Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike

All-new, super light E5 fully-manipulated alloy frame is built for high speed, low-fuss, and great versatility, with tapered head tube, internal routing, rack/mudguard mounts, and wide tyre clearance. FACT carbon/alloy fork with Zertz inserts for responsive road feel and forgiving ride; with mudguard mounts and wide clearance for added versatility. Reliable new Espoir 28c road tyre with double BlackBelt puncture protection for stability and durability during high-mileage riding. SRAM 2x10 drivetrain with 11-36t cassette and 48/34 rings for the latest in lightweight, wide-range gearing and spot-on shifting every time. Adjustable 4-position oversized forged alloy stem with 31.8mm bar clamp for strength and versatile positioning. Body Geometry Targa gel grips lock on and help alleviate hand pain and tingling fingers; integrated bar ends for changing hand position included. Sporty yet comfortable Body Geometry Targa Comp fitness saddle with light, durable Cr-Mo rails.
Overall rating:
4.941 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Light, fast but comfortable

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is absolutely perfect for cycling in town. It is incredibly comfortable but it also fast enough to do a proper distance. I am a female cyclist and I find it is just the right size for me.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcreasey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

great bike for the price

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
really good bike good gears comfortable to ride
i am a novice so seems like a good bike for my level
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Froddie

Great bike

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: going to take up all my spare time
Realising I was spending less and less time off road, I recently decided to buy a bike that would get me further on tarmac than my old Rockhopper. Whilst looking round I came across the Sirrus range and really fancied the Comp, but then came across the 2012 Pro on the Evans website for the same price, after having £300 knocked off. Several other models tempted me but eventually I went for it and ordered online.
The service from Evans was top notch. The bike was delivered promptly and the instructions were easy to understand, plus there was a pair of toeclips gratis in the package. I telephoned Evans' shop in Liverpool for advice before buying and they were really helpful. When my bike was delivered I had a query with the computer I was trying to fit (which I could have resolved by reading the instructions more carefully) and I couldn't have asked for a more helpful response.
The bike is comfortable and much quicker than what I am used to and pulls away from a standing start to 15 or 16 mph in a matter of a few yards, and I weigh 15 stone as well. I have read some complaints from reviewers about the saddle, but it hasn't bothered me. The Rockhopper I have used for several years is a nice bike, but I can ride this for much longer before I get tired or uncomfortable. You can get so much further in the same time on this as well due to it being much quicker.
In short, a lovely bike, and I expect to be regularly cruising around many places on it in the future. My main worry now is that I have an Open University exam in just over 4 weeks and don't know how I'll fit the studying in amongst all the cycling.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SPECIALIZED67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

BRILLIANT LIGHTWEIGHT HYBRID

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
UPGRADED TO THIS FROM BASIC SIRRUS.
VERY PLEASED WITH IT SMOOTH RIDE.
CARBON FORKS HELP TOGETHER WITH THE ZERZ INSERTS
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Broady964
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

This is a fantastic bike for the price

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike on ride to work scheme to replace an old hybrid - what a machine!
So light to ride, easy to use gears and breaks and very stable with wide flat bars.
I am over 15 stone but this bike is so easy ro ride and will make a 20 mile commute a piece of cake over the coming weeks I am sure; quality components made me choose this over others, and the light frame with carbon forks.
Highly recommended, a fantastic bike for the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simonartist

Wow!

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having to discussed bikes with my brother (seven bikes, he owns) and recommends specialized bikes I was going for the 2013 model but there are no reviews; however, I am very pleased with the bike. It feels so light compare to my other bike, Ridgeback. The brakes and gears are really great. I found it hard to believe how quick and stable this bike is for a 56-year-old. I feel that I could ride all day on this bike.
Evans put on mudguards and back wheel rack for bags before it arrived at my home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great bike and good service from the shop

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought this from the Canary Wharf store in January and it was ready to collect two days later. Perfectly set up and ready to bike off home on.
The bike itself is light and nimble, I do prefer the double tap gear levers over the opposite direction ones. It means you can quite easily apply brakes and shift down at the same time.
I find the saddle surprisingly comfortable for 1 hour long rides, not ventured out on anything longer than that so time will tell how it feels in the long run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
S100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Bike

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Light weight and comfortable even on rough roads. I like to sitting position as I don't have to lean forward too much. I found the saddle uncomfortable so replaced with a charge spoon. I'm 5'8' and the medium is just right. I would call the colour palladium silver and looks better that the pictures on line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cxsimpso
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great hybrid bike

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, fast
I'm just returning to cycling after several years away and was looking for a good quality, light weight bike at a sensible price. Intended use is fitness and leisure rides, nothing too serious. The Specialized Sirrus Pro is an enjoyable and fast hybrid, with SRAM gears that are smooth and precise. After only a few rides I can tell this bike will last me well - components are of good quality and there's really nothing compromised, but I might swap the saddle for something a little more comfortable. I got a great deal on the purchase price from Evans and service was first class. Couldn't be more pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowywill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Geat road bike

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First bike for twenty years. Very well made, great gears, superb support from Evans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very light, highly agile and fast. Silky smooth.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Only had 3 days but loving every moment in the saddle. Smooth gear changes with a response feel and very agile turner. Soaks up bumps in the road very well. A joy to ride. Can't wait to fly to work on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArthursDaily
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Comfortable ride - feels really smooth

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought this bike after having stopped cycling 10 years ago when my then road bike was totalled by a bus. Now over 50 I wanted a more comfortable bike with a bit more flexibility on where I could ride over the weekend. The whole feel of the bike is really smooth and it also looks great in an understated kind of way. My aim is to go from fitness use to a daily commute over the next few months and after a few weeks this seems like the right decision. Tried out a few other bikes in a similar price range and borrowed the specialized model just below this from a mate and this did feel better and worth the extra cash.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AidanA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great hybrid that is almost a flat-bar road bike!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a sub £1000 hybrid to replace my 6yr old Giant CRS 2.5 and ended up with a shortlist of the Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid and the Cannondale Quick SL1 Hybrid.
Both great bikes but Sirrus won due to being more of a flat-bar road bike with compact road chainset (Cannondale is a triple set), slightly more comfortable larger frame (even though both Large) and slicker SRAM groupset (Cannondale has Shimano).
Also came with Armadillos which saved a fortune on having them fitted as extra. A small point, but the bar ends are larger and more comfortable than the Cannondale and my Giant so, again, saved more money on not having to replace them. However, the saddle was an instrument of torture so now replaced with something more pleasant!
Managed a few runs to bed it in and extremely impressed by how much quicker, smoother and more comfortable it is compared to my old Giant. Hope to get some miles under my belt for a triathlon and may even use this bike to compete as it falls nicely between being a hybrid and a road bike.
Evans in Reading, as usual, were great in ordering in various bikes and helping me test ride whatever I liked; great customer service.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonesGT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

SIrrus Comp 2012 review

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is simply awesome. It runs almost completely silently and weighs next to nothing, it eats up miles and is pin point accurate in it's handling.
I seem to have got the last XL in the country but I would definitely recommend test ride! The guys at Evans in Chiswick were great especially Cos.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Light and fast

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Its a real pleasure to ride this bike. Light, fast, responsive and surprisingly comfortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
matiasp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Light, fast, looks good.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Quite simply fantastic for cycling on the road. Comfortable, fast, light, great build quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Sirrus Pro 2012 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Megamoha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Overall improvement on previous sirrus model

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I needed to replace my Sirrus Pro because my previous version was stolen. After some deliberation I decided to get the 2012 model, which has several improvements over my stolen 2008 model. Most important difference is in the frame geometry. Previously I had felt a little cramped on my Sirrus, but the new model seems to have more length and suits me fine. Gears are now 20x SRAM where previously the Pro model had 30x Shimano gears, but I can't honestly say I miss those extra 10 gears. The new ratios are set up to cover all my riding needs, ( or rather they will be once they are correctly set up again . Having now riden a few hundred miles on my new bike, I am confident that I have made the right choice. The Sirrus Pro is a serious contender if you are looking for a fast commute or more laid back leisure/fitness bike. And it turns heads!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
easyrider24
York
 
Please wait while more information about easyrider24 is loaded.
Additional information about easyrider24 could not be loaded.
Excellent - no regrets
Posted November 8, 2012
I joined a cycling group and found my old cheap hybrid a bit heavy and slow. I still fancied a flat bar bike rather than a drop-handlebar tourer and so started looking carefully. The Sirrus Pro cost more than I planned to spend, but it is worth every penny. It is light and fast. The carbon front and rear cushions out much of the vibration on rough roads. I find the geometry ideal, making my riding position similar to that of other people on tourers. Now I do 70 mile rides with no problem except for some saddle discomfort towards the end. Other riders wear padded trousers/shorts and I suppose that's what I need. Evans Cycles in York gave me good advice and help.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)