Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer

Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer

11 Function analogue trip computer with auto start stop and wired cadence function.
Overall rating:
3.838 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
1
28 out of 37(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LarryDavidJr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, read reviews for installation advice!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
For the money this is a great computer. I was a little wary of having a wired at first, but the wireless ones worth having are digital, and they are more than double the price, so I thought I'd start out with trying this one.
First, the bad points, though they are minor:
- They don't supply enough cable ties in the pack to have enough left over to tie the cable to the bike. I had to purchase some extra ones.
- The 'Y' splitter where the wire goes into two (one for cadence, one for speed) is very weak, and the plastic wire sleeve came away from it almost straight away, exposing bare wire (not good).
- The instructions show mounting the speed sensor on the front fork, which is nonsense as because of the Y splitter mentioned above, there is only a short length of cable to the two separate sensors. You should mount both on the chainstay (non-drive side).
- The instructions also give dodgy advice about sensor placement. The sensor part seems to be in the end of the sensor unit, rather than in the middle, so you'll probably find you need to line up the magnets/sensors so that the magnets pass the ends of the sensor units.
You can get over these niggles though.
To help with better grip of the cable ties, and to provide extra protection for the exposed wires from the shoddy Y connector, I cut up strips of old inner tube and wrapped/stretched them round the points I was cable tying. This provides a better grip for the cable ties and prevents slippage.
I also wrapped a few times round the Y connector with insulating tape beforehand.
In use though, it does what it says on the tin. A nice big display for the speed, and a selectable display for cadence, distance etc. I've had no problems so far, and it can really improve your technique when you can monitor your cadence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gazcaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, easy to use

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, quick fitting
Cons: no backlight
Please note this computer does not have a backlight, shame as that is the only thing I can mark it down on. Otherwise Great bit of kit.
Straight forward installation, just ignore the instructions as this can only be fitted to the rear chain stays due to the cables being to short, it took less than 15 minutes to fit, with no problems setting the magnets, very simple. Everything required is supplied including cable ties, plus the unit can be mounted on the stem if needed.
Once fitted the set up was even easier, just select your wheel and tyre size, set the clock and your away, all displays are easy to read and the cadence function has helped me with my riding a lot.
Nothing more I can say about this product except that it does what it says on the box, fantastic bit of kit, which is highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
beanster2510
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

tricky to fit well, and looks messy

PostedAugust 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: poor instructions, messy to fit
i bought this as a cadence upgrade. the instructions show the speed
sensor as being mountable on the forks, and the cadence on the rear frame, in reality the cadence is mountable on the rear frame and the speed needs to be mounted on the opposite side of the rear frame, it is a very messy looking install (lots of cable ties), the speed magnet /sensor is very position sensitive, so needs some careful tinkering. but only having a few of the right size cable ties provided, means this can prove to be 'interesting'. ive set it up as best i can using my turbotrainer, i have yet to run it on the road......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ReignRiderColin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wired cadence

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive, wires
Ok for your training Bike if you don't mind messy wires zip tied to your Bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dax45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great piece of kit

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, ease of use
Great piece if kit.
Nice features, easy to fit and a bargain at the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ElGuapo70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Not good for a bodger

PostedJuly 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
While I am sure this is a good product it is not easy to fit if you are a bit of a bodger, like me. Better to pay a bit more and get the wireless ones that I have been able to fit succesfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perrier
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable and easy to fit

PostedJune 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
This is so far reliable. I have done 200 miles with it in rain and shine and it has worked perfectly.
The only bad points, and they shouldn't put you off buying this, are the instructions show you how to fit the sensors on the front wheel but they should be put on the back wheel. This is due to one cable coming out of the unit and splitting into two cables by the pedals. The other bad point, which might cause issues down the line is the cable shielding came away at the point of the cable splitting into 2, showing the wire. I have wrapped the cable in electric tape and it worked fine in the downpours I've cycled through.
Overall, it is good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supermotocross
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: fiddly sensor set up
Cheap enough and easy to use just a little awkward to set up sensors and wires.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Poland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bontrager Trip 3 for use on the Back Wheel

PostedApril 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable, poor design
Well, this is a very tidy looking bicycle computer and seems to be affordable whilst covering all the basics you'd expect to find for this price range.
The computer itself is small and fits very well with the provided tie straps. The display is a little dark and can be a bit hard to read at times of poor lighting.
I was a bit confused at the lack of thought in terms of the design of the wheel sensor. On a mountain bike the sensor can no way get close enough to the magnet on the spokes (Had to make a makeshift support for the sensor on the frame to reduce a gap of 20mm to 3mm).
Another issue is with the screw on the back of the magnet holder for the spokes. Once fitted onto the spokes the screw does not want to stay screwed in and it has already been lost on the road.
One last issue is with the length of the cable where it splits in two, one part goes to the wheel the other to the pedal to measure the revolutions. This wire length barely stretches to the pedal when fitting the other sensor on the back wheel. This may be fine when fitting to the front wheel though.
All in all, i wish i had gone for the wireless option but this would not solve the problem of the fittings to the back wheel. I would give this 4 stars but due to the hassle it has to be 2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elmathud

Clear display and accurate

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Handlebar and stem mounting (using cable ties) available.
5 minutes installation and setup, including reading instructions. Battery on sender unit was flat, Evans changed without fuss.
98% accuracy when compared to a coupe of GPS apps.
Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wallis100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Brilliant value for money

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, lots of functions
Brought as i needed a wired speedy to use for my rear wheel on a Turbo trainer.
It has replaced my wireless speedo on my race bike. The cadence function is great...
The temperature display, has given me things to think about on my last few rides (-1 degrres)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lwizzard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good useful product and easy to use.

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: mounting problems
I'd like to start by saying that this product is easy to use and good for the resonably low price. All the features work well and it does exactly what I bought it for, which was mainly for the speed and cadence functions. The fact that the speed sensor can be rear wheel mounted is useful for use on a turbo. The only negatice I would point out is that the cadence sensor could not be mounted close enough to the magnet in order to achieve a reading on the device therefore i had to place the sensor on some electrical tape on the pedal crank arm in order to make it work. Overall good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jailbee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall a good product

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: poor instructions
good product - does what is says on the label.
A bit fiddly to fit and the instructions are very poor
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bondy100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good functions

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bad start with poor fitting instructions, but once I had worked out how to fit it correctly it was easy enough. Fit on rear wheel, left hand side, away from chain. But now it is working fine, easy enough to scrol through readouts and cadence function is really useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MattJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

OK for the price

PostedJuly 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: computer is very good
Cons: cables are too short, magnets are too weak
I bought one of these from Evans cycles in Edinburgh mainly for the cadence function. I found that in order to fit the cadence sensor, I had to fit the speed magnet to the rear wheel rather than the front (due to the length of the wire) which is not exactly ideal for some frame styles. The problems with this unit - and the reason it only gets three stars - are the magnets, which are far too weak and flimsy for serious use. The instructions show the cadence magnet mounted at "1-3mm". I found that to make mine work at all I had to turn it around so that the magnet was as close as possible to the sensor (if the plastic housing faced the sensor then not even rubbing the two together would trigger the cadence meter), and use spacers to take the gap down to 0.5mm. When I can, I'm going to replace the magnets with some old DVD drive magnets.
These things being said, the computer itself works perfectly and does everything I expected of it. Just don't buy it if you're not prepared to fiddle around a bit when fitting it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hammer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Superb value!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I use this wired cycle computer on a turbo trainer and am really pleased with it. It's good quality and has very sturdy Y cable, serving cadence and all its other 9 functions. The head unit is relatively small but still has a nice large and easy to read display. At £19.99 you simply cannot go wrong with this cycle computer - highly recommended!
My only negative observation is that the installation instructions were poor, to the point that if you follow them precisely the magnetic sensors won't pick up the wheel and pedal arm magnets. The magnets actually need to pass close to one end of the sensors, not the middle of them as the diagrams suggest. That said it isn't difficult to fit with a bit of trial and error.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rich59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Very good value

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted to my turbo fixed bike easily. Clear and simple display.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PHL67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value for entry level cost.

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: more cable ties needed
I bought this to replace an old computer which had very minimal functions on it. This computer is quite easy to install and has worked extremly well giving me all the information i need. The cadence was easy to set up and so was the speedo side, all of which i have set to the rear wheel which i can then use on my turbo trainer and keep logging the miles.
Only thing i would say is you will need a few more small cable ties for the cables to keep it tidy which i thought would have been supplied. Only enough supplied to tie off half the cable, otherwise a fantastic little computer which works really well and gives you all the info you need whilst riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JT45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
as a very novice triathlon competitor i wanted to good value effective cadance monitor- found it easy to fit, its nice big screen, easy to use, cant fault it, well happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Trip 3 Cadence Cycle Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jeff38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

PostedMarch 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, flimsy magnet
With speed, avg speed, distance, time and cadence has all the functionality I need. However, cadence stopped working after a couple of weeks. I brought it back to Evans but they couldn't fix it and gave me a new one. This one lasted a bit longer but cadence died again after about 500 miles and I have had problems with the magnet on the back wheel as well. Great little tool if it works but unfortunately quite poor quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>