Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)

Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)

The Garmin Edge 510 brings you high sensitivity GPS with HotFix and comprehensive, customisable ride data with full workout, training and sensor capability to give you excellent feedback on your performance. It is a robust, water-resistant yet compact and lightweight device with a bring, high resolution, sunlight readable screen with touchscreen display designed especially for riding. What's more, the new Garmin Edge 510 brings you an enhanced, ride-specific UI with new Activity Profiles for easy transition between bike and riding types. You can also get connected via smartphone with the GarminConnect Mobile App thanks to the ANT+ and Bluetooth connectivity. Further benefits include real time tracking providing accurate performance and location data as well as graphic representation of ride data, as well as instant upload and download. An hourly weather forecast will even be sent to your Edge! The Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance comes with heart rate monitor, cadence Sensor and includes and bike mount.
Overall rating:
4.795 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 44(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wolverine1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Excellent bike computer

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this computer to improve winter turbo training and it really hasn't disappointed. If you simply want to track speed distance etc the basic computer will suffice however I would recommend buying the package with cadence and heart monitor. The heart monitor is first class and simple to attach. The cadence sensor takes a bit of playing about with but once set up really helps you get more from a training session. I haven't been on the road with this yet however I would imagine it will be great. Further easy to set up garmin connect and to link this to strava...another great plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deepee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Basic gps with all the required functions except m

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: software
Bought this for my wife, so that she could have some idea of speed, cadence, distance and heart rate. Does what it says on the box exactly, without any fuss and it's easy to use. As with allGarmin products, their connect website is useless for communicating with the likes of Strava, so direct uploads are the order of the day, unless you use one of the numerous upload providers. What a shame Garmin can't manage to sort it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bezza01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Gateshead

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for my hubby for Christmas and he loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HuddsTerrier
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

So far so good

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Only used on the turbo so far but helped to take my mind off the boredom of indoor training by watching the cadence and heart rate. Courses look useful, even though there is no underlying map.
A great tool. Thanks Santa!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triathlonbuds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very Useful

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, looks professional
The Garmin Edge 510 has lots of different setting and features which make it very useful for a cyclist. It fits perfectly on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclerobin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Awesome

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This will revolutionise my cycling. Having accurate stats will help me to identify areas for improvement and it is great to see real time information when cycling. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueJacko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great upgrade from Edge 200

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The Edge 510 is easy to set up and use,it provides you with all the information you need when training. I find the cadence sensor more use indoors when using my turbo trainer, the heart rate monitor is great for finding my desired tempo out on the road (or showing how unfit I am). The back light function is a great addition during the winter months. Worth the extra money as an upgrade if you use it too it's potential.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tww67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Does exactly what I need really well

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is a great accessory that has spurred me on to train better, especially when using it with Strava to check my times against friends. It's easy to use with my winter gloves on. The GPS/Glonass combination means it picks up satellites really quickly. Plus having the HRM and cadence features has given me even more data to work with. It's easy to configure for my two bikes and having 3 mounts (including the out-front mount) is great value. All I need now is a third bike...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
talbotevo5
Country:Iceland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

not easy to use

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
when I first turned it on it was in russinan language it took me a long time to convert to english the manual is confusing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaraUAE
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The perfect companion for training rides. Very flexible ( you can decide what you see on the display while riding) and simple to set up and use. Useful the possibility to tune the backlight intensity so that the display is visible when light conditions change during the course of a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiswas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent piece of kit. Unfortunately the heartbeat monitor doesn't work which means it's either faulty or I'm dead!! Spoke to a nice chap at my local Evans cycle shop at monks cross york and not a problem. Just pop it in and we will exchange it. Excellent service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VinB01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Garmin Edge 510

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
So far only used a few times but so far so good. 4 stars because I haven't tried all the features, but no problems yet.
Biggest problem was click and collect. They said it was in stock (Brighton) but wasn't, so a wasted trip into town.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rlll1288
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Defacto Standard for all Bike Riders

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Before having this unit I had another make which provided me all that I wanted....... that is until I bought the 510 Edge. It is so easy to set up and define how I want to use it for my rides I would say I would never go back to what I used to have. Garmin Express & Connect is great if i want to share my rides with my Family and they can see me when i am struggling to get up the hills.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shark9287
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Connected features are great

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Just got this product it's great,spent a bit of time setting up all the connected features paired it up to my phone via bluetooth downloaded the garmin connect mobile app livesink is fantastic plus you can sink your garmin and strava accounts together so uploading from garmin connect mobile app to strava is simple.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bbir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Excellent product - bit "American"

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
excellent product. Working out how Garmin Connect and Garmin Express work with the device is still a bit of a trial - and i would like to think i know what i am doing. Recording rides works well and setting up your details is easy. I've not tried the "tracking via phone facility" so i cant say how that works. Service from Evans was fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roadie1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

A great GPS cylcle computer

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Having read the previous reviews about this cycle computer, I was sceptical about buying it due to the problems viewing the screen during daylight hours. The positive reviews outweighed the negative reviews and I ended up purchasing this GPS unit. Having used this computer on many occasions including full sunlight (yes I was in the U.K!) I can categorically say that the screen viewing problems in sunlight have now been resolved. The many functions of this cyclecomputer combined with the ability to connect to the internet make this and all round great cycle computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Excellent product!!!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After reading a few reviews on this product I was slightly worried that I would have trouble with it syncing to heart monitor and iphone app etc.
This has not been the case. it's been excellent!! No problems at all.
You can start a ride and it will sync with your phone straight away .When you finish the ride the information is on the app on your phone and uploads it to the free Garmin connect programme on your computer.You can then look at it in more detail and edit it etc.
I've been very pleased with this product and would recommend it to anyone . It encourages you to go for a ride as it's fun and informative to study your results when you get home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisl1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great piece of kit

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Instant gps lock, automatically uploads to strava.
Much better than my previous cateye.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnny1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Nice and neat bit of IT for the bike

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Ok, I'm a bit of a sceptic with IT and the latest 'fads'. Well, my old Cateye computer jumped out of its bracket the other month, never to be retrieved from the undergrowth. RIP. It was at this point I thought 'why not?'.......so I did......I bought the Garmin 510 Edge.
The unit is not too large - it had been a concern of mine as I didn't want the equivalent of a flat screen tv on my bars. The set up from out of the box is quite straight forward.....thankfully! The units features can tell you most things you might ever need to help with your riding and training info and progression. In brief its a fancy bit of kit.......the Garmin Connect site is easy to navigate and also sites like Strava add to general interest too.
I'd say it was a bit on the expensive side to be honest but if its lasts as long as my Cateye did then it'll repay the cost in spades! Buy one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 510 Road Performance (HR and Cadence)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigdog4387
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Essential tool

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Really easy to set up, looks good on the bike. For training purposes this can display as much or as little info you need. Good charge level also. If you don't have one, you are missing out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>