Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike

Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trek80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent All Rounder ........

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Just taken delivery of the new Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2013.
I have to start by saying that it is a very good looking bike, I wasn't entirely sure of the all black paint job from the website pictures but up close it looks really good. Has nice red and silver stripes which look really good.
A great all round bike, perfect for commuting and seems to absorb bumps in the road well. Nice and smooth gear change and you can really build up a speed on this thing. The frame feels nice and light but well built and strong. Comfortable saddle to boot. Nice disc brakes that slow the bike efficiently and safely.
I have managed to get in a few moderate trails and it coped remarkably well. I don't have room for two bikes and I was looking for a good hybrid for occasional 2 - 3 day a week commuting but something I could also use on moderate off-road cycle trails. This bike fits the bill perfectly.
The bike feels safe and sturdy and inspires confidence both on and off road.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hotspur61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great Bike

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light, agile, responsive, after my 7100fx it took me a couple of days to get used to it. It's reinvigorated me for my morning commute and now I ride around locally just for the fun of it.
Give the disc brakes a day to become effective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sb00020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

First Hybrid, completely bowled over

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great gearing
Cons: discs not that sharp
So this is my first hybrid, and first new bike in about 10 years and its made me completely fall in love with riding again. I've had it about a month and already clocked up over 100 miles on it. Most of my rides have been on roads and towpaths and the bike holds up well on both surfaces.
The only negatives for me are that the disc brakes aren't as sharp as I had expected, but they may need tweaking at the 6 week service and the pedals seem to be a bit weak. The plastic part is already showing signs of stress, but I am a heavy rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richie65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight frame yet durable. Deals with small divots in road without fuss. Gears smooth and braking with disc brakes effective. Saddle takes some getting used to though. Bike looks and feels much more expensive especially with matt black frame finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FedEx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sweet bike.

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Quick and light bike. I commute for 45 min, 4 days a week. I'm loving it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richy184
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

5 stars apart from the pedals

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fun
Cons: questionable pedals
I have owned this bike for a month and a half and it is excellent, I use it daily for riding to work and to the shops and on my days off and weekend I venture out of the city on longer rides. It is very quick, comfortable, solidly built and looks cool. It can handle a variety of surfaces, road and dirt paths. Obviously I wouldn't recommend mtb trails but the wheels and tyres feel very robust so you can confidently ride it on moderately rough dirt/footpaths. You can also tackle hills and climbs with ease. It's a pleasure to ride. The saddle felt pretty uncomfortable to begin with (maybe have to do more with the fact I hadnt been on a bike in years) but after about a week I was totally accustomed to it, I would possibly recommend some padded shorts for longer rides.
My only complaint would be the pedals. Despite them being wellgo pedals I have a feeling they are very bottom of the range efforts. I have given them a lot of use but the screws came loose requiring constantly re tightening, eventually coming out. Thankfully the guy at evans replaced the screws (and I think glued them in) when i dropped it off for its free service, however soon after one of the pedals broke completely. I would say, in my opinion, I have been pretty rough with them, I like to stamp down on them when taking off at lights or going up hills, but they should be able to handle that imo. Maybe I just got unlucky but I have bought a replacement set of stronger, better quality pedals.
Apart form this pedal issue everything about this bike is brilliant, a joy to use. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking to nip about town/commuting, but it's also an excellent fitness bike capable of longer rides (i regularly do 40-50 mile trips into the country) you could easily use it for touring/road use if you are not quite ready for a full on racer/touring bike.
After only 6-7 weeks I feel fitter and healthier already! Having been without a bike for over 10 years I wish I had bought one much sooner.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sskinner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Everything it needs to be

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this bike to get around my local area. It's used to get me to badminton, the movies and occasionally to work (all within a 5 mile radius). It also needed to be able to handle the odd mini triathlon through forest parkways and roads (up to 15 miles).
A hybrid was therefore essential due to the mixed use and I've been really pleased so far.
The seat is comfortable, the gear changes are smooth, and it doesn't take you long to be flying along the road at a decent pace.
In the beginning the chain seemed to slip off the gears fairly regularly (3 times in the first few weeks), but since the complementary service from Evans (after the first 6 weeks), the problem seemed to resolve itself.
I may have over speced the bike for what I need, but I like that it has disc brakes.
I think for people who want serious speed from their bikes, you may want to look elsewhere, but for everyday (and varied) use, this bike has been everything it needs to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamiem967
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Superb

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After returning to cycling after many years I've found this to be an excellent bike. It's faster than I expected and looks elegant and understated. A pleasure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NickOLas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great bike

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this on the ride to work scheme as I wanted to save money on fuel and get fit. It does the job just fine. Considering it is one of the cheaper bikes in the range I am very impressed. It has a comfortable riding position and the gears are nice and smooth. Even the saddle is comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigH1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

This bike flies !

PostedApril 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I owned a lower price range hybrid that I struggled with - lots of effort from me acheiving moderate performance. I admit that weight (I mean the BIKE !!) had a lot to do with it, however this machine just eats up those miles. Comfortable, with quality components and a good looking machine. I love it. Can't wait to get the stabilisers off - joking !!
; )
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Quality easy bike

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
I ride to commute and to exercise. This is a purchase I use to commute. I have a road bike to exercise which I love. This I also love, it's excellent. I find the price to be staggering, you get a lot for your money compared to other brands like specialized and from the moment I left Evans on Deansgate I've had compliments about how good the bike looks. It is fast, I can whiz to work in no time at all and the grips make it comfortable. I like the pedals and the frame size. I have the largest frame and it feels stable and light still. If you want something relatively cheap but of good quality that can perform well in a decent commute I rate this bike, I can comfortably do 15 miles on it and it doesn't make me feel uncomfortable. I also commute over speed bumps and although rigid it absorbs well and doesn't shake you to pieces.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eddiec10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Hybrid

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first bike for town and cycle routes through Brum. Very pleased with my choice. Good range of gears and disc brakes with a reasonably comfortable ride. It looks great in black too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kentcotswolds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This Hybrid Bike is very light and quick

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light making Trek 7.2 fx 2013 very quick on the road-perfect for commute to work. Not tried this bike for leisure cycling yet-but i'm sure it will fit the bill perfectly. Gear Change*24 is excellent/smooth both front and rear. Brakes are amazing and very controllable. Seat is very comfortable, looks very sporty with black and red colours and good quailty . If your looking for a middle of the road in price and ideally used for on road purposes (commute/leisure) with the quality then this is the bicycle for you! I throughly recommend this bicycle to anyone.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Supahoops7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Decent Hybrid.

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: gearing could be better.
Good all round light bike that handles well with disc brakes as an advantage. Gearing and some components not as good as 7.4 but not a problem. Pleased overall with the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dale43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Best bike I've ever owned

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted to get back into cycling again after years of being off the saddle. After studying the all the options available for the lower end price range I'd narrowed it down to just the Trek 7.2 and the specialized crosstail. In the end went for the 7.2 and so glad I did. I needed a bike that was fairly light as I've had nerve and muscular damage to my right leg. I find this bike easy to manage with my condition. I'm also really impressed with the build of the bike it just feels well built and solid. Only been on a few short runs on it at the moment but I'm impressed with the speed you can get upto on the bike and how smooth the gear changes are at the moment getting a little saddle sore but I'm sure with time I'll break the saddle in. All in all a great bike and great price and a really helpful and friendly service from the staff at the velodrome Evans store. Would recommend this bike for anyone starting to get back into cycling a great purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hansie

excellent

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent hybrid bike with good speed; light and durable
No problems at all with it
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mart18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

First Bike

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Im a noob to the cycling world and was after something that would get me to and from work (11 miles each way) a few days a week. But on purchasing this bike I would definately recommend it. It looks good handles the road and bumps well and feels like its built well despite being very light.
Obviously I cannot compare this bike to anything else on the market due to my limited knowledge, but for those looking to purchase a bike for the first time you wont be disappointed with this.
I would also like to compliment the service of Evans Cycles in Chiswick especially Nick. Very helpful (and patient)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FocusD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Impressive features with an attractive price tag!!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Riding this bike is effortless! The disc brakes feel good, the gears are smooth, the handling is comfortable and as mentioned in previous reviews, it's a really attractive looking bike. I'd recommend it as a great all-rounder hybrid that's fun to ride and good value for money!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
S123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Very happy with the bike!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Let me start the review by saying that this bike was not my first choice. I originally ordered something else from the website, that it turned out Evans did not have in stock. To cut a long story short, York's very helpful senior staff suggested this and as I had been waiting a while went for it.
Was very pleased come pick-up day - as per previous reviews, the bike is very good looking - Matte Black and anodised red highlights go very well, its very modern looking. I was coming from an old mountain bike and straight away it felt like less effort, and a lot more comfortable - the seating position is very good.
I've been out for a few longer rides on it and all seems good. The brakes are excellent, the gears seem smooth. The bike gives the impression of being well built and solid.
I wouldn't go as far to say that the bike is lightweight but its not heavy either. The tyres seem fine so far.
The only drawbacks I can think of is that I will be looking to replace the saddle and the grips. It might just be me but my hands cramped after around 20 miles on the bike and I found changing gear with my left hand to be extremely uncomfortable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Trek 7.2 FX Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Careyhm16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Fantastic hybrid!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, great components
I purchased this hybrid primarily as a fast commuter bike. It has lived up to all expectations. Having previously owned heavy mountain bikes this bike is a breath of fresh air. It is quick, comfortable and the build quality is fantastic. I personally love the look of this bike and having been out and about only a handful of times I can appreciate already the quality of the components of this bike, the gear changes are slick and the disc brakes work really well. Would have no hesitation in recommending this product to anyone looking for a quality hybrid!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>