Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)

Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)

The Garmin Edge 510 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 510 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! The Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance comes with heart rate monitor, cadence Sensor and includes and bike mount.
Overall rating:
4.844 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 out of 32(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rlll1288
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Defacto Standard for all Bike Riders

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Before having this unit I had another make which provided me all that I wanted....... that is until I bought the 510 Edge. It is so easy to set up and define how I want to use it for my rides I would say I would never go back to what I used to have. Garmin Express & Connect is great if i want to share my rides with my Family and they can see me when i am struggling to get up the hills.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shark9287
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Connected features are great

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Just got this product it's great,spent a bit of time setting up all the connected features paired it up to my phone via bluetooth downloaded the garmin connect mobile app livesink is fantastic plus you can sink your garmin and strava accounts together so uploading from garmin connect mobile app to strava is simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bbir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Excellent product - bit "American"

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
excellent product. Working out how Garmin Connect and Garmin Express work with the device is still a bit of a trial - and i would like to think i know what i am doing. Recording rides works well and setting up your details is easy. I've not tried the "tracking via phone facility" so i cant say how that works. Service from Evans was fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roadie1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

A great GPS cylcle computer

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Having read the previous reviews about this cycle computer, I was sceptical about buying it due to the problems viewing the screen during daylight hours. The positive reviews outweighed the negative reviews and I ended up purchasing this GPS unit. Having used this computer on many occasions including full sunlight (yes I was in the U.K!) I can categorically say that the screen viewing problems in sunlight have now been resolved. The many functions of this cyclecomputer combined with the ability to connect to the internet make this and all round great cycle computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Excellent product!!!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After reading a few reviews on this product I was slightly worried that I would have trouble with it syncing to heart monitor and iphone app etc.
This has not been the case. it's been excellent!! No problems at all.
You can start a ride and it will sync with your phone straight away .When you finish the ride the information is on the app on your phone and uploads it to the free Garmin connect programme on your computer.You can then look at it in more detail and edit it etc.
I've been very pleased with this product and would recommend it to anyone . It encourages you to go for a ride as it's fun and informative to study your results when you get home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisl1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great piece of kit

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Instant gps lock, automatically uploads to strava.
Much better than my previous cateye.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnny1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Nice and neat bit of IT for the bike

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Ok, I'm a bit of a sceptic with IT and the latest 'fads'. Well, my old Cateye computer jumped out of its bracket the other month, never to be retrieved from the undergrowth. RIP. It was at this point I thought 'why not?'.......so I did......I bought the Garmin 510 Edge.
The unit is not too large - it had been a concern of mine as I didn't want the equivalent of a flat screen tv on my bars. The set up from out of the box is quite straight forward.....thankfully! The units features can tell you most things you might ever need to help with your riding and training info and progression. In brief its a fancy bit of kit.......the Garmin Connect site is easy to navigate and also sites like Strava add to general interest too.
I'd say it was a bit on the expensive side to be honest but if its lasts as long as my Cateye did then it'll repay the cost in spades! Buy one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigdog4387
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Essential tool

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Really easy to set up, looks good on the bike. For training purposes this can display as much or as little info you need. Good charge level also. If you don't have one, you are missing out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geezer74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great tool for training and motivation

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this 3 weeks ago to perhaps improve my fitness and motivate me (after 3 vascular procedures on my right leg over the last 10 years or so my fitness has fluctuated as well as weight).
So far this has no disappointed, easy to install, understand and use this tool has helped me to see improvements in my fitness as well as weight loss. Used with Strava this is highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJD123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best device i have ever used

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
the 510 as allowed me take take my training to the next level with the help of many of its many features.This is a must for those wishing to improve there cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Henderbeast
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Quality leap forward

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This took a little while to get used to after I changed from my Garmin Edge 205; the operating system does not feel familiar at first. However, once you get used to it, this is a capable GPS.
I previously had problems with dirt and water ingress into my last page. So far this seems to be better with the rubber shroud. I have also invested in a silicon cover to protect it more. While I was not happy with the previous generation of edge mounts, the quarter turn mount on this model is much more secure.
The garmin connect software has worked well so far. Uploads are now much simpler. I had some problems loading garmin express on my Windows XP laptop, but I put this down to Microsoft phasing out XP rather than problems with Garmin software itself.
The performance bundle is well worth the extra money in my opinion.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DoogieP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Easy set up, works well but Bluetooth issues.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This was easy to set up for several bikes and comes with three mounts. Works well and has clear screen. Having some Bluetooth issues as it doesn't always connect to phone. This means having to forget device on phone and re-pair.
Rides also sync onto Strava via copymysports.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick6290
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Best Bike computer around

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A friend told me about it and went for the 510 not the 500 as this is touch screen . A little bit more on price but well worth it . The heart rate monitor and cadence meter are excellent. All round best bike computer I've ever had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gribbs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Ideal for the keen cyclist

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've had the new garmin 510 a few weeks now and I can say that its a fantastic device. The cadence sensor is easy to fit to a bike frame, albeit the cable ties do look a little cheap. The pack includes 3 handlebar fastenings to allow you to attach the GPS device to 3 bikes without having to change the fastening over.
The GPS sensor quickly connects to satellites, much more quickly than previous versions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
giorgosrallyman
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a very smart bike accesory

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, smart
Cons: Expensive
In a few words, this is a very smart bike accesory!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
calum91
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and Accurate

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
As you would expect of a device costing in the region of £250 it is well made and does what it is designed to do very well. Providing you download the full pdf user manual the device is easy to setup and pair with the ANT+ heart monitor and Cadence sensor.
I found to fit the cadence sensor to my pedal I had to use a piece of cut up and folded inner tube so that when tied with a cable tie it was secured tight. With just the cable tie the sensor was loose and able to move about (My pedal does not have a fat inner face).
Satellite signal is excellent and when first switched on the device takes seconds to lock into the satellites. Battery life is very good. I use the stem mount and with the tether wrapped around the device and bars the unit is held in place securely.
Uploading and viewing information on Garmin connect is a doddle.
Only gripe is that one day I was out 10 miles into the ride I stopped to take some photo's. When I began cycling again I noticed the device hadn't automatically re-started the timer. The device had in fact froze/crashed. Still not sure whether this was weather related or due to a software update installed a few days previous (Weather was snow around 1-2c). I couldn't even restart the unit and so had to cycle the rest of the route without any data. Once I got it home it took around half an hour before the device would restart......No problems since.
Overall I think this is a fantastic product for the cyclist looking for loads of accurate data for training, racing or just plotting their adventures!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goldfinger1000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great gadget that's become an essential bit of kit

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
All the info you could ever need on a customisable display.
Love it and not sure how I lived without one for so long.
Excellent aid for pacing your efforts on longer rides and to track progress in training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Murtaza
Country:Sri Lanka
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has super features

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Started using this for about 2 weeks now. It is superb. I bought the one with a cadence / hr sensor and the accuracy of this is awesome. All menu 's are easily customized to your preference. just switch on, calibrate with your sensors and ride.
Garmin Connect keeps track of all your training perfectly for review. Live track is especially useful for monitoring when riding alone in dangerous locations and also for training. Note the 510 does not have maps. I don't need it for my area but if you require maps, purchase the 810. This is probably one of the best tools I have purchased in the last few years. Expensive but worth it!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gearbox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A superb product.

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a great product with bags of features that allow you to keep track of your ride and performance on the go. It's easy to fit and looks superb. The Bluetooth connection to a smart phone is a great feature as it means no more having to waiting to upload your rides via a computer, simple save your ride and it uploads automatically to Garmin connect. Over all really pleased with my purchase!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GYJones
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Does everything you need

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: currently does not connect to strava app on mobile
I didn't go for the 810 as I always ride in my local area meaning that I do not require the unit to have internal maps. The ability to plan a ride in advance using Garmin Connect is still not as favourable as some GPS planning sites but uploading to the unit from Garmin Connect is still as easy as ever. The GPS connection is strong and does not drop out during rides.
Of principle concern to me is the monitoring performance of the unit and the 510 does this with bells on. The ability to upload rides straight from the unit to my mobile is another excellent feature allowing instant analysis on the Garmin Connect app on my mobile. However, it does not currently do this for Strava which frankly is the site that everybody uses the days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>