Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Scott Sportster 60 2011 Hybrid Bike

Scott Sportster 60 2011 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(3 reviews) 3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 3 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
2 out of 3(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott Sportster 60 2011 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Scott Sportster 60 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IOWTY

Simply Great Value for Money

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the money, this bike is superb. It's light and fast and (so far) tough enough to withstand the lumps, bumps and potholes on my journey to and from work every day.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott Sportster 60 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mugshot
from Leicestershire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Some cheap finishes.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had the bike a few months now so felt better experienced to comment.
It's an OK bike and one thousand times better than my ageing Saracen that weighed a tonne, so the aluminium frame was something I was keen to have. Most of my riding is what you would call family cycling with my wife and 7 year old on a tag-along (not both of them, just the 7 year old).
The reason I dropped a star from it's rating is that I was disappointed by some of the cheap features included in the spec. Most of these I noticed when I took it out of the box. The handlebar grips are thin and mostly white. The first ride was uncomfortable on the hands and white grips are just not practical so I whipped these off and fitted some black comfortable grips with mini bar ends - Much better. The pedals are something I would expect to see on a budget Apollo kids bike quite frankly and have no facility for fitting toe-clips which I have been used to for years. These will be coming off soon and I shall treat myself to some clip pedals. The most disappointing thing though is the finish of the cranks. They are painted silver which has marked both quite badly just from my shoe catching on the way around. The cost of replacing the cranks is not worth it so I guess I will have to live with the scratches. Being someone who likes to keep things looking immaculate this is a constant niggle.
All in all it's a nice bike which is light and smooth and looks good. I would have paid another £50 to have better finishes on the things I've mentioned though.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott Sportster 60 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StormInATeacup
from Essex
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I started cycling on a more regular basis at the beginning of this year on an old mountain bike. Having survived a couple of long-ish charity rides, I finally listened to the advice of more experienced friends who have been telling me how much difference a new bike can make. After riding my new Scott, I can see they were right. I’ve only done about 100 miles so far, but the bike felt easier to ride as soon as I got on it. I’ve already notched up a few mph on my average speed without seemingly putting in any more effort. This is bike is quite light (I originally looked at the Sportster 50, but didn’t really need the front suspension so the lower price and lower weight of the 60 won me over) and is very comfortable to ride. It also looks good, especially for the price. My only groan would be the pedals – it is supplied with bog-standard pedals that developed a fault and I have since replaced these. Evans have provided excellent service throughout though; the bike was delivered quickly, took minimal time to put together (screw on pedals and handlebar and away you go), and they were also very helpful when it came to replacing the pedals. Although it’s best on the road, I’ve also used it over rougher ground and it holds its own, although obviously it’s not as sturdy as a MTB. Now I’m just hoping for a nice summer so I can get out and about on it as much as possible.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.