Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike

Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike

Specialized Fast Trak LK Sport 60 TPI tyres use a reduced knob height for lower rolling resistance, but have plenty of grip for confidence on the trail. Light and durable double-walled alloy rims are tough enough to handle the rough stuff. Tektro mechanical disc brakes for solid braking and easy maintenance under any conditions. Shimano Altus 8-speed rear derailleur and Altus Rapidfire trigger shifters offer crisp shifting and reliable performance. Shimano Altus Rapidfire trigger shifters are fast and reliable so you'll never miss a shift.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 39(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
evovilol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great place to start

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great beginner or entry level bike.
As a commuter that routinely goes through Richmond Park it's well up to the job off the beaten track and the pahts.
Tyres:
Quite fat and bouncy tyres that suites me nicely having come from a full suspension bike to a hard tail. They roll easily enough on hard surfaces and grips enough to get me through Richmond Park to and from work.
Weight:
If memory serves I think it weighed in at just under 15kg it's not particularly light but it's lighter than my old bike so I'm not complaining. For the price I'm not expecting much else.
Seating position:
Got the 19" frame for my 183cm and can't complain. Don't have to over stretch. Seat is quite comfortable as well.
Brakes:
The brakes are quite grippy and responsive. The front brake has a tendency of squeking and needs a bit of attention or adjustment. This was not immediately apparent but has appeared after a week or two.
Gears:
Quick changes and plenty of variations to choose from to get up those hills or pick up some speed on the road. Initially the gears would jump a bit or not get in but some later adjustments sorted that out. Be sure to re-adjust after a couple of weeks as things settle down.
Pedals:
Not particularly grippy and cheap, will be replaced sooner rather than later.
Front fork:
Don't have enough experience to comment on this particular area, but I've heard people say the rebound is quite severe. I turned the preload down to make it softer as a preference and also because I'm not particularly heavy myself.
Other:
Front fork has a hole in the top brace / arch for fitting a mudguard but as the tyres are quite fat only certain skinny mudguards will do. Fitting a mudguard to the rear is trickier as the front mech cable is in the way (is exposed towards the rear wheel). I got a rear mudguard to attach to seatpost instead.
Looking forward to a few upgrades like some comfortable bar ends, new (grippier) pedals. In the long term maybe a new seatpost and fork.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lolu
Country:Nigeria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

It is easy to ride

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, does not have a stand, vat refund for foreigners
Just started riding the bike and it is smoother than any bike i have ridden
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ZanyBoi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Extremely Diverse

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, practical, diverse, strong brakes
Cons: brakes aren't brilliant immediate to respond
Just picked it up from the store after having ordered it online, rode it home straight away and enjoyed every moment on the bike.
It has a very comfortable ride, especially on the bumpy main roads and when coming on/off pavements. However, whilst the front suspension absorbs most bumps, when sat down going over rough terrain it can be uncomfortable to sit on, as the seat is a lot harder than it looks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WirralBob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great to get back into the saddle!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: pedals are moulded plastic, no mud guards
I was 50 last year and decided to try cycling again after a 30 odd year gap. I borrowed a friend's 10year old mountain bike to try to make sure I wasn't going to be wasting my money. This bike left me with sore hands and arms and I didn't feel that stable during rides.
However I still enjoyed it enough to get my own bike. I spotted the Hardrock Disk 2012 in the "shop soiled" section of Evans in Manchester. I think it was in there due to it being an XXL frame. It looked great and the offer price looked too good to miss. Even though I'm 6' 2" tall I thought the XXL might be too big, so I arranged a test ride. Once we set the seat height correctly and I peddled off and it felt great! The ride was smooth and stable and I felt confident on it right from the off. I went on a 3 hour ride over the weekend with no pains in my hands or arms. The disc brakes, gears and suspension are a revelation compared to what I was used to as a young rider.
You can tell this is a quality made bike, it looks great and it puts a big smile on my face every time I open the garage door! I would recommend shopping around and test riding a few bikes to find the best bike for you, however this is a bike well worth a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
breany1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great bike, shame it was sent with the handlebars loose, a few scratches because of this but only cosmetic damage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Otway
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Excellent bike - great value.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good quality bike and excellent value for money - you can't go wrong wihth this buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keef58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Well balanced hardtail with smooth gears

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very pleased with this bike. My other bike is a well-specced GT Aggressor and this stacks up similarly.
Good smooth gears. Front suspension okay but a bit budget-style.
Handles nicely and skips happily across rough ground.
Well-built and well assembled. Very enjoyable to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
danube

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great bike for my son. It has increased the distances we can travel on 2 wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
petelad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great bike for getting back into riding

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've not had a bike for ten years but when my son started to ride I wanted to be able to join him and do some off-road biking as well. I've had this bike a couple of weeks now and love it. It feels very responsive, well made and is great fun to ride - Great value for money too.
Good service from Evans Cycles at Trafford Park as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philcoffin
Country:United Kingdom

great all rounder

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
great bike if you do offroad and onroad.
looks great, not the lightest but for price bracket cant complain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sniper
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A lot bang for the buck

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
For ca:4000 SEK this is a lot of bike!!
The only downside is the poor fork.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark241268
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product was great value for money !

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Not being a bike specialist & asked the advice of some friends that recommended this type of bike.
I was very impressed about the service from evans bike shop & the overall quality of my "Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike".
My only complaint would be the Great British weather, as I have not had a lot of time to use my new purchase, but the time I have had has been very enjoyable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tod1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A great bike with an excellent riding position and easy gear change for those unexpected hills .The disc brakes are precise and easy to get used to after using rubber block v brakes .A great first time bike for anyone who is just starting to go off road and who wants value for money .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ian99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level hard tail

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bought this for my wife - really good entry level hard tail. Been out on it myself; good disc's and a solid build. Fairly good over rugged terrain, bit twitchy downhill, but overall gives a good performance: better in some cases than some more expensive models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timmyc79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Looks good, great value for money

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really happy with this bike. It is great to ride and represents really good value for money. Comments about the squeaky breaks and pedals are accurate but the breaks work and it rides well so no real issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hcookphoto
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent bike

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am a total novice but I am quickly becoming a bike addict. Handles great both off and on road with great features. Easy to handle and really comes into its own off road, handling all terrains with ease. Quick gear changes and good reliable brakes. You can ride it hard and it will respond with strong fluidity. It's my new best friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RDB76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Bike at a great price

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great looking bike for the money, very light and excellent quality components. Rides great on and off road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
icb76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The best mountain bike I've owned to date. Gear changes are slick and the braking performance, while a little squealy, is outstanding. It looks great too. The perfect bike for getting back into cycling. Performed as well on the road as off it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MacB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality budget bike

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: poor pedals
I purchased this bike as i knew of the strong name of Specialized and by also reading customer reviews. As was mentioned in various reviews, the pedals supplied are composite and feel very cheap. This was not a problem as i knew about this and already had decent pedals ready to fit on the bike on arrival. The bike comes well set up and my bike only required slight gear adjustments as they were slipping slightly.This took a matter of 2 minutes and immedietly rewarded me with very smooth riding on and off road. Although the disc brakes are not hydraulic they are still far more responsive than V-brakes. Been on the bike regulary since purchase and feels comfortable and responsive. People have commented on the forks being slightly poor for a Specialized bike, but this is essentially a budget end bike and not intended for serious mountain biking as there are more specific bikes for that style of riding. As an all rounder i highly recommend the Specialized as it provides quaility of build and a standout style for a tidy price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Hardrock Disc 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AKolo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike and good price!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: forks not lockable
I brought this bike to get back into cycling. First of all it looks great in red, and a really good price for a decent mb. The ride is good, nice and light compared to some others I tried. The gears are smooth and easy shifting at high speed. Quite tough on the road because of the mb tyres and the suspension forks don't lock which isn't amazing when riding on the road. I ordered online which was perfect for me as always busy during the week, which was good. Took just over a week from order to delivery but once delivered its prebuilt you just have to alter handlebars and attach pedals which took 2 mins. Overall I would say this is a great bike to get into or back into cycling or mountain biking and really good service from Evans cycles. Really happy with the purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>