Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike

Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mightyquin
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kona make nice bikes!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a Kona Paddywagon fixed gear bike but wanted a geared bike for riding the odd trail at weekends or charity rides (did the Thames Bridges ride last year and there's a fair stretch of route along muddy pathways, I was just about OK on the Paddywagon but would have been in trouble if it was wet!).
This is an entry level bike, ideal for my kind of use. If it was my only bike I'd probably pay a bit more for better overall components and a locking fork, but then you can always upgrade as parts wear out (if you're giving your bike heavy use). You can fit disc brakes to this as well - I've always found the normal rubber block type stop me well enough!!
If you're looking for this type of bike in this price range, you've found it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WelshDave
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb cycle for the money.

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the money you will find it difficult to find a nicer bike to ride. It fits my 5'10" frame wonderfully and feels comfortable and very light and solid when riding.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ZiderRider
from Lincoln
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a confirmed roadie, I was a bit wary of entering the MTB world, but after my son insisting we go for rideouts together which included some off road, rather than him trying to keep up with me on the tarmac, I relented. I must admit that I love the variety of terrain open to me now. The Kona seems fairly well balanced off road, the gearing suited to either fast cruising on the road or slogging up hilly trails, if anything the ratios are may be a bit close for my liking, but that may be because I'm more used to a road set up, the brakes are great and the bike looks great!
I have been able to cover some of the nice hilly trails near my home that I used to love running on, and the bike has coped admirably...but my son still can't keep up with me :-) !!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
niterider692002
from northampton
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

really good ride for the price

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
bought not 1 but 3 of these bike for a childrens home for the kids and staff to go on bike rides together. we had had bikes before(cheapo rides) and they always fell apart after a couple of rides down a small curb, so i was given a bag of cash to go and find the best deal for the money that i had. i came across the kona lanai and test rode one and it was reasonably light and quick throught the gears and felt solid! bought them on those grounds and then put them to the real test, the kids!! from the off set they loved them and were straight on them pulling wheelies and when we went to the woods i was even surprised on how good the handling and comfort of the ride was. would defo give this bike a big thumbs up and is a good if not better compettitior to the carrera vulcan from halfords
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markdavies86

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
really please with how it rides, really easy to ride.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pc1974
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good for the price

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have previously bought a giant bike for about the same price. this was from a mail order company but had to return because of a couple of issues. I then bought this bike because of the ability to deal face to face if there were any problems. I have now used this bike for about five weeks and took it in for a service this fixed the wheels which were slightly out of true and the gears were slightly out due to normal stretching after using for a while.
The bike seems great now its light weight and has a good suspension which for the price has a good amount of travel unfortunately no lockout but for the price you cant expect that. The other bits will need to be upgraded especially the pedals which are poor and they could easily have put better on when they made it and the group set is just reasonable. If i was to buy the bike for the price I paid again I would.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
panther
from Lincolnshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great bike!

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Bike is great, very comfortable & easy to use gears (which I need!) This is my first Mountain Bike purchase in over 15 years and am very impressed.
Delivery was quick, with continuous email contact with updates on ETA. Only issue I had was that when the delivery came I was not home and the bike was left by my wheelie bins!! I did not sign anything even thought the box stated "do not sign if faulty" ! Otherwise I am happy with my purchase but would be concerned that if I bought something else, would it also be left outside until I returned home?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Nice starter bike

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, v-brakes
Cons: Heavy, poor welding
Nice starter bike for beginners. I bought this for my 10yo and she loves the bike. The handling is pretty good with a nice stiff frame and a pair of decent forks up front. The forks could be smoother as they rather stick than glide but at this price point you can't have too many complaints.
My real concern is the weight of this bike,it feels very heavy for a sub 30lb bike. I can only begin to imagine what bikes with disc brakes must weigh in at. I do wish that there was greater choice for bikes with V-brakes, disc brakes just are not necessary for the majority of mountain bikes!
My first Kona was a Canadian built '95 Lavadome whilst this is built in Cambodia. I do wish that bike manufacturers would clearly state where their bikes are built on their website. The welding is good but not great.
Oh and what a nice seat..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roper
from Hertfordshire
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kona Lanai

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, well built parts
Cons: wheels might be a little narrow/weak for some
Fantastic bike, Kona engineering and Shimano parts for a great price. I'm quite tall so I went for the 22inch frame, which was perfect. Saddle is a little hard but other than that the bike is fantastic for general 'going places' riding and even if you want to get muddy and knackered!
Bike arrived on time, perfectly set up and well boxed. Evans even sypplied a compact multi-tool and spanner for adjusting the bike free of charge as well as a small documents folder and even small paints for repairing scratches.
The only thing I changed was that I put some wider wheel rims and tyres on (see the photo).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flynnie
from east anglia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brilliant for the price

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is a real good buy easy to ride its on the same level as a carrera vulcan v brake i would recomened this bike to any novice rider like myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trigger70
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

excellent bike

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
bike is good value for money good ride on the road quite a light bite smooth gear changes,very good front suspension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
marty2k
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value starter bike

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a perfect bike to start riding on trails and practicing basic off-road skills. The 16" version weighs 14kg which is reasonable. This model has V-brakes whereas the Deluxe model has disc brakes. I chose this version because it was less expensive and a V-brake system is simpler to maintain and weighs less. Overall, very happy with bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freckles81
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great purchase

PostedMay 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: seat a bit hard
Great bike, every inch worth the money. It arrived really quickly within three days! it was packaged well. the colour was a little darker than the picture, more like a purple, but i wasn't disappointed! I have been over some fairly rough ground and the front fork suspension is more than enough for what i need it for. The odd jump on and off pavments are a soft landing! all round professional looking bike thats fun, fairly light (i can lift it in and out the car and im 5ft 1) with smooth gears. There is the protential for disc breaks to be added later!! really happy with Lanai however may want to invest in a slightly softer seat!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kona Lanai 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wadey
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kona Lanai

PostedMay 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike for my girlfriend, she loves it. As an entry level bike it`s perfect, and build quality is great, good all round bike and a great price aswell!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.