Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Propero II Helmet

Specialized Propero II Helmet

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
65 out of 66(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MorzineRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent fit and airflow

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This helmet is easily adjustable for an excellent fit. It's incredibly lightweight and allows air to pass through exceptionally well. The front of the helmet is well shaped giving a good view of the road ahead and minimises the amount you have to lift your head, which makes for a far more comfortable ride over long distances. Something that I have found unsatisfactory with other helmets/brands, causing a stiff neck on longer rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
anthony7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had a look at lots of different helmets, but decided to go for this one mainly down to previous reviews about weight which was noticeably better than my current bell helmet. Also the venting seems to work better resulting in a cooler head on those really hot longer rides. Overall a great product, really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MikeTheTv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good fit, light weight and airy

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I originally ordered on-line for store delivery both the Bontrager Circuit and Bontrager Quantum helmets as I had seen good reviews about them on biking web sites. When I actually came to try them, although the Circuit helmet felt comfortable (the Quantum was not), a very helpful assistant in the shop actually pointed out that both Bontrager helmets left too much space at the sides of my head as I have a more oval shaped head than the helmets are designed for. Just tightening up the back size adjuster did not resolve the issue.
As an alternative the assistant suggested the Specialized Propero II which when I tried it was a perfect fit. Interestingly my original, and 14+ year old helmet I was replacing, was also a Specialized. I would conclude from this that Specialized helmets cater for more oval shaped heads than rounder ones, though maybe the more important conclusion is to actually go in and try several makes before deciding.
The Specialized Propero II is very light, on a par or even lighter than the Bontrager Circuit and has plenty of large air inlets which guide and channel the air across your head to keep it nice and cool. The insert pads can also be removed for cleaning. The rear size adjuster wheel is easy to use and again very comfortable. The chin strap is also easy to adjust and very comfortable, which surprised me a bit as the strap spliter below your ears is fixed and cannot be adjusted, similar to the Bontrager Circuit. This is not a problem however as compared to the Bontrager Quantum, which had the more familiar adjustable splitter, the fixed set up was much more comfortable, required no fiddling to equalize the lengths and did not leave me feeling I needed any further adjustment.
It is worth noting that this helmet is intended mainly for road use and therefore does not come with a visor, which few road helmets seem to compared to MTB helmets. I thought this may be an issue as my old helmet had a visor but so far I have not missed it at all.
The helmet was a bit more expensive than I had intended to spend, but given the comfort and protection I cannot grumble and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andymc16

crash

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Hi bought this helmet 2 years ago for mtb , but put road tyres on my bike , I just went straight into a tree HEAD first I would not be writing this review if were not for this helmet ,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Very good

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Exactly what I wanted. Great price too and brilliant service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
sweaty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great lid for the price

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good ventilation
I wanted a light helmet with tons of ventilation at reasonable price and this hits the spot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lordy210
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lighter and more comfy than my Align

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I changed up from my align and the weight saving is noticeable, but it is the little things that make this more comfy like the different strap material and the adjustment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kris007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good purchase

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this helmet as I wanted something lightweight that was also a snug fit. I'm very pleased, very comfortable and very light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RTBear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Superb Cycle Helmet

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Having a larger than average head circumference I had many ill fitting crash hats before, but this one fits really well and is incredibly comfortable.
Although there are cheaper helmets out there I think this one is great value for everyday use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perran03
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice lightweight helmet

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I really like this helmet. It's lightweight, well ventilated and comfortable. Compared to what I would have payed for it in Sweden, Evans is a bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Con7
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great helmet that has good ventilation, fit and generally sits well on my head. Bought this helmet for better ventilation apart from the looks and so far i'm pleased with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
inrepose2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Cool and very light.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the first helmet I have bought for about 8 years. The old one was long overdue a replacement. So far I have ridden around 200miles in the summer heat with this on and the small opening at the front makes a lot of difference to the cooling, I don't get that desperate feeling to rip the helmet off when I stop and it has reduced the amount of sweat that runs down into my eyes because the extra ventilation is letting me dry out as I ride.
So a perfect fit in medium for my skull, it looks sharp and has great ventilation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pablo23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Light and comfortable

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This lid was put on my head when i bought my road bike. I have used it for some time now and feel so glad it was put on my head by Mark at Evans. It is light, comfortable and cool in the hot weather. I have used other brands with my mountain bike but this is by far the best Helmet I have used and with a doubt, worth the money. You will enjoy your ride much more with good quality gear like this. It does not put pressure on the temple and the straps are comfortable too, well it's comfortable all round that's why I like it so much and very thankful that it was recommended to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mysonmagnus
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very recommendable helmet!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
really a super good helmet. it fits perfectly, is easy to adjust and has low weight. good ventilation makes it really comfortable on hot days! buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clima
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exellent fit and very good price

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
You will first of all notice the very light weight of the Propero II helmet. Secondly, how easy it is to adjust and how comfortable it is to wear.
All this at a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Specialized75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable helmet

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Great helmet. Comfortable fit, worth checking size in store before ordering online as thought I was a large but medium fitted and this size was on offer. Also search online for a discount code as I manage to get another £5 off. Rear tightening device doesn't come loose when my ruck sac touches it like my previous Giro helmet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
collyg199
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent headgear

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, safe and bright
A very popular ,well made helmet that really turned out to be as good as the reviews i'd read online. I now feel less fatigued after a ride and don't suffer head /neck aches like i used to with my old helmet which weighed twice as much.! After trying to buy with Wiggle found Evans a much easier experience and customer service has been spot on - I'm converted.!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grenouille
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits like a glove

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
After wearing a cheap helmet for a while and getting headaches from it I bought one of these and what a difference it has made. This fits much better all round the head and yet is so light I forget it is on.
It is also very well constructed with deep vents and a quality strap. Size adjustment is very simple.
Well worth the money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joey3

Excellent

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light-weight, easily adjustable. Well worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Propero II Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bunt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, light, easily and quickly adjustable.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good ventilation, perfect fit, simple fast fitting
Cons: Expensive
Great helmet, has probably saved my life. I didn't wear my old one often as it was a nightmare to adjust and really uncomfortable.
This helmet has a single strap to pull to adjust under the chin, and a single adjuster at the back of the head. This system is incredibly well designed, and means that quick adjustments can be made for whether you're wearing a hat or not.
Light weight, good visibility, wide vents for good air flow. Looks great.
There is nothing more a helmet can offer.
I immediately bought one for my girlfriend to replace her ill-fitting helmet that would have done nothing to help in a crash. Money well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>