Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack

Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack

Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Review 1 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cazzda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Used on a weekend trip used for lightweight trousers and long sleeved t shirt. Pj style short and T shirt. Small towel, toiletries. Spare light weight rainproof jacket. All fit in without need to unzip the extra space.
Will be using next week on trip to Crete. I have also purchased handle bar bag for this trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pete65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what I hoped it would

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: unique ?
I bought this for occasional use on my lightweight racing bike. It is big enough to cart a few items such as a camera, waterproofs and map. This way I can use my lights (all handle bar bags obscure front lights), and not have to ruin my bikes lines with a rack. It leaves only a very neat fitting on the seat post when not in use. I don't have to remove my small under-seat pack with my spare inner tube etc in to attach it.
Very handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Des152
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect for light road bike

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bag for my new lightweight road bike. it is the perfect size for tools and wet weather wear. The quick release fixing makes it easy to remove and the expandable zip means I can add small snacks if required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Andyallez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quite big but bracket isn't very strong

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Ok but difficult to get on and off. The quick release was so stiff that some of it broke off when I tried to force it on just as was about to leave on a three day ride. It still seemed fairly secure though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hollywoodxl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Could be bigger but otherwise brilliant.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought when I decided to become a cycling commuter. Not quite as big as I'd hoped, but still plenty of room for lunch and cycling spares. Don't expect to pull a neatly folded shirt out of it, but the difference between this and a rucksack in terms of riding experience is remarkable. Don't notice it at all and am still topping 20 mph+ on the commute. If you need to take clothes to work, pick something bigger otherwise, buy this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucy85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great pack

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, surprisingly roomy
We are cycling from Lands End to John O'Groats with this little beauty! It is amazing how much you can actually fit in it - and the extra zip that allows it to extend makes it really roomy. We are able to fit flip flops, a pair of trousers, underwear, a tshirt and long sleeve top...and still have room for our cycling tools. Great purchase!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Ideal and user friendly storage for short trips

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I used this pack for a 3 day bike ride from newcastle to edinburgh. I had planned to travel light anyway and this was perfect to fit a few toiletries, change of clothes for the evenings and a pair of flip flops. It is very easy to take on and off. looks pretty smart too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GizzyLiz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

Perfect for day rides

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bag is brilliant for day rides when you want to take more than snack bars,there is plenty of room for tools, sandwiches, extra gloves,waterproof,sunglasses,phone and suncream etc. With the bag fully expanded I managed to get in enough gear for an overnight stop,including toiletries,underwear,a pair of sandals, jeans, a t -shirt and scarf. Extremely easy to fit and remove,could hardly feel the bag behind me and no rattles or swaying. Very neat appearance, didn't want a huge saddlebag or panniers.Haven't experienced really bad weather so don't know if it is fully waterproof-could always use a plastic bag inside. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeremy911

A great purchase - excellent for day trips.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I've just used this as a daily carrier on a four day trip through Scotland - very convenient and a much bigger capacity than expected
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laser16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Ideal day touring bag, enough space for all of your kit without the space to be tempted to overload.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RPatt57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great product

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
An excellent bit of kit, plenty of room for kit on a ride out, expands for longer trips, unclips in an instant to carry with you for security.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
isquib
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have a shiny new Secteur sport and didn't want it cluttered up with 'stuff''
Normally I just have a tiny seat pack on with an inner tube\levers etc, this does for tea time training rides.
However for audax events I like to take a full wardrobe, as we often have four seasons in a day. therefore I can gets spares, sandwiches, and a couple of layers\waterproof etc. in this pack.
This tail pack is removable leaving the bracket , so its no hassle to swap between the small tail pack and the Arran.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GStort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Large capacity and has taken the strain ff my back

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: masks light on seat post
I switched to this pack when my back began to hurt during the daily commute. (25 miles). I can carry my lunch, some clothes, tools, spare tubes and a tyre, and my back doesn't hurt any more. Water resistant too, but need a bag for the worst days. Masks the light on my seat post though and have yet to work out how to attach a light other than a poorer clip on / strap light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pablohoney
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this for a 300 mile cycle around France. It's easy to fit, and even easier to attach and clip back on when you leave your bike. Holds quite a lot of equipment and can't feel the extra weight too much. Chose this over panniers and so glad I did. It's not 100% waterproof, but does keep a bit of rain out. Would definitely recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HighlandMike
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Usual Altura top quality product

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this bag for my wife's mountain bike as she finds a backpack uncomfortable. This seat post bag is really well made and easy to fit. It can be detached from the bike to take with you and has a carrying handle and useful external and internal pockets. Capacity isn't huge but enough for basic tools, small pump, lights and waterproof. So good I will probably get one for my bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lordchocice
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fairly large seat pack that can easily store everything you need for a full day of cycling. Bungee cord holder on top also quite useful.
I was expecting it to be easier to attach and un-clip but it isn't too difficult. Just requires a bit of force. A water-proof cover would have been a good accompaniment but the pack itself can take a fair bit of getting wet before it soaks through to the inside
Overall, very pleased with it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Biker717
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

great quality

PostedApril 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bag is good quality. For it's size it's spacious and it expands, even once its expanded and realise you need space for your jacket it has elsticated laces on the top! I use it mainly for commuting and am able to pack 6 rolled xl t-shirts without using the expanded section.
It also has a number of internal and external pockets which come in handy for separating gels from tools!
One point to note, the first couple times the clip was difficult to engage as it was extremely tight.
Its a great seat pack
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gez73
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ideal size if you don't want a rack or a backpack!

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, nice and spacious, sturdy bracket
Just received this today. Two different sized mounting options based on your seat-post width. Bracket is very sturdy but place this on the post before attempting to add the bag frame as you won't be able to tighten or adjust the post mount with the bag frame on.
Easier to remove the frame and the bag than remove the bag from the frame leaving this sticking out from your post. The Frame the bag sits securely in is not much bigger than the bag itself. All in all very pleased and this should relieve me of my backpack for the Summer. Holds all my commuting essentials and I have removed my saddle bag as there was no room for both. Managed to mount a back light using a cable-tie and the back flap that keeps the bag secured to the frame. Great service and delivery as per!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tourer78
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent mid sized post pack

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: perfect fit for a dslr
Cons: no shoulder strap?
Not quite as big as what some of the other reviews would have you believe but you can fit a few daily essentials in there. On the plus side this bag is the perfect fit for a dslr camera and spare lens, its padded too which offers some protection. Dissapointingly no "D" rings for a shoulder strap which means you have to carry it around by the handle when off the bike. A decent product but the design could have been better thought out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Arran Expanding Post Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mdownton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, with one major flaw

PostedMarch 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: impractical
It works well, attaches solidly to the bike and fits a reasonable amount of 'stuff' (enough for my commute to work), however there's nowhere to mount a light. And with it being positioned behind the seat, if you mount a light on the seat stem the bag blocks it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>