Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike

Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midasmaid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Love these 2 bikes

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Bought 2 of these and we are really pleased with them
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mike65bike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Good overall package and well equipped

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Design and build quality is good. Ride is good and the folding process is simple although the magnetic catches are poor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pop65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Delivery time was very quick from ordering in the Birmingham shop.
A few assembly items when you first get the bike, e.g pedals, all is explained with the instructions and tools supplied.
Done a few miles now and noticed a squeaky noise from the front forks when braking, after an investigation I noticed that the 2 main hinge bolts on the folding handle bar stem were loose.
Tightened the bolts with the set of allen keys that came with the bike and all now OK. So far very pleased, the dynamo front light is fantastic. the chain guard is a revolution, who ever thought of that! It keeps the chain clean and your clothes. I'm just waiting for some decent weather now so I can give the bike a longer run.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great folding bike

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I have used this bike several times now to commute, which is a few miles, and one trip over 20 miles. The bike was smooth and comfortable with no general issues. the handle bar stem is sometimes squeaky, but I don't mind.
The bike fits into the boot of my fiat grande punto ok, but with little space for other stuff.
The handle bars are very adjustable, and it has some great features , lights , mud guards, pump in seat, bell, rack, I have to say generally the bike is well made.
The service I have received from Evans was great, the delivery process was very smooth. I also purchased the tern tool which is good, biologic commute bag, which is ok but I felt could do with being slightly bigger. Mainly because I struggle to fit an a4 clipboard in, and the tern stow over bag. The bag itself is good - but the bag which attaches to the seat, I feel is poorly designed it does not really fit when the bike is fold.
Also on my bike most parts are black, and grey, the wheel rims are slightly painted grey also to match the frame.
I choose the bike because it felt sturdy and is well equipped, looks good, and has slightly bigger wheels than a brompton.
The gears are really good, but it only has seven - as I live in suffolk this is not really an issue, but would be for me in a hilly place.
I purchased the bike on the cycle to work scheme, and generally don't regret it. I was also reading the paper supplied and it said the frame was under warranty for 5 years which I thought was good, everything else in 1year.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jon999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

fantastic

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, hub gears, the bell!
Cons: Heavy
This is my 3rd folding cycle and by far the best I have ridden. The extras really do make a difference on my daily commute and the ride is simply excellent. The combination of hub gears, dynamo front light, flexible ergonomics, mud guards, rack and overall quality make it a pleasure to own and ride.
I should add that Evans Cycles at their London West End store were typically excellent and even replaced a broken gear lever cover from another bike in the store to avoid me having to wait for a replacement part. The small things do matter.
In summary, an excellent folding bike, far superior to my last 2 Dahons, and I would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Diederik
Country:Belgium
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

solid good quality bike with some minor points

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I own my Link P7i for 3 months now, time for a review.
Because the prices for Tern bikes are so much higher on the European continent than in UK, I organized a trip to London for buying my bike there. The tickets for Eurostar (retour Brussels), 3 pairs of quality shoes and a good restaurant were fully covered by the price difference!!!
The assistance from Evanscycles during the order process was perfect, the phone calls were more than business only, and I had a nice talk in the shop when collecting the bike.
My bike is helping me 2 times a day for 4km over mixed quality roads with some hillsides. That’s why I choose for a solid bike with sufficient gears. As he sleeps only in the trunk of my car, his compactness and weight were not that important for me. I would not recommend him for daily users of train, metro, tram or bus.
Comments as a driver:
+ solid feeling, like a classic bike
+ good position comfort, I appreciate the well designed ANDROS STEM
+ wide range of gears
- all mud on my back when it rains, rear mudguard isn’t sufficient long!
- rear light is battery powered, whilst a dynamo is installed???
- the top of the VALO light is blinding me a bit when driving in full dark, I have covered the top with a strip of black tape.
- I hate the grey color of this bike, the beautiful black version is available in US only
Technical comments (as a mechanical engineer):
+ very thought trough solid frame design
+ solid and user friendly joint systems, well done !!!
- the magnetic fold holding system is sensitive and complicated, is there no better alternative?
- the nipples from the rear wheel are not in line with the spokes (the holes in the rim are not drilled with the correct angle, see picture)! cracking rims could be the long term consequence!
- I have changed the backlight with a dynamo powered version and cabled it to the front light (this one has connections for that)
- I have prolonged the rear mudguard with a fender
It feels like I have received a Mercedes which has been partly assembled in a Fiat factory and I have paid it a Volvo price. I am happy with the Mercedes part and I try to upgrade the Fiat parts myself.
Diederik
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AstroSteveo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great ride but heavy

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
New job required commute involving car, bike and train. The solution was found in the Tern P7i, with all the bells and whistles (it only has a bell and no whistle in reality, but it does have mud guards and a handy parcel rack), that had 35% off the rrp at Evans. As it has only been 3 weeks, I can provide a 'first look' review ahead of a more long term opinion especially with winter around the corner. Initial thoughts are great, the ride is excellent for a 20inch wheeled bike, solid and responsive, the hub gears and covered chain are swift and grease free, the fold is simple but remains larger than more popular brands, but is fine for storing in the boot of the car or in the rack on the train. It seems well made and this maybe highlighted by the weight. At 14kg is is an armful and a half and some may find it a real struggle to hump around. The one real negative is the wired connection for the dynamo front light which is poor. An enthusiastic fold or a twist of the handlebars can see the cable detached from its connection. I have remedied this by taping it down with some floating slack to avoid no lights for the early morning dash to the train station. The actual connection box is budget too which is a disappointment.
My wife has borrowed to avoid the traffic on a weekend sojourn into town and she thought it was a great bike for its purpose and I would agree with her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TelfordTern
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality, nice to ride, good value

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, well thought out easily obtainable shimano bits
Cons: bit heavy with the extras on, please make them in brighter colours!
Nice bike. If I were fashion conscious I would regard the battleship grey colour a bit dull, and wouldn't have chosen it if offered a brighter colour. The main attraction, given that this is a folding bike for occasional use (I use full size bikes everyday), was the 7 speed hub gears - because if I am folding and transporting a bike on trains or in cars I want it bulletproof with little to get damaged or get oil everywhere.
Although I have never owned a Brompton I think this more suitable for a 6' 3" 15 stone bloke because It feels like a proper bike. Shame it doesn't fold a s small though! That is perhaps inevitable with a 20" rather than 16" wheel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tern Link P7i 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GaborGabor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Squeaky - the slow response unit

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
I got this bike from Evans after giving up on the Tern Link P24H (internal hub slipping).
I like the size. Prefer this over the Bromptons. You almost feel like you ride a proper sized bike. When folded it is small enough for me to store in my studio flat or at workplace. It is very quick and easy to fold.
It feels slower than the P24, slightly harder to pedal. Its OK for commuting.
Just like the P24s it was squeaking like crazy. After 2 weeks one pedal fall off. At that time I asked Evans Cycles to do the 6 week free service check up. Part of this they have sorted the squeaking coming from the joints. Now only the chain and the internal hub has strange noises. Clicking mainly from the free wheel of the hub what I think is normal.
It is much slower in response to changing gears than other bikes I have tried. At the beginning sometimes it took 2-3 full circles of pedalling before it changed the gear, but after adjustments it is better. Still quite slow and I have to take the torque completely off when I change to higher gears. (Looking on the bright side it never slips or jumps as the P24H did.)
Unfortunately you can only get the grey one in the UK that does not look as appealing as the black. Furthermore probably the worst colour Tern has.
I do not love the bike, but I have got the feeling that it will do the job for a while. Time will tell...
Since it is on sales currently (550 GBP) I think it is a good value for money. You got built in dynamo, nice lights, built-in pump in the seatpost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.