Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike

Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike

All-new, super light, women's A1 Premium Aluminium fully manipulated frame with fitness geometry and integrated headset offers a great ride and versatility with rack/mudguard mounts, and wide tyre clearance. Straight blade steel fork with mudguard mounts gives you all the durability you need to manage potholes and rough roads. Sirrus double-wall, machined rims for strength and reliable braking; plus alloy, sealed cassette hub with stainless spokes. Flak Jacket protection and a grooved tread make the Specialized Nimbus tyres perfect for city or open road use. Shimano triple crankset plus 8-speed drivetrain for wide-range gearing and spot-on shifting; plus chainguard for peace of mind. Strong and comfortable Vita alloy bar for better ergonomics. Shimano Altus rear derailleur and EZ Fire shifters are a confidence-inspiring combination. Body Geometry Riva women's saddle features generous padding for all-day performance and comfort.
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chatzicat

Very good bicycle but has a faulty bottom bracket

PostedJune 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: faulty bottom bracket
I bought this for my partner (and for me the same model for men - Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike). We have the same good and bad impressions.
Very good bicycle for its price; light weight and good peripherals. BUT...
Only one disadvantage - it has really poor bottom bracket. I suppose specialized decided to cut down some money from there... My partner started getting a squeaking noise from this part after just a couple of weeks. And she is neither a heavy nor an advanced cyclist; just using the bicycle for medium distances twice a week.
Note: This cannot be an exception only for this specific bicycle. I am getting exactly the same issue on my bike.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brodieloftus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds CyclePoint

Perfect for my commute!

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I like the way they have really focused on making a bike for women. The handlebars and seat, and sizes of the frame are great. I'm 5'7" and got the medium frame. The amount of gears are great for hills, and also gaining speed on the flat or downhill. I did get a puncture within the first week, even though the tyres have extra protection. The colour is nice but gets dirty easily, and I probably would have preferred a darker colour. It's really good quality for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jenzo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect for new riders

PostedMay 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I absolutly love this bike, its lightweight, comfortable and a joy to ride!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vicki144
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Wanted a bike to accompany my partner who is a keen rider. This bike definitely fits the job- its great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Janicka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Good bike

PostedApril 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great, average weight
Cons: Uncomfortable
I´ve purchased this bike through cycle to work. The bike is reasonably light, but wouldn´t want to carry it up to stairs every day, no matter in term of ride. I had to change the seat because the ride with existing one was pain. Also the provided bell popped off first time I used it. I´ve got the Large size and I feel that the bike is little bit too small for me as I am 5´10. This is my first hybrid bike and I have to say I prefer my old mountain bike, but that´s personal taste. You definitely need to try it before purchase. Overall I think good value for money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mohican41nic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good value

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
bike came near enough made simple couple of tweeks and ready for the road, seat took a bit of time to get used to need padded shorts, everything else works well and now finding it very comfy ride,good quality and very good value.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jen88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Lovely smooth ride

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought the bike for leisure cycling and occasional commutes to work when the weather gets better- (approx 10 miles each way). So far I have been impressed. It is a much smoother, faster ride than the heavy mountain bike I had been using before.
As other customers have mentioned the bell is flimsy and had fallen off by the time I had cycled home from the shop. I did also find the saddle a bit hard, but with a gel seat cover this is now fine. Apart from those minor quibbles I love everything else about the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
babutine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Precise and lightweight

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I purchased this bike through ride to work scheme. Have ridden it a couple if times. Really pleased with its precision and quality. You can lock the front suspension which is quite handy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
bushbaby
UK
 
Please wait while more information about bushbaby is loaded.
Additional information about bushbaby could not be loaded.
suspension
Posted August 23, 2013
I thought the Vita did not have suspension?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ew83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Good entry-level hybrid bike

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This bike rides smoothly (after a few initial hitches with the gears) and is comfortable, a good-value basic hybrid model. It also looks great and is easibly visible! The only thing I was slightly disappointed about is that it's heavier than I was expecting - carrying it up and down flights of stairs isn't that much fun! That said, it is lighter than some other models in this kind of price-range. All round a good bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DocJoyz26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is my first proper bike and I love it.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really light and comfy, I can now cycle longer distance with my family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dorees
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love the handle bars and the bike is so sleek!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really pleased with the design of the bike and very comfy. Delivery was prompt - pleased all round!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LITTLEEM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Very Happy

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bell not very robust
I struggle to find a comfortable bike frame being only 4ft 10. In the past i have had to buy mountain bikes as I couldnt find a small enough frame.
This is the perfect bike for me its easy to ride and so light I can carry it up and down flights of stairs and throw it in the back of my car.
It also got lots of compliments on the way home from the shop.
I am very happy with my new bike. Only negative was the bell falling off !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Betts

lovely bike

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Lovely, good value bike. Looks nice and is great to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
captainsensible
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent value entry-level hybrid

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Entry level ightwieght hybrid. Excellent frame with basic componentry. Fast, comfortable and appears robust. Very good value.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DolceVita2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great looking, very lightweight bike!

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great looking bike! The frame is so lightweight - getting it in and out of the car is no bother. The riding position is fairly up-right which makes for a very comfortable ride. The seat and handle grips are both also very comfortable and there white finish matches the bike frame, though I worry how long they will remain bright white! The bell pinged off into long grass on my first ride and the flimsy rear chain guard was quick to snap off, but as I planned to remove it anyway, this was no hardship. I will however need to purchase a new bell and make sure that it is securely fastened this time! All in all a great bike which I am enjoying riding a lot.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hfudge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really great bike to ride for a very reasonable price. I'm proud to be seen on it :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mattya
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great bike, haven't cycled for years and am enjoying using this for fitness and my commute.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.