Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike

Super light fully-manipulated E5 Premium Aluminium frame is built for high speed, low-fuss, and great versatility; with tapered headtube, internal routing, rack/mudguard mounts, and wide tyre clearance, FACT carbon legs and alloy steerer fork with Zertz for responsive road feel and forgiving ride; with mudguard mounts and wide clearance for added versatility. Sirrus semi aero, machined alloy rims plus alloy sealed-bearing hubs for a strong, fast-rolling wheelset, Shimano triple crankset for 9-speed drivetrain provides gearing for any terrain and any load, with precise, reliable action; chain guard keeps pants clean. Body Geometry Targa grips lock on and help alleviate hand pain and tingling fingers.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gerry2014
Country:Portugal
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Futuristic in looks

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, futuristic, fantastic brake cable routing, quick assembly from the box
Cons: snatchy brakes
I seem to have bought the last one in stock. It would be a great shame if Specialized didn't keep to the same formula for 2015. I didn't want disc brakes for several reasons and yet the only 2015 model on sale at the moment of this model. Love the whole look and quality of the bike for an unbeatable price. Thanks Evans and Co for your excellent service and your free delivery to Portugal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great bike at a good price.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having owned an old heavy mountain bike I decided it was time to get something lighter and more suited for road use but with straight handle bars. After much online research I decide on the Specialized Sirrus Elite and I have not been disappointed. It glides along and I can definitely see myself covering lots of miles on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pasha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Delightful, thoroughly recommended

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I had mistakenly bought a cheap mountain bike about four years ago having not ridden much for several years and after developing a heart condition. I spent most of the time riding on road saving shortish car journeys and not off road on tracks as I had expected. The combination of layout and cheap design made this really hard work and long or steep hills nigh on impossible without pause. So in making the decision over a new bike I tried out quite a few, different makes and specs up to £1000. I liked the Sirrius instantly, its combination of weight, gearing and balance are an excellent match for my pacemaker and 66 years. It is a sheer joy to ride and although I will never reach tour performance hills are now a worry consigned to the past. The only noticeable drawback is the front forks without suspension make every pothole an adventure. Apart from that no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mungoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Nice light responsive bike

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I picked this up from the Edinburgh store and rode it 60 miles home. All well set up and a pleasure to ride, as it has been since. Feels just a touch lighter and stiffer than the other Specialized bikes in the family which is as I'd hoped.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisN16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Quick commuter bike with upright riding position

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, smooth over bumps
Cons: weird shape frame, very upright position
I bought this to replace my old Ridgeback hybrid commuter which had given up the ghost. I do about 100 miles a week on city roads, i.e. mostly tarmac with potholes, speed bumps, mounting the occasional pavement etc
Pros - This bike is really light and is quick. It is smooth over the bumps probably due to the carbon fork. I have done a lot of PBs on this bike (am slightly addicted to strava). It is gutting to have to add the extra weight of mudguards and D-lock but I need them to get to work.
Cons - The seating position is very upright which I hadn't really noticed when I was in the store. Obviously I knew it wasn't a road bike but equally this is a lot more upright than my old Ridgeback hybrid. I notice it especially in headwinds. The tyres are very narrow and light - they look like they could have come from a road bike which I am slightly worried about as I hate getting punctures. But that is the price you pay for the speed I guess. I may switch to harder wearing tyres at some point. Finally the frame has oddly sized bars which make it hard to affix brackets for d-locks etc but that is a minor grumble
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mireks4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Light and quick

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've been cycling to work on this bike for a few weeks (about 11miles) and I think the bike is very comfortable to ride on, Light and slim. Gears are shifting very smoothly. 100 psi is a bit too much on uneven roads, 80 psi on the rear tyre makes the ride smoother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simplybob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Good hybrid for work commute and cycle touring

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I find the bike really stable, I bought it after borrowing the 2012 version to go cycle touring and liked the ride so much that I bought it. The supplied brakes are fine but I think they are probably not going to last that long with daily use. The decal on the 2014 bike is a bit fussy but that can be altered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharpett

Brilliant light weight commuter

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Use for commuting to work. Suitable for attaching panniers and mud guards for a comfortable ride.
Lightweight and 28c tyres make for a quick commute.
Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SouthPaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great return to cycling after 15+ years

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I recently started cycle commuting to work after not having owned a bike since childhood.
The Sirrus Elite has been a very pleasant surprise. Light, comfortable and easy to ride. I don't have any recent experience of other bikes to compare this against, but I feel that it has made the 13 mile journey easier than I was expecting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
disneyholic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

very happy with the bike

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Super light fantastic bike very comfortable and great value
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Smooth, sporty fitness ride!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I just bought this bike and it performs like a dream. Its a smooth ride and it also brakes smoothly to - perfect for riding on the road or otherwise for fitness.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rimsky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb quality

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I only took up cycling earlier this year and I made the mistake of buying a cheap hybrid bike from halfords, which I returned after 6 weeks, as it clearly wasn't fit for purpose. I then took my time and did my research and decided upon the Specialized Sirrus Elite. I have only had the bike a few weeks, but so far I am very impressed. It is a joy to ride and effortless. It has great gearing and it's low weight, means I can actually cycle up hills instead of getting off and pushing. It is very fast as well and I am beating my friends ( who are a lot fitter than me) on our weekly bike ride. The only slight negative I have, is that because it has road tyres, the ride can be a little harsh on less than perfect Tarmac. But this really is a minor niggle that doesn't stop me enjoying my ride. I might even experiment with some all terrain tyres to see how much compromise there is on speed over comfort. The build quality seems to be of a very high standard, but I guess time will tell. All in all I am very happy with my first impressions and i really am enjoying putting miles under my belt getter fitter and healthier.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.