastic bike very comfortable and great value
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Smooth, sporty fitness ride!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I just bought this bike and it performs like a dream. Its a smooth ride and it also brakes smoothly to - perfect for riding on the road or otherwise for fitness.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rimsky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb quality

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I only took up cycling earlier this year and I made the mistake of buying a cheap hybrid bike from halfords, which I returned after 6 weeks, as it clearly wasn't fit for purpose. I then took my time and did my research and decided upon the Specialized Sirrus Elite. I have only had the bike a few weeks, but so far I am very impressed. It is a joy to ride and effortless. It has great gearing and it's low weight, means I can actually cycle up hills instead of getting off and pushing. It is very fast as well and I am beating my friends ( who are a lot fitter than me) on our weekly bike ride. The only slight negative I have, is that because it has road tyres, the ride can be a little harsh on less than perfect Tarmac. But this really is a minor niggle that doesn't stop me enjoying my ride. I might even experiment with some all terrain tyres to see how much compromise there is on speed over comfort. The build quality seems to be of a very high standard, but I guess time will tell. All in all I am very happy with my first impressions and i really am enjoying putting miles under my belt getter fitter and healthier.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.