Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike

Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
midge48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a great introduction to road bikes

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having only used m.t.b before this bike is a breath of fresh air light fast responsive and the riding position is comfortable gear changes are good and ratios are good for beginners.great service from evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pv67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

good value bike

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Nice introduction to road bikes. Comfortable , very light and and makes it easy to get up the hills
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tayls83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great bike for the price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great value entry level road bike, lightweight, carbon forks, and Sora rear mech. Riding position is not too low, so easy transition from mountain bike to road bike. Only negative is the level of the shifters, although similar on majority of entry level bikes, if you can push your budget, go for an upgrade on the shifters.
Collected the bike from store, and the service from Evans was excellent.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fujiman41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First road bike. Loving it.

PostedApril 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first purchase of a road bike after many years of riding MTB.
It's been an absolute pleasure taking this bike out on the road. Handles well and the gears are pretty effortless. The 11-32 T sure makes a difference when climbing those hills. Buy this bike with confidence that you'll not regret it for one minute.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superhaza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Amazing bike

PostedApril 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is great spec for an entry level bike at this price, I got one for my birthday 3 days ago and am on it nearly all the time.
I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants to start road racing or just cycles for fun
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
lovely bike ;light and extremely good value.Very good looking bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yasir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My first road bike.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Very sleek and light. It was my first road bike after having had a hybrid bike for two years before.
Took time to get used to the drop down handles. Took trial and error to fully adjust seat to my comfort front and back as well as up and down. It initially felt too low when I first collected it from Evans.
Shifters are entry level so cannot use brake and gear shifter when cruising as the gear lever is too far from my thumb. However, got used to hold it at the angle when going uphill or intending to shift gear and otherwise hold the drop down handles when cruising downhill.
Had a puncture after my first ride but I guess upgrading to a tougher tyre is inevitable in all brands.
Despite the pannier rack, lock and the mud guards, it remains lighter than my previous specialised hybrid.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GBurn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Quality and great Value!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: check sizing
The general finish of the bike is of a very high quality and is super value for money. I would recommend it to anyone. Only slight issue was the frame was correct size for my height, but seat would not go low enough to get correct leg position due to the thread fixing for the bottle holder, so needed to be modified ! ( DIY ) Not a big problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
james22ash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

New to the sport

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great, great for a beginner in the diciplin
I brought this bike as I have just started cycling again after a number of years. I previously used to mountain bike and have only ever owned mountain bikes before so my ability to review the bike is limited.
This said however, the frame quality is great and it cycled brilliantly out of the box. Being a entry level model the running gear is basic but good and will be easy to upgrade in the future. My only real criticism of the bike is it is quite noisy, over time with some fettling and fine tuning I am sure this can be solved; but for the money I am very happy.
One of the big bonuses for me were that geometry is not too straining having only just moved over from mountain biking; I dont feel like my head is being forced to my feet just yet.
The best thing about the bike however is the customer service I have received from Evans. Having no knowledge of road bikes the help and advice I received in store was brilliant and I was able to take away some really useful advice as well as a bike, the guys in the shop really knew their stuff. The on going customer service has also been brilliant, I took the bike back for a free four week service and was again able to gain some very useful advice on gear from the staff at the shop.
As to whether the bike is lightweight, it certainly is compared to what I am used to but I am sure it is a relative brick compared to what is probably available at the top end of the market.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sigsdet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

This machine is a great entry - level bike.

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If, like me, you are rediscovering cycling after a long lay-off, Fuji have come up with a product equal to some well - known competitors. For speed and handling the bike gives you confidence to push the boundaries that little bit further. The ergonomic saddle and narrow width front bars ensure a ride that is comfortable for long - runs, but aggressive enough for the sportive, more serious cyclists who want to get up to top speed.
Like any bike in its range, there are components, such as the pedals with traditional toe strap, which I found easily up - graded with click - in racing pedals.
This bike has gearing that allows you to climb the steepest hills comfortably, and accelerate rapidly with ease. The Vera Corsa wheels respond superbly on the steepest bends and bumpiest roads.
If you want to get on the road, this is the bike for you. By the way, I like the colour - bright metallic red!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FujiSteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Buy this bike, you will NOT regret it!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no cons what so ever!
I purchased this bike on Boxing Day at the SALE price. An ABSOLUTE bargain!
I rode the bike home from Evans Store in Braehead after test riding it a few days prior. It still felt the same with its smooth, crisp gear changes and it 's comfortable ride and excellent handling, the Carbon Fork fair helps!
This bike is very light weight for the price bracket weighing in at only 9.6KG ... (and this is true because I also popped it on the scales when I got home). I'm sure it could be lightened even more with more Carbon parts ... Handlebars, Seatpost, Wheels etc.
The paint job on this bike is gorgeous and the colour is certainly one of the reasons I opted for this stunning bike.
I hope my input helps you make up your mind about buying this bike :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matty118
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first ever road bike, and after jumping off my old gt mountain bike I cant belive the difference! The fuji feels light and nimble and is a pleasure to ride, gear changes are smooth and quick I have done about 70 mile on the bike since getting it two days ago. I was lucky to get the bike at sale price (£480) which I think is great value! Thanks Evans
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fuji Sportif 1.5 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JayC8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

First Bike Purchase

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first bike since i was a kid! I decided to get myself into cycling and could not speak any higher of this bike. Not only does it look great but it rides like a dream! Gear changes are smooth and quick, breaks are sharp, i really haven't got a bad word to say!!
I would 100% recommend it to someone who wanted to buy their first bike!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.