Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set

Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set

Overall rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Review 1 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XCRider4654798
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent brakes

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, powerful
I upgraded to these from some Avid Juicy 5's, mainly because the juicy pistons were sticking and the power was poor. What an improvement, so much more lever power, you hardly ever need to use full braking force and they're great to modulate. Love the look and the adjustable reach lever allows you to tune it for you hand size perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonHW
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These are excellent, why spend more?

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these with ice tech rotors only used once so far but feel excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samdf
from Perth, WA
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Incredible power & modulation

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Finally got the bike out for a spin with these fitted front and rear (to a Spesh full-suss Stumpy); using Ice Tech rotors (203mm front, 180mm rear - probably could have dropped a size, given the awesome stopping power). They replaced my aging Juicy 7s. I was blown away by the lightness and modulation - it is true 1-finger braking. Very easy to feather them and take off just the right amount of speed without locking up. Got lots of comments on how bling they look, but most important to me is the performance, which is delivered in spades. Just the one ride so far, and did not really challenge the brakes (dry conditions; no steep or extended DH runs), but super-impressed. No hesitation in recommending these.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nastygee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Brakes have a lot of power

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Upgraded from Hayes brakes and what a difference, easier to set up and more power in one finger braking.
Paid Evans to shorten hoses which I could of done it myself with supplied parts but they needed bleeding after they where shortened.
Not had them off-road yet but from road use I'm expecting good results.
Evans price matched the brakes which saved me £30 which was quite a good saving and only cost £5 more than slx.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dw123
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

What more could you want

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great brakes! Consistent stopping power, attractive, comfortable, and oh so east to fit adjust and bleed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alfie1
Country:Egypt
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

excellent stopping power

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought an MTB a few years ago to take overseas. It was fitted with Hayes Sole hydraulic disc brakes that were becoming rather sluggish despite having fitted new pads and bleeding the system. I have just fitted a pair of Shimano XT- M785 pre-bled lever/caliper. What a fantastic set, really powerful stopping ability. Thinking of changing your brakes, you wont go wrong with a set of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptainNumpty
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awsome Power, Great Modulation

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
wouldnt buy any other brake, modulation is great once you get used to power, I use with 160mm ice tech rotors, replaced Funn drop ins with 180mm which dont even come close, very easy to shorten hoses too
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freeo31
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These brakes have great lever feel and heaps of po

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
I am using these Shimano M785 XT brakes on a DH bike and they work great heaps of power. It took a little time for the pads to bed in but once they do they are awesome .They are best matched with Shimano’s ICE Tec rotors and adaptors (my avid adaptors did not work even though the rotors are the same size 203mm).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ceekay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

unbelievable brakes, one finger stopping.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I used Shimano "flapy paddles" xtr brakes which had always impressed me, however, switching to these just puts things into another dimension. superb brakes, that have got so much feel . I can't recommend these highly enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Preddall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Brake - Great Price

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no variety of cable lengths
Does what it says on the tin....
My only minor niggle is that the brake isn't available in a number of pre-bled cable lengths...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichJG
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking

Superb upgrade & easy to fit

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I fancied an upgrade to the stock disc brakes on my bike and decided to go for Shimano's XT range. Great decision, awesome stopping power and great feel from the levers. Takes a bit of getting used to with the increased power from these but a great upgrade. Pretty easy to fit too, a little bit of fiddling with the mounting bolts after the first few rides to ensure the pads are completely clear of the rotor but easy to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AusViS
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bang for buck brake on the market today

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, powerful
I've always been a fan of the M775 brakes, and had them on all 3 of my bikes for the past few years. I bought the M785's on sale here and WOW. They are exceptional. They feel fantastic, are very strong (a lot more than the M775's) and are perfect for one finger braking.
I liked them so much I bought a second set the following week for one of my other bikes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gaunty
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular

Very good brakes.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, powerful
Cons: none
Just changed my existing brakes ('09 SLX) to a set of these. The SLXs weren't bad but what a change- fantastic! Bags more power, loads of modulation and true one finger braking- and that's without changing the rotors.
Love the short lever. Went for the silver for a bit of bling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mtbxtc
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best brakes for the $.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
After having been out on several rides, these brakes give more me confidence to be able to hit the trails harder and faster.
An initial ride will help the pads bed in, then its all stops out!!
They are truly great.
The adjustability is a selling point and the light 1 finger braking saves the tired aching hands at the end of a long ride.
Can't speak highly enough of the Shimano M785 XT and at a fantastic price from Evans Cycles. Thanks guys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CINDERS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super stopping power - with less effort

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These Shimano M785 XT brakes are so much better - stopping power has increased, stopping distance has decreased, arm pump has disappeared. I am so very happy with theses brakes - i wish i had purchased them sooner.
I shopped around the internet and found the best deal was on the Evans Cycle site. Great price, prompt delivery
Easy to fit, easy to adjust - look great and work great
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yagil
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic brakes, but some issues with Gripshifts

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, great modulation, easy bleeding, powerful
Cons: expensive rotors, may cause problems with gripshift
The XT brake is the fourth disc brake set I've installed on my bike, after and Avid BB7, Avid Exlir R SL, and Hayes Stroker Gram. On other people's bike I also tried Juicys, Tektro mechanical brakes and a Magura Julie.
It seems that I've finally found the Ideal, or at least near-ideal, brake.
Please note that I don't use Ice-Tech rotors but Excellent Ashima Airotors, 180mm front and 160mm rear.
So, here are the pros and cons - not may cons!
Pros:
1. Easy installation. Not only is connecting the brakes to the bike a breeze, but also you have the option of shortening the hoses yourself WITHOUT bleeding again.
(Strangely, while you get all the parts needed for the operation, you don't get the instructions with the kit - so here they are; The brakes pictured are previous generation, but it works the same).
http://www.shimano.com/publish/content/global_cycle/en/us/index/tech_support/tech_tips.download.-Par50rparsys-0008-downloadFile.html/02)%20Brake%20Hose%20Trimming.pdf
2. Since the brakes use mineral oil, you won't need bleeding very often - as opposed to DOT based brakes, which need bleeding once in a while. Shimano's bleeding procedure is also easy enough, if you'll need to do it - much easier than my Hayes.
3. The brakes have excellent pad clearance. Slightly more than my Stroker Grams, which had a good pad clearance themselves, and MUCH better than the Elixir. Since rotor rubbing noise drives me mad, this is a big plus: the XT brakes are very quiet, and no rubbing at all. Moreover, as my bike is a Folding MTB (Sling-Shot Fold-Tech), I take off the front wheel very often; so adequate clearance is a must to save me time and headache.
4. POWER. Tons of it. The new XT are the strongest brakes I ever used. I use only 1-finger braking, and had no problem slowing down - be it an emergency braking on a wet road, going 25 miles an hour down a dirt trail, or stopping a bike with a child trailler behind it. I actually found myself being faster than ever in some descents, trusting the brakes to slow me down when I needed. The attached graph shows one dirt road strech, which I did with a child trailer behind me in an average speed of between 30 to 40 km/h, losing 200m of height in 3km.
There is no chance I would have gone as fast if not for the power of the brakes and them being confidence-inspiring (Note: DO NOT, ever, attempt to reach such speed with a child trailer if you are not absolutely sure you know what you are doing!)
5. Modulation. I do have to admit that Shimano's "Servo-wave" and the freestroke adjustment take time to get used to, since they act in a very different manner to every other brake system I've used. Freestroke adjustment is useful, but you'll have to play with it to get the best feel possible - Shimano's instructions are vauge at best.
If you pull the brakes hard, there is a point where the brakes springs into action, and you'll have a bit of on/off feeling. However, after getting familiar with the brakes and taking them to a test ride, It'll become second nature to squeeze them countinously, and then the XT's have excellent modulation and feel, and it's easy to slow down the bike just the amount you want - from a minor speed loss to complete stop.
6. While at first I feared of overheating, as mineral oil has lower boiling point than DOT 5.1, my fears proved groundless. Even without Ice-tech rotors and with standard (that is, non-finned) pads, the brakes preformed admirably. Long descents have caused no problem at all and no brake fade. I recon that with finned pads it would be even better.
7. The lever is ergonomic and very comfortable for one-finger braking. Unlike the XTR, the lever is not drilled for additional grip, however this is easily taken care by attaching small velcro band to the lever (or using a dremel to drill holes, if you are mechanically-minded...) and in any case the grip is pretty good as it is. Also, the tool-free reach adjust is great - very accurate and comfortable to use, if slightly less elegant than other solutions.
Now, the brakes have some cons:
1. Expensive rotors. the 6-bolt Ice-tech rotor costs about twice than Ashima Airotors, and are significantly heavier. the Shimano RT86 weighs about 115g (160mm) vs. 85g of the Airotor, and the 180mm version is about 150g vs. 110. I couldn't justify buying the Shimano rotors with such a price and weight. Perhaps for a serious downhill rider the heat-reducing features of the Ice-Tech will be worth the price; at the moment, for me, they were not.
2. No carbon lever option. Carbon blades save several grams and cost a lot, but they have a distinct advantage: they won't freeze your fingers on cold days, nor would they become too hot to touch in hot sunny days. Unlike the Hayes Stroker Gram or the Elixir R SL I had, the XT has a forged aluminium lever - and on cold or hot days it can cause some discomfort. I wish there was a carbon lever - at least as an aftermarket option, as Avid once had for the Elixir R.
3. Possible problems with Sram Gripshift Shifters. The lever is the shortest I ever saw. It's length is about 7.5cm (depends how you'll measure), vs. 9.5cm on the Hayes Stroker Gram and 9cm on the Avid Speed Dial 7 levers. It's not a problem for trigger shifter users, but Gripshift fans like myself will find that the lever does not extend beyond the gripshift (see attached picture). This is not a special problem for me - I have large hands and my riding position enables me to stop with one finger without stretching it too much. But people with smaller hands may have a double problem - first of all, too much distance between their natural hand position and the lever, and second - since the Gripshift is larger diameter than the handlebar, they may not have enough distance between the gripshift and the lever, meaning that the lever may hit the gripshift before reaching full power.
All in all, the XT are fantastic brakes. for XC or trail users, they are highly reccommended - but if you are using gripshifts, check in advance that the brake fits and feels ok on your bike.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bezzy
from UK
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent product at a competetive price

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a truly excellent disc brake for the price. I paid about £98 each for everything but discs. The brakes come nicely packaged and give that feel of a "premium product". Shimano include bleed spacers (to hold the pistons back) and a spare olive and insert (for use if trimming the cable), as well as comprehensive instructions, covering fitment and bleeding.
The brakes themselves are attractive, well built and boast some excellent features (Just what you would expect from the Japanese). Lever "reach adjust" and "bite point" being two which I find particularly useful.
Performance is second to none! I've used Hope M4's, Minis, Avid Elixir 9's, 5's and Shimano SLX disc brakes, to name a few. I can quite comfortably say that the Shimano XT’s outperform any of the above. I am using a 203mm front rotor and 180mm rear rotor, I only ever use “1 finger braking” and stopping power is incredible. Even with the compact lever and 1 finger I can easily lock the front wheel/throw myself over the bars. Despite this (although not a linear response) the lever provides good progression through the travel, giving excellent control. I have encountered no heat related issues with the brakes over 15min descents and the bed-in period for the discs/pads was minimal.
The only bad thing I could pick up on is that the pads have about half a millimetre of free play in either direction, which can make a small rattle when rotating the wheels back and forth with the brake engaged. In reality this is not an issue when riding but it can make it seem like you have a loose bearing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M785 XT Pre-Bled Brake Lever/Calliper Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
meta77
from uk
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

awesome

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
silent,rub free,powerful brakes,easy to set up and delievered in 2 days,great deal from evans in january sale. The only thing is try to get hold of an SM DISC bleed funnel in case you spill a few drops of fluid shortening the hose to suit your bike
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.