Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike

Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spongo66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great bike at an affordable price

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: basic fork
Having not cycled to any great degree for over 15 years (showing my age here) I decided to re-enter the world of mountain biking. My aim: to increase my overall level of fitness, which to be frank wasn't going to be difficult as the only exercise I could claim was the occasional run to catch the bus.
I owned an old Specialized Hardrock Sport and was impressed with the quality and the value for money so decided to purchase another Specialized. I decided on Rockhopper based on the level of componentry and the overall cost. Would I be disappointed?
First impressions were good, the frame had a good quality finish to it, the welds tidy but functional, the spec level of the componentry good for the price. The forks appeared functional but seemed a little bouncy, but a trial ride on the driveway wasn't a particularly fair test.
First ride was on single track, gravel and the occasional stretch of mud. The handling was very good, accelerated well and the lockout on the forks good for uphill sections. The gear shifters were adequate, although sometimes a little slower than I would have liked, however the rear mech would be an obvious and easy upgrade to improve matters. The standard Specialized tyres coped well with all conditions and the brakes bit very well, especially after a few miles of use. The 29 inch wheels soaked up the bumps really well.
Gripes? Well for me the handlebars were slightly too wide, making steering input a little slower than I would have liked and the forks were a little bouncy, despite trying numerous settings.
To be honest these points are all extremely minor, overall the Rockhopper is a very capable bike and I'll have to improve a lot before I become more capable than it!
For the casual rider, or those looking to improve their skills before dipping their toes into the murky world of MTB racing I can thoroughly recommend this bike. I look forward to my next ride and look to enter my first XC race soon. Sadly I'm now so ancient that I'll be classed as a veteran,so if you pass an old man on a nice Specialized Rockhopper on an uphill section, give him a cheery wave before he passes out!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ingram
 
Please wait while more information about Ingram is loaded.
Additional information about Ingram could not be loaded.
Posted February 25, 2013
Top bike, changed the pedals and seat but wow what a whopper, awesome kit
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tjohare1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great but dodgy forks

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I got this bike close to Easter this year and so far have been very impressed except for terrible forks small pedals and grips. All feel very cheap for a specialized. The larger rims are really nice and the roll is so much better and helps on overall speed and fast rock gardens . Overall a good bike and investment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sariam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Castleford

Great bike

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this for my husband and he is very pleased with it.
Good value for money. Not a lightweight bike but it isn't heavy.
Would recommend this bike to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krispy12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first bike of this price .and you can tell the quality . The build quality and the ride quality is great . I'm impressed with the customer service from Evans. When I've had a problem it was dealt with quickly . I will be using Evans again for my children's bikes .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
krysten
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

what a great bike

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Was looking for a bike to replace my old one and went looking on here and found this one.a very nice looking bike and very comfy to ride.the brakes are very smooth and responsive. The gears are smooth and quick to change.
All in all a great bike.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vortex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome bike

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I love this bike, its a good ride, smooth and light!
Breaks are sharp and responsive, suspension is great with the attached speed lock you can increase/decrease the responsiveness of your suspension.
The saddle however is very uncomfortable.
The cheap plastic pedals ruined the overall look of the bike so i replaced the pedals with red DMR Vault pedals which i must say are awesome!
Overall a great little bike well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saxo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike and great service

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm really pleased with the bike and the service from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
emmal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Great overall bike with value for money components

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my second specialized bike and I wasnt disappointed, nice geometry and comfortable to ride - looks great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toby71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Fantastic Bike

PostedMay 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really Happy with this since day one - lightweight, manoeuvrable and controllable even for a novice like myself - 'all the gear but no idea!' but getting quite daring off road and the local jet-wash is proving very useful.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lonely
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavier Bike

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I've ridden rockhoppers for about 15 years and when my last one was costing too much to fix properly I bought another from Evans as they seemed the easiest to buy from and was no dearer than anyone else on the internet. I wanted to order on the internet as I got more choice on size
.
I was surprised to find all Specialized are now larger wheels, 29ers, which I'm still getting used to. It's not as easy to manouevre and is heavier but I've decided to stay with it as could be the way of the future. I still have my old one to limp along on when I need lightness like taking on a plane abroad. It is less likely to be stolen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
turbonegro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great starter bike for the money.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently got into mountain biking and this bike is great to ride.
If you want a bike in this price range to cover a lot of miles on, I would highly recommend this bike. I have mainly been using it for XC purposes and it copes extremely well with technical uphill sections and the miles fly by.
Handles well enough on trails and downhill for my needs, the ride can be a bit bumpy, but that is to be expected of a hard tail and it is made for XC don't expect it to excel in these areas.
All in all very happy with the purchase, the bike feels great to ride, well put together and as an added bonus it looks great.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RockhopperLover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great solid bike, ideal for most uses

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It's a great bike, with solid construction. First decent bike and it is a brilliant choice. Had a few initial problems with the setup but soon got this sorted out and the bike has been good ever since.
Would recommend this bike to anybody. I've given some hammer and it's stood up to everything so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flipper030
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb build quality, excellent value for money!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: suspension
Having not had a huge amount of riding experience previously, I opted for this wallet friendly 29er as my riding mates had recommended Specialized as a quality brand.
They weren't wrong, the build quality on the frame is excellent, welds are nicely hidden and its light enough to throw round corners.
Having previously owned an '09 Carrera Kraken, this was a nice upgrade and I wasn't disappointed with the 29er's performance and spec.
It feels really solid and fast on downhill sections and is super light for when trudging uphill! The suspension is a little disappointing but I'd expect no more for what I paid, this bike is perfect for me and my weekly 10-15 mile XC rides.
Highly recommended for beginner to intermediate riders, I'm definitely a 29er convert too!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rowerturnedbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First experience of MTB and so far so good

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: nasty looking pedals
In the end, I had to get on and make a decision. I'd spent a long time looking around at all the head-spinning varieties of entry level MTB's and the more I looked, the more confusing it all was. I am planning a long trail ride and weight was a key factor, and was frustrated that so few bikes list the weight.
Anyhow, I landed with the Specialized Rockhopper largely because of the reputation of the brand and the largely positive comments I had seen about this bike.
Firstly, I have to say that Evans delivery speed was exceptional. Delivered within 24 hours and I hadn't requested the overnight delivery. Unbelievably quick!
First impressions of the bike:
- well, it looks great! Only downside were the cheap-looking plastic pedals - suspect I'll be changing those at some point
- the handlebars struck me as being really wide, although they seem to be fine out on the trails
- the riding position is comfy, and the saddle feels good too
- The forks haven't been given a real workout yet. I took the bike out in the snow (average speed was low) so the ground varied from smooth ice, deep snow, hard frozen and rutted ground to saturated mud. The bike seemed to soak it all up. The tires offered great grip and the 29" wheels were as good as the reports suggest, riding over pretty well anything we had to deal with. The fork lock-out is also easily reached whilst riding. Didn't get too much information about how to set up the pre-load though - could have used some info on that - I guess that's another trip to YouTube...
- Brakes were great too. Some write-ups have said they take a while to ease in, but I've found them good to use from the off. Also had heard that hydraulic brakes were all on, or all off....not my experience so far at all.
- I found the gears weren't aligned properly meaning I would find I had to change up 2 gears then come down one, particularly on the top two chain rings, but a little adjustment on the cable tensioners appears to have resolved this...fingers crossed
So, as a starter bike, I'm delighted so far - it feels like good value for money. I will have a better idea once I've got more miles on it, but so far so good.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WombleJim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great first bike after a few years away from cycling
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Rockhopper

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: pedals
Very good bike rides well. This is my first proper mountain bike and I would recommend it to someone is looking for an introductory bike into the sport.
I ride it on trails and rough terrain in my local woods.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
29erNewbie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Solid bike with a few niggles

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: long seatpost
This bike is good and has a very solid feel. I've only taken it out once so will update, but first impressions are good.
I took it down the downhill run at cwmcarn - I know this is not what it's designed for but I bought a 29er as an all rounder so pushing its limits.
It was very good but here are my few, minor niggles:
Pedals are very basic - i changed them before going out!
The brake levers were very squidgy but seemed to settle in once they were pumped - braking was very good.
Grips are comfy but too slippery for wet mtb'ing so i replaced with double lock ons,
Suspension is ok but not as plush as others I've used in the past.
My main gripe was the seatpost doesn't drop low enough as it's so long. If you plan on going downhill I'd advise buying a new one or cutting it as I have done - measure carefully and keep the minimum insert. I'm putting some riser bars on it too.
Don't get me wrong, its a great bike for the money and my niggles are very minor and most people wouldn't buy it for downhill anyway.
I'll let you know how it gets on on the cross country trails it was designed for!
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Rockhopper 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlwaysWright
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Love my Rockhopper

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the 2nd Rockhopper in a year, really please with my 2012 model, until it was stolen, not happy.....Gggrrrrrr
So waited until this 2013 model came in, even more pleased with it.
Changed the saddle from the razor blade to the wider gel saddle & gone for red pedals.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.