Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike

Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.947 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wak13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Cracking bike!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: rear tyre
Great bike cannot fault it other than poor quality rear tyre choice due to British climate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTB1001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

An excellent bike, with a but...

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, great ride
Cons: tires
Thought I'd wait a little while before writing this so that I could get some decent ride time in. This is an excellent bike in many ways, the frame is great as is the suspension. It just flows downhill, but importantly uphills are not compromised too much either, even when the lockouts aren't used.
Here's the but....I found that the tires had me on edge most of the time, never too sure about their ability to grip in the UK climate (rain). Many times I nearly lost it and this was confirmed when I rode up at Cannock Chase. I was loosing grip where I never used to. I have replaced the Conti's with Nobby Nic Evolutions and the difference is huge. Now I love the bike even more...
So if you are looking at this bike, then factor in another £100 for decent new tires.
Overall though...can't wait to get back out on it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris287
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bike

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Previously had a carbon 514 but replaced it with this 314, although the carbon climbed slightly better, the 314 has a much plusher ride on the gnarly and downhill bits.Recommended as all round cross country weapon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hynam316
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Best bike on the market

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is amazing very good build quality, very light and smashes and decent you through at it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lapboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bike and happy rider!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought the lapierre after reading many glowing reviews and was torn between many similar bikes in this price range. I am not disappointed at all!! Being new to full suss after a few years on a hardtail everything about the zesty is an improvement for me. The brakes are fantastic as is the xt gearing, has allowed me to "flow" rather than fight my local trails and have climbed ascents with more ease. Very impressed with all the spec other than 15mm front end however have had so much more fun that it really doesn't matter unless of course you're more hardcore than me! Overall 10 out of 10 and a very happy decision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mufc99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

excellent bike allround

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
this is the fourth lapierre we have bought from evans and we have no complaints at all good service
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nomad12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

So far so good

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, snappy
Bought my Zesty (with a good discount) back in May from the helpful folk at the Gateshead store. 5'9 and the 46cm frame is a good fit.
Very trail happy with this bike. It moves. Go out and get one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pavey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Quick!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first full suspension bike, and i have it set pretty hard which will probably change over time. The thing i love about this bike is how flick-able it is. Seriously light and quick, gets round the tightest bend with little or no effort.
I got a great deal and service from Kingsley at the Hendon branch on the A1, so very pleased.
Looks fantastic too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pottsa1990
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

beautiful in looks and rides like a dream

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
people who say a bike is just a bike have never had the pleasure of riding a lapierre, the riding style is so much more comfortable than any other bike ive been on, especially from being used to a hard tail, the rear suspension is a dream, making peddling a lot easier and hills are less soul destroying when climbing them. the black and gold colour scheme is lovely. the staff at Evans chill factor were great and the fitting of my rockshox reverb seat post was excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gtcarling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great Bike!!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First ride out and the zesty 314 was a pleasure to ride. Was in two minds between going for a high end hardtail or for a mid range fs and im glad I went with the latter. No real complaints, will be changing the tyres to panracer fire xc pro and also didnt think much of the stock grips they will be changed as well.
All in all great bike superb up & down hills and the price has just dropped as well.
Go buy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cjlakes69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

If Carlsberg did bikes, this would be it!!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, stable at speed
Cons: Expensive
What a bike!! Having just transferred from a hard tail, this bike is light years ahead of the old steed. It accelerates like a hard tail, climbs like a hard tail, and decends like a mountain goat. Very sure footed, excellent adjustment of the shocks, and very comfortable. Took it down some serious off road tracks, and it just wants more. The brakes are a leap forward too, I'm used to avid juicy 5 but these formula brakes are truly amazing. Bit noisy in the wet, but sintered pads should cure that. The guys at York were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, great service, thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StinkyPierre
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Love at first sight!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: don't dare leave it unattended!
I've been riding a full suss Specialized Stumpy FRS for the past 6 years and decided it was time for an upgrade. A recent event on the South Downs brought the Lapierre Zesty 314 to my attention and it really was 'love at first sight'. Perfectly proportioned, great graphics and simple pivot rear suspension all come together to form a really 'smokin' looking bike. But how does it ride? Well, I'm sure you'll have read all the reviews about it going up the trails as well as it comes down... let me tell you, they're true! Not the lightest bike in the world, but for a 140mm travel frame it's really not that bad. The zero bob rear suss does exactly what it says, meaning nearly 100% of the energy expended goes into forward momentum. Crest the hill and you're in for a treat as the Fox Float front forks iron out the bumps as you hurtle down the other side. A real complete package that, aside from me wanting to change the tyres to my more familiar Kenda Small Block Eight's, will be my steed of choice for a few more years to come. 5 Stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Awesome bike!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My previous ride being a quite heavy AM MTB I was expecting big things from my new light bike. I'm not disappointed!
When riding I feel like I’m in the bike rather than on top. I've had a go of a friend’s 2011 version and the geometry changes of the 2012 frame have made it so much better improving on what was already an epic bike in the MTB scene.
Mavic wheels feel good strong and light and with flattened spokes add a little extra bling.
Before I purchased the bike I wrote a list of upgrades that I’d be adding such as wider bars and shorter stem. After riding I will not be changing them as its responsive enough.
Only 2 things I will change is the rear tyre as it doesn’t offer much grip in the wet, but then it’s a racing tyre so I wont deduct any score for that and the saddle it will hurt your bum!
Perfect bike, with a perfect service from Evans (delivered day after order to my home.)
Be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oldandbold
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Solid, light, reassuring

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I chose this trail bike because my XC hard-tail (Genesis Altitude 00) was long in the tooth and my commute over the Pentlands was taking its toll. Initially I found the longer wheelbase of the trail bike a little odd, but now it's XCs which feel like they want to rodeo me off. The Lapierre Zesty is as light as the old XC, but with full suspension, longer travel and an altogether more robust feel. Gears and brakes all tiptop, but since the bike is still new, no surprise. However, the cables are all protected from the mud so I expect less hassle with the inevitable mudbath it will get. My old hardtail gears would eventually cease up with mud encrustings.
The black and gold trim give the bike a smuggly confident look, appropriately enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RKING65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Awesome bike...Awesome purchase

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first full sus bike and i'm delighted with my choice of bike.
The bike is light and extremely agile and cycling up hills presents no problems at all.
The looks of the bike are awesome and really turn heads and bring great comments from other mtbers.
The service i recieved from Evans Liverpool was fantastic and added to the great experience when taking delivery of the bike.
My only moan is that i find the Fizik Gobi saddle very hard and its killing my nethers
!I had read the saddles were supposed to be great, maybe i need
to get used to it or i need a new pad in my shorts.
Overall i would throughly recommend the Zesty 314 to any Mtber.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sankari
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All rounder at the perfect price

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect!
The OST+ suspension makes the bike ride like a hard tail on the road which is great. There is a gauge on the rear triangle which gives a good indication of rear shock set-up which is really handy.
I am 6ft 6" and bought the 54cm which fits perfectly. Lapierre has used solid components and the bike feels very confident and sturdy into drops and along fast single track. I have no concern about its capability whatsoever taking my weight of 200lbs.
The 3x10 drive train shifts very smoothly; allowing you to ride fast downhill and on the flat trails. The brakes give some serious sharp stopping power whilst the handlebars have just enough control to give ninja turning ability with just enough control.
What people say about the handlebars being too narrow isn't true; its down to preference, I've already clipped a tree and kissed the dirt because I misjudged how wide the bars were. I did not find a single scratch on the handlebar or frame after this accident so it's very durable: unlike me with my grazes. The carbon rear mech protector is a great addition too stopping the mech getting damaged.
My only preference would be to change the saddle if you don't like wearing padded cycle shorts (my preference)
The front tyre has some seriously over-kill side knobs; which bite hard into grass and give a bit too much grip for general trail riding, again this is my preference but some people have said the same thing which I can totally understand. Tyres are cheap anyway so its a preference thing. I won't be changing mine any time soon.
If you want a capable, all round bike which is just as good up hill as it is going downhill that won't break the bank this is for you. It gives a smooth comfortable ride allowing you to achieve high speeds across anything. Dare I say it is better than my hard tail on the flat and you could take it anywhere. Flat fire roads or the Alps.
Buy it; you will have smiles for an eternity!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JC12391
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lighter and harder than you can imagine!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been looking at different 'All mountain' bikes for an age, going backwards and forwards between Orange to Giants to Lapierres to Specialized to treks and back to Orange. In the end I just went for it and ordered the Lapierre Zesty 314....the best choice I could have made! The zesty is an amazing bike, on the road it is great but off road it comes into a league of its own. The speed in which it goes across the un even ground is mind blowing, and the rate that you can climb hills is even better!
The bike itself is extremely light but don't let this put you off because it is a warrior, it takes anything you throw at it in its stride. It handles the Mighty Cannock Chase with ease. In regards to the suspension it works great, soaking up every drop and bump, and with the rear Fox having 'Pro pedal' that essentially makes it feel like a hard tail, a great combination. Having been on a lot of great full suspension bikes recently, trying to help make my choice, this is easily the best. And then you throw the price into the mix and the kit that it comes with, it is a steal when comparing it to other brands.
Finally sizing wise, Im 5"10 and the 46cm frame is perfect. I would say that between 5"8-6" the 46 is for you, over 6" I would go for the larger frame or vice versa if you are under 5"8.
My thoughts are obviously clear for you all to see, if you are struggling to decide, like I was, just go for the Lapierre Zesty 314! And Im sure you will have no regrets!
Quality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wisey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Buy - Easily 2012 Bike of the year.

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My dream bike! Looked at a few full sussers before this one and I really struggled to justifiy the cost but now I have it, I know I made the right decsion, bike climbs well and the OST works a dream, its almost like a hartail on the uphills, and you have the propedal switch if you need it which you can apply on the move, on downhill sections I'm gone leaving my mates on hardtails for dust, the bike is so easy to ride I love it!
I am also really impressed with the detail and quality of the build, and it looks brilliant in the new black colour that is kind of matt black trimmed with gold, I ordered on line in the end and not so good was that it came with a 2mm scratch to the head tube, only 2mm but it was there, but in the end I let it go, as after all its going to get a couple from trail use anyway.
I did find sizing quite hard, Im 5'8" and Lapierre recomend the 46, I tried this and it felt ok to ride but standover height was only a couple of mm, and the guy at Evans Guildford said maybe I need a 42 as it would be more chuckable, I then went to a different Evans and the guy there had this bike and was the same height as me, he said I would be fine on a 46, as its also down to rider preference/set up, I got the 46 and I must say that with the Sag set up on the shocks ect.. it feels just right, and in my opinion a 42 would have been just a little too small. I hope this helps someone in the same position as me buy this bike because as the last reviewer said you can ride it like you stole it and for me its Bike of the year for 2012.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lapierre Zesty 314 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nighty84
from West Midlands, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Zesty by name zesty by nature.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The OST + system is an obsolute gem coupled with the Fox RP2 shock and with the bikes balance makes long haul and climbs easy. The Fox float fork offers massive confidence on drops and front end grip is good and provides fast turn rates and composure, sorry to say it you could ride it like you stole it its that good. Found no issues with heavy terrain even the mud bath Cannock Chase has been in this bad weather lately with the snow melting. The only concern for some people might be the rear tyre lossing grip and some traction but I like the tail to be a bit swing happy in turn in, An easy fix would be to replace this but I wouldnt let this stop me from purchasing the bike if I was a new buyer.
Adam at Evans Birmingham and the Staff were first rate and the level of service excellent.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.