Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Propero II Helmet

Specialized Propero II Helmet

Overall rating:
4.713 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
79 out of 80Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Tonichicaloca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Very comfortable and light

PostedApril 15, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I was in the market for a new helmet and the the Propero II helmet has proven to be a perfect fit. While being sturdy, it is light and comfortable. I particularly like the ability to get the fit / adjustment just right. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Dabs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfy for the larger head

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good venting
I have problems getting helmets to fit due to my big head. Consequently I was nervous about only buying a 'large' when I usually need XL or bigger. However the Propero II in large is a really good fit on me and would even fit someone with an even bigger head.
Weight is good and the build quality better than I expected at this price.
The green and black is mostly black by the way (in case the green was putting you off)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stratobiker
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I always buy a Spesh lid because....

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, works
Helmets are a bit like jeans. Some brands fit really well, some don't. It depends on your shape.
I've been wearing Specialized helmets since 2005!!!! They fit me great, they look fabulous. They are light. But most of all they work.
I am very very pleased with my new Spesh Propero II Helmet, and very pleased with the speed and ease of service from Evans.
5 stars from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aveedub
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Excellent Helmet

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm not a great fan of helmets, even after suffering a few nasty crashes in my cycling career, but technology has advanced to the point where I thought, "why not", and after a couple of recent thoughtless / reckless / dangerous car driver maneuvers on my night training rides I bit the bullet
I bought this helmet after debating getting the Giro Atmos but after chatting through the pros and cons with Ed at the Brighton store I went for this one. Main reason is that it ventilates the head well and additionally has "air intakes" around forehead, which some lids don't and I felt that was a very useful feature, and seem to work.
It fits pretty good and does ventilate the head really well, and build quality is darn good too. If I was nit picking the only gripe I have is that it looks massive on the head, but when you've not worn a helmet before I suspect anyone would think that! Apart from that I cant fault it really, I broke the cost down by using my Tesco club card vouchers to exchange for Evans vouchers, but I do think even at its normal retail price its a good price and value! Im sure there are better and more helmets out there but this one suits me perfectly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
JameseyB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

A fine quality, well fitting helmet

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The Propero was arguably my first choice of new helmet when I decided I should get something to replace my old one. Not only was it a light, well fitting design, the ventilation was superb, meaning that I would stay cooler on longer rides.
When I saw it on sale, the decision to purchase it was instant; at that price, it was too good to pass up, despite the limited number of colours available in the sale. I'm very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
IKeepCrashing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great but Massive!

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I spent ages looking for a new helmet and this one fitted all of my requirements, however, I found the size while wearing was just too large and mushroom like for me. That said it looks better when wearing riding glasses as the size is less apparent.
I didn't ever ride with it so can't help there but aesthetically it's BIG!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Sidquest
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Very light, good fit, well made helmet.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good fit
This helmet saved my life, after a taxi turned across my path and hit me, the helmet took a massive impact on the right hand side, but did not move on my head and stayed in one piece.
That's why I went and bought the exact same model to replace it. It looks good, is very light for the price and fits very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
PF78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Pure awesomeness!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light, excellent quality and it doesn't make my head look like a mushroom. Extremely good ventilation. Well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
f16570
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Light & Comfortable

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great lightweight summer helmet. Good flow of air through vents.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JRF67
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value helmet

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent lightweight and good value helmet for both road and MTB. Great fit and looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Brownie44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Helmet

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This helmet is brilliant. It is extremely light and fits very well.
However, I would not think that the extra £20 from the Echelon makes much of a difference.
I would deff recommend this helmet or the Echelon for a slightly cheaper version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andrew0987
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Lightweight, fits my head shape perfectly and easy to adjust. Recommended for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RP3399
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Very Comfortable

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable helmet and well ventilated , nice and light soon forget you are wearing it which is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MorzineRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent fit and airflow

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This helmet is easily adjustable for an excellent fit. It's incredibly lightweight and allows air to pass through exceptionally well. The front of the helmet is well shaped giving a good view of the road ahead and minimises the amount you have to lift your head, which makes for a far more comfortable ride over long distances. Something that I have found unsatisfactory with other helmets/brands, causing a stiff neck on longer rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
anthony7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had a look at lots of different helmets, but decided to go for this one mainly down to previous reviews about weight which was noticeably better than my current bell helmet. Also the venting seems to work better resulting in a cooler head on those really hot longer rides. Overall a great product, really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MikeTheTv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good fit, light weight and airy

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I originally ordered on-line for store delivery both the Bontrager Circuit and Bontrager Quantum helmets as I had seen good reviews about them on biking web sites. When I actually came to try them, although the Circuit helmet felt comfortable (the Quantum was not), a very helpful assistant in the shop actually pointed out that both Bontrager helmets left too much space at the sides of my head as I have a more oval shaped head than the helmets are designed for. Just tightening up the back size adjuster did not resolve the issue.
As an alternative the assistant suggested the Specialized Propero II which when I tried it was a perfect fit. Interestingly my original, and 14+ year old helmet I was replacing, was also a Specialized. I would conclude from this that Specialized helmets cater for more oval shaped heads than rounder ones, though maybe the more important conclusion is to actually go in and try several makes before deciding.
The Specialized Propero II is very light, on a par or even lighter than the Bontrager Circuit and has plenty of large air inlets which guide and channel the air across your head to keep it nice and cool. The insert pads can also be removed for cleaning. The rear size adjuster wheel is easy to use and again very comfortable. The chin strap is also easy to adjust and very comfortable, which surprised me a bit as the strap spliter below your ears is fixed and cannot be adjusted, similar to the Bontrager Circuit. This is not a problem however as compared to the Bontrager Quantum, which had the more familiar adjustable splitter, the fixed set up was much more comfortable, required no fiddling to equalize the lengths and did not leave me feeling I needed any further adjustment.
It is worth noting that this helmet is intended mainly for road use and therefore does not come with a visor, which few road helmets seem to compared to MTB helmets. I thought this may be an issue as my old helmet had a visor but so far I have not missed it at all.
The helmet was a bit more expensive than I had intended to spend, but given the comfort and protection I cannot grumble and would recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andymc16

crash

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Hi bought this helmet 2 years ago for mtb , but put road tyres on my bike , I just went straight into a tree HEAD first I would not be writing this review if were not for this helmet ,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Very good

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Exactly what I wanted. Great price too and brilliant service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
sweaty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great lid for the price

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good ventilation
I wanted a light helmet with tons of ventilation at reasonable price and this hits the spot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lordy210
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lighter and more comfy than my Align

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I changed up from my align and the weight saving is noticeable, but it is the little things that make this more comfy like the different strap material and the adjustment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>