Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 224 reviews
5 Stars
143
4 Stars
76
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
221 out of 224(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 123 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Review 121 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hyster
from Perth (Aust)
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to read and operate

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy operation, easy to read
This computer has a larger screen which makes it easier to read while riding. It has all of the basic functions that most riders need. The display can be changed with a single click of the button which also makes it easy to operate while riding. The computer can be easily installed on the handlebar or stem. I prefer the stem as it keeps the handlebar clear and the display in line with the rider's sight. The setup instructions are alright but could be simplified.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
aardvark
from Shropshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
My only complaint with this product is with the attachment to mount the computer to the bicycle. It uses the sort of cable tie that are not reusable, therefore if you want to put the computer on a different bike, you'll need to buy more cable ties. A better quality mount would be better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Puffing
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple to fit, cheap and works well.
Easy read display, even in low light.
Great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
odessouky
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Does the job

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Very clear display.
Wish it was illuminated when things get dark.
Seems to be rain proof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JackAttack
from Derbyshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Purchase

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Overall this is a great product. It has all the basic functions you need - current/average/maximum speed, distance, and time. It also tells you if you are going faster/slower than the current average, which is quite a nice feature. I really like this product, and would definitely recommend it. One thing I should mention: when setting it up, it's really important to make sure that the magnet on the spoke come very close to the sensor mounted on the front forks. To do this, you'll probably need to angle the sensor, so that it is pointin towards the wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gardo
from North west London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateyetastic value !

PostedJune 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a brilliant computer and is so easy and quick to set up it is almost childs play whilst providing real value for money.
From getting it home to being on the road was about 15 minutes.
Simple to use with basic but more useful functions that would suit any type of biker from a basic every so often rider to the daily every day user.
It looks stylish and sits nicely on the stem or the handle bars without being to obvious or bulky.
I'm totally happy with this product, the cost and would reccommend it all.
Rich, London
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ReturnedRider
from Hampshire
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good buy.

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit easy to use easy to read.
my first wireless computer, it seems to be as accurate as previous hard wired ones. A few minutes to set up for wheel size, time etc. Ten minutes to fit on the bike.
Large numerals and single button operation simple to scroll through functions on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jparky
from Lake District
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says it should do!

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit and simple to use. Too early to check reliability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RussG
from West Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good buy

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: can't see all the information on one screen
Simple to attach to the bike and easy to follow steps to setup. Its one button to scroll through the different screens showing average speed, total distance, trip distance, etc.
The fact that you can't see all the different screens at the same time is a bit of a pain but overall for the price its a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buzz27
from herts
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
great little gadget does just what i wanted as ive justed started back on my bike! very accurate and very easy to use , 10mins to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bha33
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and Great Value

PostedMay 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to use
Very pleased with the computer. Prior to choosing this model I did look at the more expensive options that included cadence and heart rate but decided they weren't vital and would cost a fair bit more. The device was easy to fit and took about 15 minutes to setup.
The display is clear when cycling and very easy to switch between functions and reset at the end of the ride. It also has the arrow that shows whether you are above or below average speed which I find as an incentive to go faster.
If I had one very slight gripe it is that the computer doesn't look as stylish as some of the other Cateye devices that I have used over the years.
Overall very pleased with the computer; it's wireless, reasonably priced and very easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulThe6th
from York, North Yorks
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great Value, Easy to Set up, Perfect for my needs

PostedMay 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to set up
I saw that this product had a good lot of positive reviews on the evans cycles website so went to pick one up from the leeds store.
Got it home, pulled out the massive instructions sheet and found the english section. Quite simply, fit the sensor to one of the front for legs, fit the magnet to one of your spokes so that it almost touches the sensor as it passes, turn on the computer and tell it what wheel size you're running, set the time, choose between miles or kilometres and away you go...
It really is that simple. I was a bit unsure as to whether the sensor might come loose from the fork leg as I had to mount it at a bit of a perculiar angle so that it could sense the magnet but it's still there after 26 miles of bumpy trail riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PO8man
from Hampshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

PostedMay 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple to fit, simple to use. Provides the basic functions that I was after at a decent price. Good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mackemallez
from Sunderland
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin...

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
At this price point you get all the functions you would want and expect from a cycle computer. If you want more features then part with more cash, but for the amateur rider this certainly will suffice.
Setup was very simple with clear instructions.
The comp itself looks good, is easy to use (single button operation), and the large digits allow for easy reading when the winds are blowing and the heavens are open.
The wireless feature makes the computer look better than the average wired alternative and also makes it easier to setup, without affecting the quality of the service it provides.
Would definitely recommend this to a friend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pompeypaul
from Oxford
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Computer. GREAT!!!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
First computer for me cant find anything wrong with it. Easy to set up. Great purchase!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RedSilverDog
from Essex Coast
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value and easy to use

PostedMay 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is an excellent cycle computer. It's realy easy to set up and install. I bought one for my son and one for myself. Twenty minutes later and both were installed. Both bikes have suspension forks and no problem. All in all about 20 mins work and job done. The only criticism I have is in the set up. I had a real problem setting the tyre size on both units. Everything else was a doddle. If it had not been for this one detail I would have given 5 stars.
The display is very clear and it has all the displays we needed - Current speed - Average speed - Maximum speed - Trip duration - Trip distance - Total milage (or Kms!) and a clock, all on one button. There are also pace arrows comparing your current speed to your average.
Very easy to use on the move and sits neatly on the handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
patbike61

Cateye Cycle Computer

PostedMay 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I find Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer this item is very good, and works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from S. Bucks
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

affordable, straightforward technology

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
cheaper and easier to use than my first cat eye the velo wireless is a great buy for most cyclists. Useful information, clearly displayed. I'm very happy to have bought one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicki
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good stuff

PostedMay 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product for its price range. Easy to fit and easy to set up and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wooger
from Banbridge Northern Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does exactly as you would expect

PostedMay 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my second cat eye for my new touring bike. The old one on my mountain bike is wired and working well after about five years use. This one being wireless was easy to callibrate and fit. About 10 mins, between reading the instructions and fitting it. After two hundred miles it performs well , its easy to see and to reset.
Another good product from cat eye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>