Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike

Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike

Jamis don't skimp on Durango's frame - it's an amazing platform, with a radiused, sloping top tube that gives plenty of standover clearance and gobs of fork crown/front tire room with its snaking S-bend down tube. They keep the S-bend theme going with the seatstays, for maximum heel and mud clearance that doesn't compromise rear end stiffness - essential for confident handling and climbing traction. This is a chassis that emphasizes high performance over no-compromises racing speed, so the riding position isn't quite so extreme, the handling's quick and sure without being overly darty - so it's a more relaxing ride. But make no mistake, if you want to throw down, the Durango's more than able to keep up, with incredibly easy shifting and powerful disc brakes.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tyke1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great value and well specced

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Prior to this I was riding a Kinesis frame with a mixture of Shimano LX and XT parts - some of which cam from my 1993 Orange Clockwork so I thought it was time for a change.
I remember Jamis from the mid 90's and they weren't well known in the UK but had a very good reputation. From my experience of this bike it is well deserved. You are paying for the specified parts which are all very good rather than the brand - which results in very good value for money. The frame is reasonably light and handling is very good with adjustable and lock out forks. The riding position is a bit 'old school' i.e. reminiscent of flat bars - but that suits me. The only thing I have added are some bar end grips as I missed not having them but this is personal preference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frood
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great bike for the money!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Equipment for the money is superb, with a lockout fork, 27 gears and hydraulic discs.
Handling is a little bit old school with a longer stem and quite narrow bars, but is very predictable and confidence inspiring. The gears shift smoothly, with powerful brakes and well damped forks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ICR1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Buy

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was very please to receive my new Jamis Durango. Well packaged easy to set up and ready for my first ride.
Very well built and good quality. Certainly better than I expected. Thank you Evans cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
koll
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

ease of ride

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is just unbelievably good, if you want a bike that can handle every day use or that bit extra off road, I personally would recomend it.
The Durango is light and very easy to ride..... to put it simply.. I have never had such a good bike... it suits me just perfect and I am sure it will you too.. happy riding!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skellmeister
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Bike, looks great with very good Specs

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I received this bike yesterday afternoon and it certainly didnt disappoint. It looks great, very light-weight and has very good specifications. I reviewed a few bikes (as wanted to begin Mountain Biking) until i saw this and the Durango Sport for £89.99. The difference being this model has the Hydraulic brakes as opposed to mechanical ones. I would recommend paying the extra £60 now to buy the Durango Comp, simply because 12 months down the line you may want to upgrade to Hydraulic, which will cost well over £100. Evans Cycles delivered this far quicker than expected and im more than happy with the results. Would definately recommend buying from them. Overall this looks and feels great to ride on the road, looking forward to seeing how it handles on mountain trails in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteveG101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent finish, well equiped & light

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality, well finished smooth operation & light weight.
Overall excellent!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great once you've got the Mountain Bike Bug

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy gear change, good brakes
I would consider myself a novice, but ready to take the next step in biking. This bike ticks all the boxes for me. The spec is great, without being too overkill. Perfect when you have just come from a basic £150 bike and are looking for something a bit better. On road, it's very stable and user friendly, and being quite light (compared to what I have been used to) means keeping it in a mid-range gear is no problem for pulling away. Off road, it swallows every surface up no problem, giving just the right amount of feedback to instill confidence in my ride. I'm still getting used to the bike, I will be doing the Durham Big Ride in September so I'll probably have a better feel for the bike then, but, so far, so good!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eduard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

ACE PURCHASE

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I study a couple of bikes, but when i saw this i couldn't believe it
bought it immediately, very very pleased with so far, couldn't of been any better.
I went to pick up the bike from Liverpool and I cycled 9 miles back to my home and the cycling experience was great.
It is such a great bike, has everything you need, great fork, hydraulic disc brakes and super smooth gears and for a very good price.
Thanx to the Evans Cycles for this great deal ......!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoJo1010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike arrived far sooner than I was expecting, and when it did i was very pleased, this is probably the best bike you can buy as far a value for money goes, its stylish and every thing holds together very well. However the gear changes at the bottom end of the scale do stick a little, although you can probably sort this out by playing with dyrailer a little. Top bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orangepeel
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good starter bike

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I was sent this bike to review and the looks are ok but for me the metallic paintwork is a bit "bling"
That aside its a good starter bike for someone trying out mountain biking for the first time. Its also a good all rounder if you also have a short commute and want to do a bit of off road at the weekend.
The components are ok, it all works well and for the money its good value.
Its all about what you can afford, you get what you pay for. This is pretty light for the cash and if you like a bit of sparkly paint then maybe this will swing it for you against other bikes for the same money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Jamis Durango Comp 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CdeeAh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

First time MTB

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As someone who has recently taken up the sport of MTB the Jamis comp is perfect, previously I had been using a mates GT FSR and the difference is just chalk and cheese. I also did a fair amount of research in this price range, and I think the jamis is a better spec/deal than many others. Besides you are also getting a exclusivity, you won't see many about! Not following the crowd! To date no complaints, changes, added a set of shimano clip in pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.