Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Northwave Blade Headband

Northwave Blade Headband

Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Northwave Blade Headband
Review 1 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jubeman
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

warm but dulls the outside sound

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, warm on frosty mornings
Cons: hearing is slightly dulled
I read other reviews saying things like you can hear traffic etc easily with the small air holes.
Well, I think the headband actually dulls the sound and feels like your ears are blocked. And I can prove that because I have to turn up the volume on my ipod to hear the music when I have them on. Yeah I know, that's probably a safety issue on my part, but that's how I communte.
That said, i can stil hear the traffic ok, even with my ipod going. It's not *that* loud!!
Anyway, this is not a critism, but it was opposite to other ppl and I was expecting to hear my music better.
Main points: it keeps my ears warm in minus C temps, feels comfortable and looks good. I'm certainly happy with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacob56

Great for cycling

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Keeps sweat off my forehead while still keeping my head and ears warm. Not too bulky and fits nicely under my helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mrdjgordon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Noisy

PostedMarch 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice materials but holes around hears create a high pitched wind noise when riding. Unusable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
booman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good fit

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
good for on bike and at work with hard hat in cold days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darrenov
from Mexico
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best headband ever used

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
If you're planning on getting a headband for the inconvenience of sweating and being unable to see, this item is a must. It has the right tightness so you won't feel being squeezed or you won't suffer from headaches. This product covers your ears too which is a big plus in those chilly days and in case you don't want them, they can be simply folded and still wouldn't pose a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
r30ser
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Pleased

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I was not sure at first that this would be suitable. It was quite tight, and gave me a headache. I stretched it a bit before proper us, and it was perfect. No cold ears, no headaches. It even keeps your head abit warmer on those colder days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quoc
from Melbourne, Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
it very much does what it it suport to. However, its ears holes are exellent safety issue as I can still hear comming car and albe to comuinicate with other riders in ridding group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMK19
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is great....keeps my ears toasty warm, is very comfortable and i can still hear everything around me. Very happy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scallywag
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The best headband ever!

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
When cycling I have to cover my ears - for whether the weather is hot or cold my ears always get sore. I have wasted so much money on so many different types of headbands. Trying to find a headband that fits comfortably under my helmet,that isn't too tight, that isn't too loose, that keeps me warm when its cold and prevents me getting too hot when the weather is warm - well I found it, The Northwave Blade Headband. Totally fantastic, couldn't recommend it enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nasher78
from Cornwall
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Money well spent

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not designed for larger heads
After several trips around Cornwall's coastline into chilling easterly breezes and getting "ice cream headaches" I decided to get some sort of under helmet protection. After much deliberation I chose this item and I have not been disappointed. The headband fits me perfectly and certainly helps keep my head warm. It's got clever little holes where it sits over your ears which allows yoy to hear traffic and other noise without leaving your ears cold. The headband itself is pleasing on the eye and also has some reflective print at the back which helps to be seen when riding in the dark. All in all a great headband. One word of advice, my head circumference is 59cm and it fits properly, if yours is bigger it will be a tad tight or smaller and it would be likely to slip out of place.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northwave Blade Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DiamondBack2010
from Crawley, West Sussex
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Beat Cold Ears

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just purchased this as my ears felt they were going to drop of in the cold. It does what it says it will and keeps my ears nice and warm, fits well, and under helmet even seems to keep head warm. Only slight down is that wind noise seems to be increased, but that is small price to pay for warm ears.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.