Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike

Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great bike at a good price

PostedMay 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great bike at a good price. Does exactly what its supposed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Al249

Excellent, reliable entry level hybrid

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first bike for commuting in London and have found it to be excellent. Also took it on the coast to coast trek and had no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JWeidner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

i love this bike!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had the 2009 version of this very bike back in the States and had to sell it when I moved away from graduate school. But moving here it was clear that biking was safe and a great way to get around. So when I saw a good deal on the Evans product I bought it right away. In fact, I got a better price on the new bike (though it was last year's model) than what they were going for on Ebay. How awesome is that?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JakeytheDog
from Cheshire UK
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great bicycle perfect for everyday riding

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for a while for a bicycle to replace my trusty ten year old mountain bike. A colleague recommended Evans where I came across this excellent machine, ideal for riding on country lanes and the odd trails (disused railway lines). It’s also ideal for accompanying my Grand Daughter who's seven. If you're looking for a bicycle for the weekend, look no further.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpikyB
from Greater London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Spent lots of time researching what I thought would be the bike for me, and after reading all the postive reviews of this bike, I took the plunge.
It's proved to be a great purchase, nice and light frame, excellent gear change and just fun to ride.
Very impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
finn1
from Pinner London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A great trekking to work bike

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good value for money bike. I commute 12 miles a day with the trek 7.2 FX and have not experienced any problems. I keep up with my fair weather road bike users with ease and I am sure most of them paid a lot more money for their bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
littlemoley
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

This is a great bike at great value.

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a lightweight bike that is of exceptional value. It is good quality and is a pleasure to ride.
I love riding it and would recommend this bike to anyone.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BucksWasp
from Wendover, Bucks
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great, but change those tyres!

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
Cons: rubbish tyres
Brought the previous years model under the bike to work scheme. Much faster and lighter than my old MTB.
However I would ditch the tyres it came with asap as they punctured on my first ride in (on dedicated tarmaced cycle path)
Good fast bike
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonnyboy77
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Bike

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike for commuting. Can I just say how fantastic it is. I had a mountain bike before this and this piece of machinery blows it out of the water. For £320 this is a bargain. Picked mine up from St Pauls, staff incredibly helpful.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WorldofPeach
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value hybrid bike

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike because, although I already had road and mountain bikes, I was looking for something between the two to take on a month long tour of France in June 2012, heading South to North. Having read through lots of reviews this one seemed to strike the right balance between value and quality. I was not disappointed.. It gives a comfortable almost effortless ride whatever the gradient and I am fully confident that it will make my journey across France memorable. Service and supply could not be faulted either - very quick and efficient.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sicub

Great ride.

PostedApril 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Wanted/needed a new hybrid bike, mainly for fitness. Shopped around for a week or so before finally deciding the Trek 7.2 was the best choice for me. Especially for the money; it's a real bargain! It rides really well and is surprisingly light so you can average fairly high speeds. I bought the bike hoping I'd get lots of milage out it and I think I made the right choice here.
As a good 'all-rounder' this bike is top notch, especially if you're looking at spending a moderate amount of money; like me.
The seat is a little uncomfortable at first, so padded shorts are recommended until you get used to it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silviacv13
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Happy with my decision

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I haven't ride in ages, so when I decided to take the challenge to cycle to work I had no clue whta bicycle would be suitable for me. I wanted something easy to ride and confortable, but good quality cause I have to tide 8 miles each way everyday.
They recommend me few bikes and eventually i gamble and I took the Trek 7.2. I am really happy so far, the bike is very light, easy to move around, and comfortable.
It is a hybrid, so the posture is more uprigth than the racing bikes, but it is not as heavy as the road bikes.
All in all, a good choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrssuv
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Loving the Bike!

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Iv only been out on my bike a handfull of times due to the school holidays! But so far Im loving the bike, its light, fast & the gears are easy to use. Im find the tyres good too. I have read previous reports on poor tyres. I bought the bike in the sale although it was still quite expensive im really thrilled with it. My only niggle is the gears slip between 1-2 & a slight hum when i peddle in 2nd gear, but I will go back for the 6 week free service & get these ironed out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CS7Cyclist
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Effortless Commuter Bike

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This bike was a prize and I love it! It has turned my 11.6 mile commute into a pleasure rather than a slog even on windy days. Gear changing up and down along the hills and traffic lights of Cycle Superhighway 7 is easy and so is negotiating the muddy, stoney track at the end of the ride home.
Unfortunately the front tire was installed the wrong way round which made for an interesting spray pattern in the rain but hopefully that will get sorted out on the first service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Riton
from Hook, Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My wife enjoys cycling again

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We bought this to replace my wife's 10 year old Trek mountain bike. She had lost the interest in cycling because her old bike was very heavy and not adapted to her needs.
With this one, she has a renewed interest in cycling and we can finally have family rides.
What has made the difference for her, apart from the weightlessness is the bigger and narrower wheels which allow her to go faster with less effort.
The build quality and equipement is great too but then you'd expect this from Trek!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tungsten
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much more enjoyable than the gym

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I try to keep in shape and purchased the Trek 7.2fx as an alternative to the cardio and weight routine that my gym provides.
I bought the Trek because of its price and due to it being a hybrid, that encompasses all of the best aspects of a road and mountain bike in one package.
I fitted my purchase out with a rack and a couple of panniers within the first couple of weeks. I also bought a two man tent for camping and hiking purposes. When the bike is fully loaded with these items it holds a futher 20kgs which it can handle quite easily.
It is a joy to cycle from the outskirts of Manchester into the heart of the Peak district and to set up camp once there. The trek copes with most terrains, be it roads, canal towpaths or old railway lines that have been converted into cycle paths such as the Monsail trail or the Tissington trail in the Peaks.
I would however recommend that any individual that purchases this product change the saddle if they are to commute for long periods of time due to the firmness of the apparatus.
In conclusion, a product that is good value for money and a much more enjoyable way of keeping in shape. The English countryside is a much better canvas than the four walls of any gym.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jodabro
from Solihull, West Midlands
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Sound Investment

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, given me a new hobby
I was looking to upgrade my Mountain bike to one more suitable for commuting. The guys at Evans Cycles in Birmingham were very helpful, and shared their knowledge and experience in helping me to make my choice. The Trek FX 7.2 has proved to be perfect for me. I mainly cycle on road/cycle paths, with the odd jaunt along the canal tow path. This bike is ideal. It is fast and smooth in gear change. I noticed that some reveiws contain complaints about the saddle. I find it to be quite good. In the past I suppose you would describe me as a `bit cyclist`. I have really got the bug now, cycling has become a great pleasure on this bike. Looking forward to some great days out. I`ve only had it a week, but have used it every day. The gear change system is smooth, effective, and precise. The gear ratio makes inclines a breeze, and as I said earlier, this bike can really move! It is a very light bike, and so easy to handle. A real joy to ride. Definately one of my best purchases.
Well pleased!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Trek 7.2 FX 2011 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hackneyrider
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great all rounder

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought the previous version of this bike on the bike to work scheme. After a few commutes and a couple of training runs, we headed off on a John O Groats to Lands End trip, which we just completed in 13 days.
It is a great commuter and with a rack and panniers you can go anywhere on it. I come from a mountain bike background so this bike for me is quick, I had heard good things about Treks, and to be honest unless you're really going to hammer it I dont think you'd need any better components.
It takes everything you can throw at it in its stride, and we had a great time on our trip watching the other end to enders on 1k plus bikes, doing it no faster or better than we did it. only problem i had on a 950mile cycle was a tear in the rear tyre... but thats more to my poor maintenance than anything!
A great mid range purchase, would recommend to anyone!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
slightlywobblycyclist
 
Please wait while more information about slightlywobblycyclist is loaded.
Additional information about slightlywobblycyclist could not be loaded.
suprisingly comfy!
Posted September 25, 2011
I recently bought this bike from the Leeds store and so far so good. The staff in store, as usual, were very knowledgeable. The lady who helped me was very laid back and not pushy at all which i liked.
The bike itself is very comfortable to ride, I have gone from a Trek Navigator 200 (which is like an armchair!) to this, and am pleasantly surprised. The ride is more upright which I find more comfortable, and the seat, though looking not very nice, is actually springy/soft enough to stop me whinging.
I have bought this bike for a 7 mile commute along CS7 in London, which is far quicker now. I also think I look quite sporty!
Fits a back rack on, but I bought a M (i think 17") and some racks are slightly too wide so it's best to try out first.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)