Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike

Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike

Fully butted M4 alloy frame for lightweight confidence over the roughest trails. Custom-tuned SR Suntour 80 or 100mm-travel suspension fork with hydraulic damping, proprietary Spike Valve, lockout with lightweight magnesium lowers, and alloy steerer delivers the supple ride qualities of a high-end fork. Light and durable double-walled alloy rims are tough enough to handle the rough stuff. Specialized The Captain Sport tyres lend a perfect knob pattern for diverse conditions. SR Suntour replaceable-ring crankset uses Shimano's sealed cartridge bearing, Octalink-splined, BB interface for reliable power transfer and ease of service. Tektro Draco hydraulic disc brakes with dual pistons and forged callipers assure precision braking and durability. Shimano Alivio 9-speed rear derailleur and Rapidfire trigger shifters for reliable, high-end performance; Shimano 9-speed, 11-34t cassette offers gearing options for a variety of terrain types. Shimano 9-speed, 11-34t cassette offers gearing options for a variety of fitness levels.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Just the ticket

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent bike, very confortable and great value. This feels like a proper bike to ride. I have ridden other bikes that cost twice as much but they don't feel too much different to the Rockhopper. It just looks and feels great. It looks great and rides even better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
endofthesky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Awesome quality

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my second ever bike, and i have already made my mind up that when I'm ready for another one, I will be getting it from Evans and I will be getting a specialized.
Great service, great quality product, and after service couldnt fault!
A great bike for the price!
A+++
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jimmy78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looking, fine handling bike

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: annoying squeeks!
Initially very happy with this bike (although it did have some scratches in the head stock) and look great and handles beautifully. However, the bike has developed 2 really annoying squeeks after only 5 rides. Hoping that they either go away or that Evans can fix them..... dont expect squeeks on a brand new £600 bike though!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6AUN7Y
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Fantastic first "nice bike" purchase!

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: rubbish pedals
Having not had a bike for over 10 years it took a while to select this bike but I can honestly say that I have made the perfect purchase. It's got everything you need to get started with some serious riding and the quality of frame means upgrading components to meet with demand and progression is easy. I tested a couple of other bikes at the same level before making my decision and it was instantly clear that I had made the right choice. I've been on it nearly every day either commuting through the city or riding trails at the weekends and it has delivered on all levels. My only gripes are that It comes with rubbish plastic pedals (which I instantly upgraded) and a very unforgiving seat (which I'm getting used to!). If you're reading this review you have obvious interest in this product. My advice; BUY IT AND LOVE IT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
180897
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This bike is great!

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I recently purchased this bike and i love it, great service from evanscycles too! My bike arrived promptly considering my location on an island in scotland, this is my first good quality 'expensive' bike and i am pleased with it. The only flaw of the bike is that i don't like the quality of the decals on the pedal bar things (I'm not sure of their proper name) after just a few hours of riding the writing started to disappear because my trousers were rubbing against it, other than that GREAT.
I'm going to clean all of the decals of the pedal bars so that my shiny new bike doesn't look as if it's scratched at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

1st Real Bike - Happy as Larry!

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hard saddle
Purchased this through bike to work scheme, will be used for a 4 mile commute into town during the week, evenings and weekends, treks outta town, farm tracks, etc, handles excellent on both. 1st proper nike i've owned, really pleased with my choice. Wanted a MTB, but ok for the commute as well, only downside is saddle, was used to my old comfy squidgey one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gav99
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:West End

Excellent product / home delivery problem

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor home delivery quality
The bike itself is great - light, slick, comfortable, great looking. The home delivery, though, was not without it's problems.
The front reflector had snapped off and was nowhere to be seen. The front brake didn't work as the hydraulic fluid had leaked out. There was no information about the bike in the box, no setup or care instructions. Very poor.
The Evans head office were helpful, though, and refunded the cost of repairing the front brake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
m1ateusz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

i love this bike

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i decided to buy this bike after reading a few reviews and visiting mtb forums, this was almost perfect purchase, i use it for occasional weekend trip, and sometimes for commuting.
On road maybe it is not the best bike, but for my 30 min ride to work it is doing good job.
Off road - this is my first entry level mtb, so i cant compare to any other, but i just love riding off road on it! great brakes, great fork, the only downside is the saddle, but £3 Gel Saddle Cover sort it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulH1987
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Quality build of bike for the price

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, decent forks
Cons: stock rear derailleur
I bought a 2012 Rockhopper on the basis that my Specialized Allez was a great bike for the price. So far I've used it around 20 times in the past two months and loved every minute of it. The 5 year guarantee on the frame is a sign of confidence, and the rest of the bike does the job nicely.
Sure, there are bits I'd change out but frankly it's a cracker of a bike to start MTB with. The weight's good, it handles well and can take a bit of a beating.
If you're buying one, I'd sack off the rear Shimano Alivio derailleur for a Deore as mine lasted all of 2 hours before it gave up.
Can't fault the bike at all and would definitely recommend for anyone looking at the entry level side of things - you have more fun on a cheaper bike which will take a beating.
What are you waiting for? Go buy one! NOW!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chris84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

great features

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
this is a excellent bike i cant keep off it it has good suspension and great tyres and overall lookes great i look forward to changing different parts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richymo

Brilliant spec

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As ever, Evans fail to disappoint - another superb bike delivered on time and with great customer service!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shadi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all rounder

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great Bike! Rides fantastically. Been out on it a few times now and handles brilliantly. My only criticism with it where the pedals, which where a bit naff. But this was easily rectified by buying some Shimano M520 SPD Pedals. Apart from that I can't fault it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
aeroscotia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ups and downs

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Really pleased with the bike itself. Had problems with 2 bikes arriving with damaged paintwork which was resolved with Evans but still a hassle. Had to take it to Halfords to get the gears adjusted but after that it has been very smooth. I'm really tall, but perfectly proportioned, so the 23" frame is perfect for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alpinelover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great 'semi-serious' bike

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: plastic pedals
After having the same 15" frame for years I spent ages researching a new purchase. Keen to get fit and enjoying light trails, £600 was my budget with a view to the product lasting!
Opted for the great frame rather than higher spec'd, cheaper alternatives as I had no real knowledge of components. No complaints so far - light, quick, grippy tyres, good fork, strong breaks and best of all...feel awesome riding it!
Good value wouldn't be fair because I am sure there are similar models for less money due to the brand quality that Specialized carries...however, for a great looking bike to get people interested in mountain biking (and keep them interested) - look no further!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Psfowler6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent mountain bike

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Everything the reviews say and more. As my 1st real MTB this was better than I expected. The bike is light and the equipment v. good. I am sure there are better bike for more money, but this a great first bike. It has coped with a me abusing it on red route trails on Cannock chase with no problems at all.
An overall excellent bike, glad I bought it.
Service from Evans was very good, they did everything they said they would, plenty of advice, very good. Would buy from them again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SebbieJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, great looking, great to ride!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike looks great straight out of the box, it took about 10 minutes to set up to be ready to ride. The brakes are great, really sharp, trustworthy and responsive, the fork is very smooth, and with the addition of a lockout makes it great for commuting. No complaints at all with any of the components... yes it has plastic pedals, but most riders would swap them out straight away anyway. Truly great bike for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joe378

Great!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very nice bike, front suspension with lockout is great! Very light weight and quality build. Looks really good, gears change smoothly and the disk brakes are perfect. Very pleased with this bike, it handles great on rough trails, both up and downhill. Very good on the road too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mazzou
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all rounder

PostedApril 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: plastic pedals
Love my new rock hopper. bought it for leisure, fitness and hopefully commuting. overall a great bike, my only issue is that it comes with standard plastic pedals. for a £600 bike I would of expected the pedals to be better. but that is my only problem. good all rounder
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grendo19

stunning

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is my first expensive mtb.all I can say is amazing to look at.smooth ride.brakes are good.only bad point 4 me is the seat,its like a razor which I'm replacing.other than that brilliant bike and looks stunning
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Rockhopper 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
recommendes

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought it as my first proper mountain bike and I am very pleased with it. It is also quite good on the road. For that money it is a good starting bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.