Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike

GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark20040
from Walsall
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I haven't owned a mountain bike for the last 10 years. Perhaps not the best judge if the latest gear but I know when I have made the right or wrong decision.
This was absoutely the right one!
Good brakes, ride and very comfortable.
First ride was raining and I went straight on to a muddy track. Gripped well, braked as though it were dry and gearing was fine for up the hills.
Recommended
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cgam88
from Newbury
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GT Avalanche 3.0 Disk Bike

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bike delivery promise was 5-7 days. It came in 3 days, just in time to cycle around the Isle of Wight that weekend!
Bike was easy to assemble out of the box.
Very pleased with the performance. This is my second GT bike. My GT Aggressor was stolen. I would definitely buy another GT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eyeknownuffin
from Sydney, australia
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too long between saddles

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Been a while since I'd ridden a bike and longer still buying one for myself. Naturally, I searched long and hard, comparing brands and reading reviews. I've had a look at a number of MTB shapes & styles to finally settled on the GT Avalanche 3.0 Disk 2011.
A few kilometres later, I don't regret my choice. In fact I think we'll be together for quite a while. Build quality is quite good. The frame feels really sturdy. I'm quite short but the whole set-up is light enough for me to lug it around when needed. And for the price, it comes with some pretty funky specs. The only aftermarket item I've added are pedals Nothing wrong with what's included but I wanted to ride with cleats on.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shawfold
from wakefield
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very pleased

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
very pleased with my new gt this is my third they are very good value !
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
coleyz
from west sussex
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

squeaky bike

PostedAugust 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, squeaky
Having had the bike for a month I think it is a lovely looking bike but the front hub squeaks and the disc brakes front and rear squeak all the time so not impressed with tektro novela brakes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazsl
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Yaabbbbdabbbbbbbadoooooootastic

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bicycle is amazing, its so comfortable and fits like a glove, what i mean by that is that is is perfect for my height, im 5'6 and the bike is a small. Ive been cycling 60 miles each day and ive not had any problems. ill be taking it in for its free 6 week service soon and to be honest i cannot find a fault with it.
The customer service i received was great too, the gentleman took the time to go through some things about the bike and took me around the store as i wanted to buy other goods with his advice.
Loooooooooooooooove it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GTRider81
from lancashire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Fast Light Bike

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this a couple of days ago after looking for a bike in the £350 bracket. had a test ride on it before buying and was amazed at how light and fast it was, had it on the rode with the suspension locked and on grass and kerbs with the suspension adjusted, very responive and fast ride.
Gear shifters are good, the gears on the crank could do with an outside shield as your pants will catch at the ankles if theyre not tied.
Brakes are ok but im being told they need to bed in before full power. I got the XL version and im 6'4 great fit for me, adjustable seat post. Wheels are quick release to.
overall fantastic bike, i dont think theres anything that good at that price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cokey
from bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

top class purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
bought this bike 5 weeks ago from the bristol branch spoke to a couple of lads both had good knowledge . i have done approx 100 km on various terrain taken all in its stride gears are excellent very precise and the brakes are top drawer really responsive the GT frame is tried and tested seems solid but not too heavy,the seat although looks cool takes some getting used too but worth it .not too sure about pedals probably get some smaller ones in time the grips and handlebar set up is comfy so overall for the money i would really recommend this bike i am building up for some big rides to come.i have a service booked the first one to sort a few little bits out cable ties on gear cable missing squeek in crank ,apart from that this bike seems top class to me
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonnyh456
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GT Avalanche 3.0

PostedJune 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great Bike. Great service.
Bike arrived basically ready to ride.
would definately reccomend this bike to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
themalkolm
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bike for good boys

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike is good. I had to tighten some parts but mostly it was assembled good. There are some common problems with GT bikes but they are easily fixed even by yourself. So best choice for you if you if it's you fist mountain bike.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MBrider
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value GT

PostedMay 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
A great value GT. Still wearing it in but it is a massive upgrade from my 2008 Diamondback. For a £399 bike this GT represents great value for money, offering a smooth, responsive ride and it looks and feels great too!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bikersss
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gt Avalanche 3.0

PostedMay 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
A nice bike but came in a totally different colour to what i intended to purchase, so now i have to take it back and swop it all and w8 even longer.
not impressed.
-14points
1of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GT Avalanche 3.0 Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazzer
from Northamptonshire
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

An Amazing Low Cost MTB

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I’ve been the owner of a Barracuda Overload for over 10 years; it was a pretty good bike for a 10 year old to go whizzing about with his mates in the fields, or down the cycle track. But after many years, the suspension had begun to seize up, the sprockets were worn and the final straw was getting a puncture miles from home, with no repair kit, and riding it on the rim.
With that in the skip, I thought a replacement bike was in order. So I trailed some websites looking at flashy full suspensions bikes to replace the same frame style I had been used to for all those years; but cost wise, I just couldn’t see myself splashing that sort of cash on something that could just end up back in the garage after a few months.
I opted to go for a hard tail instead, due to the much lower price, and the advised cycling efficiency benefits they tend to bring to some cyclists. I had been looking at some Specialized, GT and Trek variants. Mechanical or hydro discs, 21 or 24 speed; each one had a slight difference.
Eventually I settled on this, the GT Avalanche 3.0 2011. First impressions were, well completely imaginary, as I hadn’t seen the bike in the flesh so to speak, as it wasn’t even the years spec. I put an order in at my nearest Evans Store in Milton Keynes at the start of January, and was told not to expect a call from them until late April as the waiting period for the bike was said to be a long one. Just 3 weeks later I get a call, and what do you know the bike is in stock.
Fantastic, I go to the store at my nearest available time slot; at the start of February, and pay my £399.99 for it. Being a bloke the offered chance of a test ride was completely ignored; “It’ll be fine I said, I’m sure it won’t be much different to my old one.”
Now rather than me babble on about how, I’ve nearly gone over the handlebars twice lets get down to the knitty, gritty bits.
FRAME
The Hydroformed 6061 T6 Aluminium Triple Triangle frame isn’t the lightest frame in the world, but it sure is lighter than a full suspension set up. Compared to my old bike, the weight difference has seen my speed increase on the flats, but also on hill climbs and gives me better control on fast decents. The colour scheme on the frame is also very swish, with a deep black, contrasted with white and neon green.
FORKS
SR Suntour XCM-V3-HLO Forks, the 100mm of travel is about the same as my old bike. But the smoothness and adjustability of them far surpasses. Ok, I’d like some more travel when the nose comes down hard from a drop, or a jump but providing a bend of the arms is included it’s not exactly the worst thing. Especially as I really only use it like this on the off chance I get some spare time to ride like that; as its mainly used for commuting to work.
DERAILLEURS
Can’t say much about these, pretty much the same as any I’ve ever come across. They get the chain from one chain ring to the next. Probably not as light as some other sets that you can buy, but then again for a £400.00 bike, you aren’t going to expect the highest performance/lightest parts.
GEARS/SHIFTERS
The Shimano Rapid Fire Shifters are a big step up from what I was used to. My old ones you either had to flick and they would change of their own accord, or would really need to give it one for it to jump up on the crank. These however, are as easy as anything to pump up or ramp down.
The extra 3 ratios I get from the 8 speed cassette are also a big help. I sometimes forget I have an 8th sprocket available; on the flats I definitely get an extra bit of go.
BRAKES
This is really where this bike performs in my eyes. The brakes are your cheaper mechanical disc brakes, but as they are Tektro brakes this doesn’t matter. This is what has caused me to go over the bars somewhat, as I just wasn’t ready for the difference compared to rim brakes. They pull up faster, keep their effectiveness regardless of usage and what’s more they look better.
OTHER COMPONENTS
All very nice. Everything’s in place and as it should be. Nothing has come loose or fallen off.
---
I’ve added a fair bit of kit to the bike. My first addition was a kick stand; I can’t see how most bikes don’t come with one these days. You spend all that money, just to sling it down and wreck your saddle or grips.
I’ve added some cheap, but effective Bicygnals also (can be seen in the photo) which give me a little more control, and direction when traveling fast along side a roaring truck.
Bottle cage, pump, saddlebag (although currently needs swapping due to it being too large for the seat post) and mud guards.
I would seriously suggest that you get one of these bikes if you are interested in upgrading to an entry level, but highly competitive mountain bike. I’ve had this bike for just over 2 and a half weeks, and I love it.
However you’ll need to get it from somewhere else, as Evans’ appear to have pulled it from their listings. Shame really.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.