Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Water Bottles & Cages or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder

Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Review 1 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stumpyevans
from bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

just the job

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
unit comes with two rear carrier specific cages that hold bottles well. it can also be used with one bottle centrally which is handy. a little on the heavy side, but works very well,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andersger
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Easy to attach to saddle and bottles are stabile ind the cages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shers10

Easy to fit, Easy to use

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very simple: it does the job and it's very easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChilledinAgay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great alternative

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this because I succombed and finally fitted a battery for peddle assist, and so this left no room for standard bottle cages. This rear cage holder enables me to carry two drinks bottles, but since I no longer work up so much of a sweat, I've taken to filling them with beer :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
patrick2011
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

tough and sturdy

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This was secured to seat with ease. I only use one bottle holder as I do Triathlons, holds SIS 800ml bottles with firm grip. Not lost any bottles as some have described. It is a heavy bit of kit but worth it, I check securing nut as part of normal cycle check prior to ride Had to re-arrange puncture bag on the seat post but otherwise no regrets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chrisfoggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great way to carry extra liquid

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great for long rides when you need to carry some extra bottles, used it on a 95 miles ride. Worked well but need to make sure everything was very tight, as some parts worked louse on rougher terrain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ISticks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value - does the job well

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought this for a London to Paris trip, fitted very quickly felt secure and had room to attach a few other bits between the bottles. Feels a little flimsy at first but stood up to being bashed about on the back of the tandem with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bdoidge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good product

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good product, sturdy, well made, a little tricky to fix onto the bike but once there feels secure and strong, bottles fit easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
feizal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great Idea, poorly built

PostedJune 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
This is a great idea as but be careful of the of how much water you put in your bottle. This may sound daft but on my first outing with it attached three bolts fell off with the weight of the bottles and left them hanging off the back of the bike. BTW i was using camel back bottles, no t huge bottle. Luckily at my first pit stop a man with tie racks appeared and i managed to keep the cages up right.
I now have to shop around for nuts and bolts to put the thing together
Great idea, poorly built
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigel41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product at bargin price

PostedJune 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Having read the previous reviews complaining about it coming apart I invested in a small bottle of loctite for the bolts, my first outing was a 64 mile Evans Rideout and it performed faultlessly with my newly purchased Bontrager bottles. All in all a great bit of kit at the right price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
goldenboy
from london
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

turned out to be pretty good!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
i dont have any mount points on my bike for bottle cages so have been searching for a suitable solution. read a few reviews about this item being dodgy when having 2 full bottles but decided to give it a go after getting a reasonable price match. so, attached and off to richmond park for a few laps. all was well until lap two when the screw attaching the bottle cage to the main part came loose leaving one bottle hanging upside down! now at this point i would normally be cursing but the single screw held the bottle in place, and the mechanism kept a full 800ml bottle hanging upside down whilst i powered up a hill so it is pretty sturdy. got to the top of the hill dismounted, reattached the screw and off i went again. despite this minor hiccup i had no further problems and actually think this is a good product. dont be put off by the negatives this does work just make sure you tighten ALL the screws before heading out. i was using SIS 800ml bottles (another price match) cheers evans! i would recommend this product for anyone in a similar situation. the bottles are easy to reach and put back in to the mount point and like others have said you can play around with the config and have it as a single and hang off inner tubes, co2 canisters etc. nice one kieth bontrager!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
billybob42
from Northants
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid product

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Product seems quite robust for budget end on market. Have only used twice so a little hard to tell but no problems so far
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mollymaesie
from Gloucestershire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Waste of money

PostedJuly 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: screw fixings need sorting
Having read the reviews on this product before I bought it I thought it would be fine - I knew it's good and bad points! The reviews stated that the holder needed to be tightened before each use, this I did. However, I went out on a short ride (23 miles) it was tightened fully before the ride. I lost one bottle after just 3 miles the bottle cage came loose and the bottle fell out with out my knowledge. The 2nd bottle cage came off after 15 miles - i lost the whole bottle cage. I don't understand why the manfacturer is not looking at the way this model is made and sorting out the the obvious problems?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gloster
from caernarfon
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
the bottle cage fitted easily and looks good on the bike , it holds the bottles firmly . it took me only a few seconds to fit the bottle holder and adjust it my preferred angle aand position . i would highly reccomend anyone buying this bottle carrier
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
BikerDave
from Shrewsbury
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not very sturdy

PostedJune 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, not very sturdy
First ride out the screws holding the first bottle cage worked loose , the bottle cage dropped of and was lost. The second one also worked loose but heard that one come off and retrieved it. Not a very sturdy product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMM1
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent for long distance rides...just check that you tighten it before each ride as the weight of the bottles can make it slip after several rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Race Lite Rear Cage Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bianchi4
from Berkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Twin Cage

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Read numerous reviews with regards to other twin rear cage holders. Most reviewers were disappointed with how poorly constructed they were. Not the case with this one. The seat mount is very strong and the cage holds the bottles well. Others mentioned of bottles falling out of cage when on rough roads. No sign of this problem with this cage (I use two 500ml bottles). Even room to hold other accesories. Well worth the money. A great product as you would expect from Bontrager.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.