Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike

Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike

Double-butted, smooth-welded A1 Premium Aluminium frame offers quality, durability, and light weight while featuring our race proven geometry for precise handling. Specialized A1 Premium Aluminium fork provides lightweight and predictable steering. Comp oversized aluminium bar is stiff and light for serious performance and features Specialized S-Wrap bar tape for tacky grip and superior vibration damping. Never miss a critical shift with Shimano 2400 Claris STI shifters. Supportive Body Geometry Riva Road Gel saddle is the perfect combination of comfort and efficiency.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
66 out of 68Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kemakris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent entry level road bike

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this as my first road bike having done a lot of road miles on a mountain bike and trying and liking the specialized allez elite model. This is obviously lower spec than the elite (elite has tiagra gearset with sora brakes and a carbon fork), but for the money you are paying you will not find anything better. Despite some people turning their nose up at it, the Claris groupset has performed well so far, and is more than suitable for my mileage (400-500 miles a month), and the bike really is a joy to ride. The bike is a bit heavier than I had hoped compared with the elite model, but that's a minor point. From an aesthetic point of view, the red and black colour scheme is fantastic, and the bike "looks" as good as a lot of much more expensive bikes. If you've got the money and you are serious about road bikes, I would consider spending a bit more money if you can, but as a first road bike on a budget this more than fits the bill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lew2blue
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good Entry level bike

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Excellent bike for the price- easy to upgrade and works well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taynuiltguy
It was bought:Online

Ok Bike but....

PostedMarch 25, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: gear changes, cheap parts
Bought bike about 6 months ago now and I enjoy it. It get's me from A to B but there are alot of negatives to it.
Changing gears is a massive pain in the neck and even though I have kept it in pristine condition parts are rusting already. Not good enough really!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
j3ayy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Beautiful Bike to Ride & Great Price

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
We went out for a 30 mile ride yesterday & the bike was amazing,Great bike at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bakri
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Good quality and versatile.

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike suits me great.
I have a long commute so I ride the bike a lot every day.
I also go for longer country rides and the bike suits both really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steeds26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great bike, rides like a dream

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike is lightweight and very agile. I had one problem with a gear cable snapping, however this was more of a hinderance as it did not completely snap. All it meant was that my gears would not lock in when trying to reach the top three and the remaining tensions were all wrong.I'm not sure if I was to blame for this or if the cable itself was of poor quality. It was nothing a quick service couldn't handle though and was replaced for me free of charge. Great service and a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cadence1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A good first road bike

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: standard saddle not comfortable
It was simple to set the bike up when it was delivered and I was out on the road in no time. Having not ridden a road bike before I was struck by how easy it was to master the gear change and the effectiveness of the brakes. The bike is well made and and to a much higher specification than I had expected for the price.
I've now been riding it for two weeks and invested in a professional set up by a Specialized trained expert. This is well worth the investment and I am already exceeding more than I thought I could achieve on the bike in such a short space of time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simonk88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great frame great first road bike

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I chose this bike for its reputation as a great first bike. So happy with the results. Smooth ride and very reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicksp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike - Great Price.

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This must be one of the best bikes available in this price range.
Have had the bike for 3 weeks now and have done about 400 miles on it and I can honestly say that I have enjoyed every one of those miles. Even the uphill cold wet and windy ones.
The bike feels light, stiff and responsive, the Shimano Claris group set is perfectly adequate for my level of cycling and the ride is both smooth and comfortable. On top of that the bike looks great.
Cant think of any negatives to say.
I own this bike and a £999 Cannondale with Tiagra group set and other than slight weight difference and slightly smoother gear change I can honestly say I would be equally as happy on either bike.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam102
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like it

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
I'm new to this type of bike brought this as my first one I looked around a bit and read some reviews I thought this seemed perfect as my first one. The price was good too.
I'd recommend this bike to anyone it's very easy to use and lightweight too, I really enjoy riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Michael0n
It was bought:Online

Great ride but shifter broke

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great to ride but the left less used shifter broke within 2 weeks of purchase. Very disappointed as now it is back at the shop and will be there for at least a week before it gets it's shifter replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Omniplanet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Seems good !

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike has been my first foray into cycling. I did a bunch of research and took the advice of the guys at the Chelmsford store and bought the allez.
Only a couple of rides in and it feels good! I was slightly worried about some negative things I read about Shimano Claris and not hitting every shift with a positive engagement and it doesn't feel as smooth as some more expensive bikes I have tried but as a new rider it really isn't going to slow me down or cause issue.
Overall very happy with the purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SolBlos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Excellent value road bike

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As good as it gets in it's price range. The frame is stiff and reasonably light and the wheels, although not particularly light are very durable and have very well sealed bearings.
The Shimano Claris groupset is a massive improvement on the previous year's 2200, the shifting is as precise as Shimano 105 5700, just 8 speed instead of 10 speed.
The Allez has a fairly high front end for a "race" bike so it's very novice-friendly. Get a size smaller than recommended and a longer stem if you like the bars long and low.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nouri85
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The bike is excellent

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike is really fast,comfortable and of a very good quality. I strongly recommend this bike. I don't think you could get a better bike for this price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value bike & looks fantastic

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, smooth welds
Cons: none as yet
Initially bought this as a winter trainer, however it looks so good it almost hurt me to ride it when I picked it up. Ride it I did and on its maiden voyage,12 mile commute home, I have to say I was really impressed how it performed and for what I need it is a winner. The Claris groupset is basic, and is never going to be silky smooth like its big sisters but it does what it says on the tin and is more than capable. A little 'snatchy' on some of the gear changes but a little bit of tweaking should sort that out relatively easily. Wheels are basic, Spesh tyres look OK, but both will do for now. Pedals again very basic and will be the first thing to go, but pedals they are and they do turn the wheels and they got me home.
All that said the ride was amazingly smooth and rapid for a bike at this price point, very little buzz through the bars given the fork is not carbon and overall I have to say I am really pleased with the purchase. The intention of this purchase is that I can now ride more than I did last winter and not worry about the 'best bike' getting road gunk on it, but fear not this is still a good bike. It is a lot of money for anyone and yes there are cheaper bikes out there, but at this sale price and for what you get I feel it is an absolute bargain as it is a 2014 model. Don't let the fact that it is last years model put you off, if you want a first road bike to get you into the sport, this is a lovely looking Spesh bike (gloss black is stunning in my opinion) and the bike and components will do a great job. The smooth welds are a very nice touch too which add to the good looks.
Check the frame sizing before you purchase, I am 5'10 and I have a 54 frame, suits me down to the ground on both of my bikes. But everyone is different so my advice would be to check it out thoroughly if you decide to make a purchase. Best advice everyone gave me when starting out.
In summary, and you can probably guess I like this bike but here goes anyway - great looking bike at a bargain price, rides really well and would be a good winter bike or indeed a great first road bike for someone starting out. And not forgetting Evans service was great as usual.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IanBest
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great first road bike.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had this bik effort around 3 weeks now and it's everything I expected and more. As my first road bike I am over the moon, gears are very smooth and it's a great riding position for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BelfastDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent value

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
The overall quality of the bike is fairly good. The only thing that let's it down is the shimano claris group set. The shifters are very bulky and the cables exit the levers in very poor fashion, although they feel solid and shift smoothly. I've given the bike 5 stars due to the price versus the quality. Highly recommended and it's probably the best entry level bike you can buy. Frame also looks great. I'm using this for my commute to work during the poor weather months and it rides fantastic, very comfortable and solid handling. I'm 5' 11" and the 56cm frame is bang on size.
I don't think you could get a better bicycle for this price.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamar41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Love it

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Looking for an entry level bike and this fit the bill.
Great ride and great value for money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricky12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike for £500!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
So this is my first road bike, I won’t pretend to be an expert or make any comparisons. What I can say though is that this is a great bike to start with, just jump on and go.
Everything seems good quality and durable, only time will tell but it feels solid enough. The gears are easy and smooth, and enough gears to get up most inclines.
Also came with a multi-tool to assemble and toe-clips which was pleasing. As this will probably be a starter bike for a lot of people toe-clips are a nice start before moving to clip in pedals.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Allez C2 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RiccallRanger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Yes, I recommend this product.

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is good value for money, the quality is excellent. This is a great bike for anyone getting into road cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>