Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike

Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lewis25
from Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

An excellent beginners hardtail

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I tried a GT Avalanche 3 Disc, Jamis Durrango 1 and Specialized Hardrock Sport before going with WMB's review for this one. A good lightweight bike. Easy to use. A much better fork than most at this level. Do go for the red one. It makes me grin from ear to ear as soon as I open the garage door! Also choose to buy from the store. You can get a test ride and the benefit of face to face personal advice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martinwelsh
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

excellent quality for the price

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent quality for the money. I bought this bike based on previous reviews and followed the advice on the pedals. I ordered a set when i purchased the bike and they came fitted when i picked the bike up. I mostly use red trails and i think after 6 outings that the bike is more than suitable for this. I bought the red and white model, looks ace! There may be cheaper options out there but i believe that you get what you pay for and with this you will get an excellent quality bike that should last the average user a lifetime.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tigerboy
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good all round bike which will give my chance to progress and give me many years of service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trooperski
from Aviemore Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I`m really impressed with this bike , out of the box I've had it on some pretty tough tracks here in Aviemore and it has handled everything so far . One thing i don't like is the pedals , I've changed them but all in all a top mark bike .
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swisshills
from Switzerland

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Like the bike, use it for cycling to work, but need to get myself some better road tyres.
Great service from evans, bike arrived within a couple of days ready to ryde.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deserthead
from North East England
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Fabulous buying experience

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, tool kit included
Spent over 2 hours test riding 6 bikes around the car park. I must have been the nightmare customer but Tom at York grinned and beared it. The bike I eventually chose (Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc) was not in stock i.e. my size. I ordered the bike on Wednesday PM and by the time I got home I had an email thanking me for my order. Thursday AM got an email saying my bike was being built, Thursday PM I got another email saying my bike was being dispatched. Friday morning my bike arrived, tightend handle bars, put peddles on and I was away. No issues whatsoever with brakes or gears. I was aware they stated 3 to 5 working days but a very happy customer. Evans cycles are very professional outfit with excellent customer service. I would recommend this company to all. VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER that will return when my family want bikes or even an upgrade in the future.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike87
from West Midlands
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid but light, good VFM

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: peddles
I wanted a light bike with smooth gear transition, hydrolic dics brakes and front sus at a reasonable price. This bike fulfiled that criteria. The bike handles exceptionally well, i first went out in dry conditions to the Cannock Chase MTB trail, I immediately noticed the difference such a light frame made to the ride: I was faster on both ups and downs and got lift real easy. Second time I went out was to the Betws Coed MTB trail in pouring rain, bike handled eaqually as well, although did have trouble with the peddles: I think for the quality of bike the peddles could be of the same standard, but equally they have now been changed for SPDs.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Borntoride
from West Bromwich
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The right choice

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought the Hardrock pro through the ride to work scheme because getting to work on my Boardman road bike can sometimes be a little hard going on some terrible road surfaces going to work. Did a lot of research and eventually decided on this rather than a Kona. If, like me, you want a mountain bike with a good high gear that won't leave you pedaling furiously, needing to change up a gear, then choose this one. The 44/11 top gear by far out performs the poor 42/12 top gear on the entry level Hardrock and on the Disc bike. The Sport Disc carries a 42/11 top gear. The lockout on the fork is an absolute essential for use on the road to obtain a speedy commute. On weekends turn off the lockout and hit the trails. I did and now on weekends I feel 15 again and not 40. This bike does not disappoint either on or off road. Excellent brakes, gears, saddle, even the pedals I had were not the cheap nasty plastic ones on the other models. If you are going to buy a Hardrock, choose the Pro for all these reasons and be happily satisfied you made the right choice. (I bought the red/white version, Online picture doesn't show it's true beauty).
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deelightening
from Herts
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The original pedals with the bike are rubbish, changed them and went for MTB pedals. Apart from that all else is good. Took it for a first ride and really gave it a kicking and boy can this bike handle it. Thought i couldn't get up a steep incline, but i was surprised it made up there very quickly. Good also for ridding on the road for normal commutes. Definitely a bike that will last for sum years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kingtommytom

Great bike, but slow tyres

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: slow tyres
I love this bike. The ride is smooth, the brakes are amazing and everyone agrees that it looks great.
The only downside in my opinion are the tyres, which are not 'fast rolling' (as described in the brochure) but are actually incredibly slow on roads/ gravel tracks- they are probably the slowest tyes I've had on any of my mountain bikes and they sap your energy in no time!
However, since I've changed the tyres I'm very happy with this superb, lightweight, high-spec bike and I would thoroughly recommend buying one!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DHTurbo
from Kent
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Lovely setup, dissappointing forks!

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, lockout lever problems
I recently got the opportunity to test ride this Specialized for some time at one of the Evans stores.
First off, I'll start with the forks. The SR Suntour forks on the Pro Disc were less than impressive at the price, with a harsh preload (even adjusted to the minimum) and rebound (no adjustment available). Despite this, the 80mm of travel it did have was well controlled, although had a clunky feel over larger bumps. Also, the lockout lever coming off seems to be a problem from other reviews; unsurprisingly the lever was missing from the bike I test rode.
Next, riding geometry. The Specialized really is fantastic in this aspect, it fits like a glove. The ride is quite comfy and the saddle absorbs alot of the harsh feedback from the bumpy ground, meaning you could happily ride this bike for some time without feeling uncomfortable. The handlebars were a nice length so as to give you quick steering, but they didn't give you as much confidence as wider bars.
The drivetrain was fantastic on this bike, gear changes are short and snappy and the ratios are perfect. The brakes were also very nice, very powerful but not too sharp - nice and progressive so that you had the control you needed.
Overall, the Pro Disc is a great starter bike, very fast and lightweight, let down by a fork which isn't up to standards. Despite this, the bike felt well built and the rest of the componentry is great, so it would be worth keeping the bike and simply upgrading the fork when it wears out.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris0uk
from Ipswich
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

New rider

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I did a lot of research prior to purchasing this bike and I can say it has paid off. The hardrock is an exceptional entry level bike for anybody wanting to get back in the saddle. I have only been riding it for two weeks but it seems to cope with anything I throw at it be it the sandy track, gravel, mud or Tarmac in both wet and sunny weather. The gear shifting is smooth and the bike reacts according to where I shift my weight. Like other reviewers the only comment I would say were the pedals which look like the budget had run out but these are easy to change other than that an all round great purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlackSeed
from London
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Awesome all round bike.

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently purchased the HardRock Pro Disc, and use it for both commute and weekend adventures.
In the month I've had it, have thrown it down some solid trails and has handled everything I've been able to dish out. I'm more than happy with the fork for the level of riding I do (and was always considering hard tail). Disc brakes have bedded in nicely, and the saddle is fine. The weight is great too. Have had some gears skip on the rear derailleur, but I think some adjustments will sort it.
From a commute perspective, I think its second to none. There will be people on road bikes wondering how a MTB can get so much acceleration and speed, and can endorse the previous posts comments on versatility and speed of the FastTrak tyres. Its on par with my old hybrid for speed.
Adjustable fork lock out is handy, but I seldom use it preferring to deal with the London roads with the smoothness provided by the fork.
Recommend putting on some clipless pedals.
If you end up getting this you'll enjoy it!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SHRPRedrocks
from Switzerland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice ride

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: needs a pedal upgrade, low ground clearance
I am a recreational trail rider, with a mix of downhill thrown in.
The Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc has (so far) handled everything I've thrown at it with ease. Strong and relatively light frame makes the hill climbs bearable, while robust enough for a little abuse, with great control. It took me a few rides to adjust, as it felt a little light, and did jump around a little, all is good now. Just watch out when on variable terrain, as the clearance of the frame/pedals is not so great and can catch you out if you are not paying attention.
I am quite happily surprised by the fast Track tyres, excellent for the road trips, and around town, but grippy enough for the trails I've tried out so far (we will need to wait for some wet track to re-evaluate). As recommend with other posts, an upgrade in pedals is in order, but that aside, get on and ride, it is a pleasure.
Although not everyones taste, I chose the red machine, looks good and stands out from the back in black crowd.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1ten

Very Pleased

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: locking lever flling off
After not riding a mountain bike for a few years, only road bikes, I got this model after it was recommended by a mountain biking mate. For the money it is an excellent bike for trail riding and a bit of moderate downhill. The locking fork is a nice touch when on the road and the gear changes are pretty slick.
The only drawbacks seem to be the fork locking leaver fell of almost immediately and the pedals will get upgraded very soon, but this could just be me as I am used to clipping in.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gaz7216
from new quay, west wales
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brilliant bike

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i bought this bike to get back in to riding ,to ride xc and trails . i used to ride jump bikes and a bit of downhill around 6 years ago, so i wanted a good value bike that would take a bit of stick, and i havent been dissapointed, the bike is nice and light, brakes are spot on, forks work well, lock out on them is a good feature, especially for the dreadid up hill climbs.i have so far done around 30km on nant yr arian and brechfa and the bike has been spot on. the only thing i would recomend is an upgrade on the pedals as the standard ones arent up too much at all, although would be fine for light use, but anything more than that can result in a few hairy moments(feet slipping off).fork upgrade might be on the cards later on, but is not essential.
i am glad that i didnt go for any lower spec bike, it is good value and will do the job on most trials. im 6ft and went for the 17inch frame , perfect size if you like to chuck the bike around a bit.very pleased with the purchase, would highly reccomend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynchy
from Darwin, Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
For the money paid, this in an excellent choice for intermediate mountain bikers. I am only an amateur mountain biker who rides trails on the weekends with mates. This bike is perfectly suited and works very very well.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave2010
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Brillant bike

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Had bike years, been off road weekly,great climber
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hintzy
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

my new bike

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike was a good buy, i got it after not riding a mountain bike for a short time. Its a great looking bike, nice ride all together a good bike a think.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc 2011 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fent
from west midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great bike that won't break the bank

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
bought one of these a couple of months ago on the cycle to work scheme. It's a great ride, so much better than my old claud butler.
It's used on cycle paths in the week and over cannock chase and other red grade routes on the weekend. I have changed the tyres for something more suitable for mud, pedals changed (spd's)and I am now thinking that the forks would also need an upgrade. after 2 weeks the knob to lock the forks out fell off. Specialised offered to change the forks which they did and the new ones lasted 1 red trail before the knob fell off again. If you are going to be doing more than a daily commute you may want to budget in a set of rockshox. Apart from this though I am very happy with the bike considering its' price and would recommend to anyone for light to medium use. Also, Specialiseds' customer service seems very good.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>