Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike

Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike

Double-butted, smooth-welded A1 Premium Aluminium frame offers quality, durability, and light weight while featuring our race proven geometry for precise handling. Tough, durable, three-cross AXIS Classic wheelset. Never miss a critical shift with Shimano Sora STI shifters. Supportive Body Geometry Riva Road Gel saddle is the perfect combination of comfort and efficiency. Specialized FACT carbon fork is ultra lightweight and provides precise steering through the tightest turns.
Overall rating:
4.852 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
54 out of 54Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rider247
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good product at a reasonable price

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my first road bike after a few years of using a mountain bike. It has good performance which is especially appreciated when going up hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sboi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Comfortable fast and looks good.

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first road bike and it has not let me down. Its nice a light and handles really well. The ride is very comfortable and the bike goes like the clappers and the Sora group set is pretty good.
Purchase in the January sales so the bike was a real bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluenude
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mini Tarmac - a Beginner´s Guide to the Allez.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
FRAME AND RIDE FEEL:
The last race bike I rode was based on a Danish made 1200 GBP aluminum frame. That was 15 years ago when pro teams still invested in the technology.
A lot has happened wrt. shaping and welding of aluminum since then. And a lot has happened to price. Normally if you DOWNGRADE from pro level or ask an expensive bike owner in general to review a much cheaper bike, it will be brutal. But not for the Allez!
I have used 2 recent (2008 and 2014) iterations of the Allez bike recreationally, where the focus for me has been on ride feel and happiness factor, and I will now (being older and more reflective perhaps) confess against all superbike snobbery: The overall ride feel for the money here is superb!
And it´s every bit as good a frame as pro level aluminum was 15 years ago when technologies were already very complicated. Now, that is quite a claim, but if based on ride feel, weight, stiffness and finish, definitely! From a PURELY technical perspective, say stiffness-to-weight ratio, I have no idea, but if you try the Allez, you´re not going to care! You´re 90% there already. Not 65%, not 75%.
REST OF THE BIKE:
Bike snobs will tell you that any Shimano gear group below the 105 or Ultegra groups is simply too cheap and will wear out (and hence will become expensive to use or need too much fine tuning). I´m not sure that´s still the case and reviews of newer cheaper Shimano groups will support this claim.
Specifically on the 2014 edition the downshift up front is a little hard, but overall, and especially if you look back to previous years´ 105s or Ultegras, you come pretty darn close to perfect shifting - and those groups cost this entire bike´s price tag.
You will also be blown away at how stiff and smooth the Axis wheelset really is. Worth upgrading when worn out? Definitely, and you see people upgrading this bike to the moon. You see blogs about it. It´s that good.
TAKE HOME MESSAGES:
1. The Allez has a lot of positive synergies that can´t be explained in writing. Try it, instead of reading reviews. Don´t fall prey to the hierarchy of which ride should feel better.
2. If you want to own a celebrated and intelligently assembled modern classic that just screams "get me on the road", get the Allez!
3. If you are considering a budget race bike that still combines serious race considerations with a silky recreational ride feel, get the Allez!
4. If you are considering a more expensive bike (esp. if you are considering a budget carbon racer) then def. try to see if the Allez has enough heat and heart for you! You will have a lot of money for future upgrading.
*Most regrets wrt. bikes and components come from buying more than you can, or will have to to, appreciate or simply just getting too little extra for the extra cash.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newrider777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first road bike and I must say how great it is, I was unsure until I got it out the box as how the black would look and again I must say the Matt black paint is stunning, have been commented on numerous times by friends and strangers. Every detail is fantastic and it rides like a dream. Little twitchy at first but once I got used to this it was great, very lightweight too, carrying it upstairs is easy and no effort. Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bill93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike for getting into Road riding

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have been cycling on a Mountain bike for many years, and decided to take the plunge and buy my first road bike. After a long debate with different models, I settled on the Allez Sport due to Specialized's build quality with regards to their frames. This was a great choice of road bike - it handles well, is comfortable and compared to my mountain bike, feels so fast.
With the price of this bike, there is a compromise on gearing with the Shimano Sora groupset. That being said, I've had no problems - and as an entry level road cyclist, the Sora setup is perfectly suited.
The service provided by Evans was outstanding - I got the bike delivered to store at no extra cost and it was delivered and built within the week. The communication between myself and the store was easy and concise. Very happy. Great Bike. Great Service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MacDa2211
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Well balanced bike easy to handl

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, agile
Very happy with the bike and the staffr from Evans who advised me on the bike and set it up for me to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
COOLJETHRO
It was bought:Online

GREAT FIRST BIKE

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
BEING NEW TO ROAD BIKES ICANT COMPARE TO OTHERS BUT I AM EXTREMLEY HAPPY WITH THIS BIKE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
56789
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bargain

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Picked this up in the sales and am very pleased. The bike came mostly assembled and everything was working well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elmo42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Rides smooth, light and looks fantastic. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BaggyUtd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent bike and looks amazing.

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
An excellent bike for beginners like myself. So much faster than my hybrid bike. Will add some upgrades such as pedals in due course but just enjoying getting used to my new bike for now! Very fast and well engineered. Good looking bike too in matt black. High level of kit for the money. Overall very pleased with my new toy. Tom at the Castleford store was very helpful (Thank you) and set the bike up perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spikeybill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Race inspired ride ...ripe for upgrading

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm very pleased with the sport, the frame is excellent and with some upgrades you could race this easily having spent less money than some high end bikes.
The gearing is tough for steep climbs and find myself grinding up wishing for a lower gear.
The saddle is bearable.
Overall for the money this is an excellent bike and am really pleased with it and the service from evans
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stusmith34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent lightweight alloy bike.

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I deliberated long and hard when considering my second road bike and the Allez Sport ticked all the boxes. Matt black frame looks fantastic and the sale price was to good to miss. I have immediately become a big fan of Specialized.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joenyland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

A fantastic bike for the price point

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast, puncture resistant tyres, inexpensive
Whether you are new to road cycling, after a "winter bike" or you are commuting by bike, look no further than this one. You can spend far more money on other brands and/or components, but you get a fantastic bike here for the price point which it's at.
I needed a aluminium framed bike for winter riding and commuting and coming from owning several Specialized bikes already, I knew I was going to get a great bike here. What I didn't realise, though, is how fast this bike would be - It's rapid! It's also really comfortable too, considering its "racier" geometry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GeorgeDCY
Country:Cyprus
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Evans Service - Allez road Bike

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My review is not about the bike, which is excellent. But about the outstanding service from Evans Cycles.
The Service has been phenomenal. Rarely in my life have I encountered such impeccable professionalism. The Evans staff were readily available to advise me on frame size. Two working days after I've placed the order, the bike was delivered. Even the packaging was great.
Will definitely use Evans Cycles again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drumsticks241
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellently specced first roadie

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, quick
Purchased this recently after riding a hybrid for the past few years, and the difference is absolutely phenomenal. It eats up the miles so easily and I certainly feel proud when speeding along with the beautiful matte black frame. The carbon fork is worth the upgrade from the regular Allez, it turns corners really precisely and allows you to really put some speed into the hairpins. The gears are smooth and responsive, and the chainset is perfect as it means you can tackle the uphill sections as well as the downhill blasts. Overall an outstanding piece of kit.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sebk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

great purchase

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i only started my adventure with road bikes few months ago. really like it so decided to switch from carrera zelos to specialized. enjoying very much my new bike in fact cannot wait to get on it. bike looks great. comfort of the ride is significantly better than carrera. i know there are better carbon bikes out there but for the money (got discounted model from 2014) i think it is a great buy. i would recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stev2k
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

excellent budget road bike

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: rubbish stock pedals
This bike is really fun to ride, it's got a great setup out of the box and is generally great value for money.
I think it's ideal if you are starting out, or getting more interested in cycling. Riding it feels exciting and it's something to get out of bed for in the morning.
It might not be suitable if you are looking for something really specific or personalised.
If you have ever ridden an Allez before, you won't be suprised by the way this bike handles, it's pretty much identical to my previous Allez '12.
The only con I can see so far is that the stock pedals are a bit rubbish. I think this is probably by design so that they can hit the correct price point.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
niceonetidy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

my first racer

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Super quality. Nice and easy to change gear on front and rear gear changes. Great value for money. I recommend this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pete231270
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Amazing machine!

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
First proper road bike and this is fantastic. It absolutely flies compared to anything iver ever ridden. Cant speak highly enough about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Allez Sport C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MigsyB

Excellent value for money

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If you want an affordable, nice, lightweight and fast bike, have a try on this one.
I purchased the black model and looks great with many saying that I've spend £300-£400 more than what I really paid for the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>