Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Stems or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem

Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Review 1 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charlie666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple way to alter your position.

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The reach to my handlebars was too far so having done a little investigation I decide to purchase this stem. Despite the length only being reduced by 10mm I raised the angle as well and it solved the problem and made my riding position perfect.
There is plenty of adjustment as it come with three shims giving six different angles and easy to fit. Just remember to use a torque gauge particularly when fitting to a carbon stem.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great adjustable piece of kit!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This stem is ideal for anyone wishing to try out different stem angles and by using the shims and flipping the stem there is a lot of adjustment.
Instructions are clear and the shims are easy to fit, no hassle. All hardware is also included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Svintje
Country:Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of the best stems available in this pricerange

PostedJune 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I have an S-works multi stem on my Tarmac bike. I'm changing all my other bikes to the same stem. I really like the inserts that let you choose the angle of the stem. Something that's just a very nice feature, certainly at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comicbookguy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality product

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This stem is really well made, really solid and the addition of being able to change the angle slightly with the supplied shims is an excellent idea, makes it more solid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blacksheepfit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great adjustability for the price

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, adjustability
Ok, you could just buy one of those super adjustable stems that has you in any position, but unless you're into extremes of rise or drop, there really is no need.
If you know roughly where you want to be then this gives you a few options for changing positions slightly plus the security of good strong clamping once you've found the sweet spot.
Only gets 4 stars due to weight.
Love it and recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GDB3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well thought out, positive adjustment

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I wanted to change the stem on my road bike as I was finding the original stem made the hoods a bit of a reach, and the bars were lower than I really enjoyed.
The trouble was I didn't know what angle of rise I needed. Having an adjustment like this meant I had a good chance of getting it right, without trying half a dozen different stems. One of the benefits of the shim adjustment is that it is positive, and will not work loose in the way I've known pivot adjustable stems to do.
I don't know how the weight compares, I'm not particularly worried, as comfort is more important to me, and I carry tools, lights and mudguards at all times. I also like my pies, so there would be easier ways to save the weight if I felt the urge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BasherWalls
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

High quality from name you can trust

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed a new stem to go with my new oversized handlebars and a I own a Hard rock Comp, I wanted the stem to suit the bike.
Good range of sizes and adjustment in position so you can set it up to suit your riding style.
Decent value and looks good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hruggla
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality! Angle adjustability is very useful!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A very useful stem with variable inserts. Great for finetuning stem height.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chilli31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking adjustable stem

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was looking for an adjustable stem. There were two options, this one or one that adjusts using a pivot. This one looks much better and the adjustment is solid so no risk of slipping. It is well built and has a reasonable range of adjustment using inserts. The inserts are a little difficult to get out of the stem. I used another insert and tapped it with a piece of wood until I could get hold of it. I am still messing with the inserts to get the best fit, but so far I am pleased with the product. Not the cheapest though.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TallAndy

Great Value Stem

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought to replace my 120mm stem of the same make and model after having a pro fit.
Comes with different shims and everything needed for a simple fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superbikemarky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice bit of Kit !

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, adjustable
We live with back ache too much!! went from a 120 stem to this 90 with a 12 degree rise plus it has a shim that takes it (in increments) to 28, also reversible to take it the other way. Over all you can't fail in getting your perfect position.
On top of that it looks stunning on the bike. I enjoy riding more because of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maat24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Multi angled stem

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Building a new bike this stem just fitted the spec I was looking for and the colour, with a good range of angles since I am looking mostly to tour.
It was a reasonable price too after looking at all the makes out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oilburner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Product is excellent but is let down by:
Allen screws that are, bizarrely, a loose fit on the key so are difficult to tighten without damaging them (the bike is by the same manufacturer and all the others fit...)
A 'universal' instruction leaflet which leaves a lot to be desired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gjo202
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable Riding

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The stem has transformed the geometry of my bike and as a result I have much less back ache on those really long sportive rides of 65-100 miles. It is reasonably light weight and well made as you would expect from Specialized.
Pleased with my purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Comp CLP Multi Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldroadie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well thought out product

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, easy to setup
a good solution to the problem of not enough stack height under stem.
easy to use. For me though still not enough angle waiting for the 4 degree version available in april although this is costing aprox £80 (due to it being the one most people will want) but like most specialized equipment very well made.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.