Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike

Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Review 1 for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CannondaleFiend
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Excellent bike

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, evans cycle service
Cons: tyres need changing
This is an excellent bike at a great price point for what you get with it. The quality of the Cannondale frame is exemplary as always and the bike is super light but still rigid.
The ride is smooth and the quality of the components makes the ride smooth, fast and quiet. I do a mix of commuting and riding for 40+ mile runs on the weekend and the bike laps them up either on dodgy rodes or on smoother carriageways.
Only change I made was to upgrade the tyres to Continentals which are much more puncture resistant.
Great service from Peter @ Evans in Reading who very much helped out, fitted and got me on the road.
Very recommended!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mattjs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great value for money

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought this on the ride to work scheme after narrowing my choice down to 3 bikes. After test riding the Tiagra version, I knew this was the bike to get. Grace at Edinburgh was very helpful in setting up the order and kept me informed of the progress. The bike rides really well, road noise is very good for a bike in this price range and the handling very responsive. The bike just begs me for a ride when ever I look at it.
The wheels aren't very true, but are acceptable and the stock pads on the brakes are awful. I've always planned on upgrading the wheels and changing the pads for swiftstop greens was a big improvement. I can't do much about the colour scheme, which is noisy and unsubtle, but I don't look at the bike when I'm riding it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dave1982
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

exellent value for money.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got this bike 7 days ago and couldnt be happier with it. not only does it look the part but its a great ride too.. after upgrading my mountin bike to this in order to get fit and put the miles in was amazed at how far i can ride with it and also how quick it gets me there with half the effort of my last bike.. The guys at evans very helpfull and freindly so big thumbs up for them too.. just look forward to jumping on my bike and eating up the miles now..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
john1402
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Very nice ride and good equipment

PostedJune 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, stiff and great position
I am 43 6'6'' and around 18 stone (but dont look it ;) ), I got into road riding by doing triathlons. I ride over 100 miles a week and since i got this bike i have been riding to work and back for 3 days a week 52 miles a day the position of this bike puts less stress on my body, i dont suffer with thigh tiredness or back stiffness like i used to.
I find this bike excellent for my height and size, i looked at carbon and many different makes from £800 - £1400. I find that aluminium at this size a 61 frame, gave me the light weight but sturdiness and confidence i needed, carbon is just to light for my size. The cannondale caad8 is very sturdy, rigid and very light, i came from a giant race replica, aluminium/carbon and the cannondale is less flexi and the upright posisition lets me keep power on, on the flat but carry it through to the climb absolutely loving it. Only criticism i have is that when it arrived, the gears had not been set up properly took me some time to get them working properly!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ColK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Superb frame - some components need upgrading

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: budget for saddle / tyres / wheelset
Fast, light and very manoeuvrable without being twitchy. Despite the responsiveness of the bike I find the ride very comfortable and have no niggles after 1000 miles. Few small points to bear in mind - stock tyres / tubes need replacing immediately (valves both went on me within 100 miles and stock tyres aren't great). Saddle is a bit soft - and mine broke after about 500 miles. First major upgrade should be wheelset though - the RS3.0s supplied aren't bad, but once you put something marginally better (Fulcrum 5s / Aksiums etc) the performance gap is incredible and you realise how much the stock wheels are holding you back. At this price point you can't go wrong with this bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cannondale CAAD8 5 105 2012 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyJen
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Light, stiff, comfort

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Went to Evans Gateshead to look at the ex demo Fuji's. Didn't want carbon particularly just a well built road machine. Loved the colour scheme and the finish on the frame which is up to my 07 Tricross Comp, they've taken the trouble to give it a high quality finish, the black has a subtle metallic sparkle as well. Shockingly light, not what I expected, do you really need carbon? Well specked and comfortable, should be good for some epic rides in the summer, not race gears but a good range for the Northumberland hills and my middle aged butter legs. A frame to keep and upgrade this although I've no plans to change the spec and that's rare for me. Handles very well, tyres are good out of the shop, also a surprise but I've changed them for the same make but with red sidewalls, why not sell it like this? Highly recommended .
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TonyJen
UK
 
Please wait while more information about TonyJen is loaded.
Additional information about TonyJen could not be loaded.
Owner update
Posted March 24, 2012
Just had it's first service, Evans Gateshead did an excellent job and I commend the expertise of the ladies and gentlemen there. The BB30 bottom bracket has been re-packed it was too dry. time will tell if this is good engineering. I did in fact upgrade getting Mavic Aksium wheels, a close ratio Ultegra cassette and 105 brake callipers. Very pleased with this bike, astonishing climber, superb handling, a real weapon and comfortable too. Great distance machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)