Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Helmet

Giro Air Attack Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JmGe
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic helmet

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not suitable for high temperatures
Perfect fit and perfect for fall autum-winter-early spring, very comfortable. You have to love the aestetic, but it looks better on your head than in pictures. Great buy at sales.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeD75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Top, lightweight & comfy helmut

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, nice ventilation
I hardly ever get too hot with this helmet, and although it's lightweight it doesn't feel flimsy or cheap.
Your typical road racer may not like the style but I think it's better than the traditional helmets, which have too many holes and are in garish colours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WhoAmIToday
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specifically purchased this product for its style

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was looking a helmet without a large number of ventilation holes. Having tried this on, I was very happy with the stlye and both the build quality and comfort are great. Glad to have the ventilation on warm days when pushing hard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RolfS
Country:Denmark
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great aerodynamics at a reasonable price

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: ventilation
The Giro Air Attack is a product for those, who seek maximum aerodynamics. The helmet is almost fully closed, and will therefore have a small lack of ventilation. The comfort of the helmet is, however, in top and so are the price.
I would recommend you to buy this helmet if you want to optimize, and seek the famous "marginal gains" for a good price, and without a compromise of comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jbez
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great Helmet, Suprisingly well ventilated. Whislt I wouldn't wear it on a really hot day its a great helmet for going fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bastinhos
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

New style

PostedJune 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: unconventional
This is a new style helmet, nnot so conventional.
It has revealed a good aerodynamic helmet with good air flow inside the head.
Very good for sun protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BristolBob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very difinately aero!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Never tried any form of aero helmet before and after reading mixed reviews wasn't sure what to expect. First ride in anger on route I've ridden many times before (and logged data in Garmin connect) found that average speed increased by 1.2mph. Replicated in 2 further training rides. Used in Outlaw half triathlon on very warm day. Helmet was comfortable and cool. After seeing these gains half of me is wishing I went hole hog and got full aero helmet for possible greater gains but can wear this helmet for regular rides and should keep head a little warmer in winter!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Limmit
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good for speed

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: warmish
The helmet works really fine when biking cross country. The vents works nicely with some speed. However I have found it to be a bit warm on a sunny day especially if you are doing long climbs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AgeGrouper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice, different lid

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, performance
Last week my specialised S-works helmet which I've had for 5 years finally gave up the ghost when one of the internal plastic straps snapped. So I was in the market for a new helmet and have to admit that I am one of those that like the look of the Air Attack
Today was my first ride with it and initial observations are really positive...
Firstly it's plenty cool enough. In fact my head was actually quite cold at times. Secondly - and clearly this is purely psychological - but it did actually feel 'slippery' and over the course of 8 x 2m intervals I covered more ground per interval than I normally do. But to put that in context I'm talking a matter of 50m or so - it's not life changing nor likely to transform you into a contender against Sir Wigo anytime soon.
Thirdly and perhaps most pertinent was that it felt nice and comfortable - with the rachet system keeping the helmet in place without squeezing your head and leaving any annoying red lines.
Plus no-one fell off their bike in disbelief of anyone sporty such a radical design, kids did not point, cars carried on regardless. No-one laughed.
I bought it because I liked the idea of something different, and actually like the design, it was comfortable and well if it made me even a fraction quicker then who can argue with that. But just be aware that those aero gains seemed pretty marginal so I wouldn't go swopping helmets in search of huge performance changes
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Air Attack Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greengrass
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great helmet,top quality.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i am a long time giro product user/fan,i am allways excited when new
inovative products are released and have waited some time to
purchase this new helmet,there has been a lot of interest in all of
the new style aero type road helmets,i liked the look of the air attack
from the first time i saw it,and i think they could'nt have done any
better,it fits very well and feels light whilst wearing ,the new cradle
system is comfortable and does not allow the helmet to tip forward,
i have been wearing it thru the recent hot spell and have never felt
too warm the cooling works very well a real clever design,overall
i am very happy and would recommend this helmet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.