Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike

Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TWiddows

A great bike

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: saddle is hard...
After years of being off bikes i decided to go for this one as it had good reviews and it looks great.
I have to say im thoroughly pleased it and has far exceeded my expectations. It makes riding on flats an absolute pleasure and seems to fly em up hills with no problme at all. Ive taken it on bumpy tracks and it coped perfectly.
The brakes are brilliant and the gears change lightning fast and very smoothly.
Im no expert but i would highly reccomend this bit of kit.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gosbts
from East Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, good handling, good fun, good looking!

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: uncomfortable saddle
Purchased the Sportster 50 at the sale price because I fancied a hybrid option (over my road bike) for the Winter months. This is a good-looking sporty bike, v. stable, rolls well, and confidence inspiring at speed. It's reasonably lightweight, with an adjustable suntour shock provides measurable feedback. Shifting is what you'd expect at this price, bit noisy at top and bottom end of the triple range, but fine where you use it most. Ditched the stock transit pedals on arrival for SPDs, and it's 50/50 whether the stock Scott saddle will be staying (looks nice but not overly comfortable). That's the only negative though. Essentially: good fun, quick, simply detailed (like Scott styling anyway), and an effective shock to level out my awful local roads. For the money, it's been a very agreeable purchase that I intend getting a lot out of.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Newbike1234
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Scott Sportster 50 hybrid

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Not had a new bike in years and was recommended the sportster hybrid. Riding it was a dream as it was much lighter than previous mountain bike.
AS the reviews say the saddle and pedals need to go - so changed both.
Gears seem okay but brakes and suspension (even though Hybrid) both very good.
Overall very happy and would recommend to anyone getting back onto a bike who needs soothing for the road and canal, etc...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SYorks74
from Barnsley
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quality bike, value for money.

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, gear range good smooth transition.
Purchased as a reward for losing weight on an older bike - wanted a lighter frame, hybrid style for both daily commute and trail riding.
Upper end of my budget, but build quality and overall spec worth paying for.
Lightweight, good handling, really impressed with the V-brakes and wheels. The front suspension and supplied semi-slick tyres (700 x 37) were fine on trans-pennine trail surfaces, great on road, though I wouldn't want any narrower tyres for trail riding.
Whilst this at the lower end of the Scott range, it suits my requirements as a regular, but not expert cyclist, and is suited to a mix of road/trail riding and I've found it comfortable for both a commute to work and longer rides (up to 50 miles).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
carl1330
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Birthday Present

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this for my brother, he hasnt had a bike since he was a kid and i wanted a good entry level one for him. Spec is good, weight not bad, nice riding position and as he says 'i look cool as'!!! All in all we are very happy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gedh
from durham
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great bike

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, well engineered
I am absolutely delighted with this bike which I use mainly on the cycle tracks with only a very small amount of road use. It performs and looks great. Gear change is spot on and I like the brakes. Even the saddle is right for me. It is the perfect weight and feels well engineered throughout.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thebiker65
from Northants
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An amazing all round bike

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a good looking bike.
Goes well and gears are excellent.
Very light weight and fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve44
from West Sussex
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just a great bike!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I needed a new bike that was fast on roads but still able to handle footpaths and trails. I'm quite new to cycling so a very experienced friend helped me find the perfect bike on a £400 budget. We found it.
I absolutely love this bike. Effortless on roads in a straight line and still handles well on trails. Much more than I realised it would! There are not many hybrid bikes at this price that can really say they do both on and off roads but everyone I talked to said this was it. And they were dead right. Thanks Evans for all your help too. Big thumbs up.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scott Sportster 50 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katerina
from Fleet, Hampshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great bike!!!!

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: saddle not vey comfortable
I bought this bike for the weekends and it's been brilliant!!!!
Loving it, it's fast on the road and great in a forest too, very pleased with the purchase! I'm 164cm tall and I bought the Medium size following the sizing help on the Evans web page, but had to exchange it for a Small in the end as the frame is slightly higher then a regular mountain bike (that is mainly for ladies), It comes with all the reflectives lights too and a little bell which is very handy if u ride on a busy path..
The bike is light and the front wheel comes off easily if u need to fit it in a car or so.. The gears work smoothly with no problem. Only thing I had to change on the bike is the saddle and that's for more comfy one as the original saddle is a bit hard and small (not for my rear..) Otherwise a great, reliable and fun bike to ride!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.