Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike

Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Review 1 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisSVK
from Bratislava, Slovakia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bike in this price range

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike from Evans just before the new 2011 range was available, but I can say that i am more than happy with my purchase of the 2010 model.
The bike looks superior to all those compacts out there, even my non-biking girlfriend was excited about the image of this machine!
Looks are not deceiving, as this bike delivers in terms of raw speed. I used the Evans measurement guide to work out to get a 58cm frame, which after using Compact frames for 10 years, did feel a little oversized, but you get used to it. I would say it is the perfect fit. As the ride is comfortable, not extending too far forwards, perfect for endurance rides or regular 50km+
This is an upgrade from my previous bike - Giant OCR 2 - running Ultegra, the difference between the 105 and the Ultegra is huge. No strange noises or delayed gear changes, just smooth as you like shifts up and down, even on long steep ascents.
My one disappointment is the tyres - i've managed a blow out a week since the start of summer (150-200km per week), so upgrade was required after the original Vittoria Zaffiro's got worn.
I was a bit unsure about the white bar tape to begin with, its not very practical on a bike - but a quick look at the pro peloton, and you'll see all the major teams running white bar tape. So despite being very impratical, it certainly helps make you look the part when riding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SimonPJ
from Cheshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Excellent

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I am overjoyed with my purchase. The bike is fantastic as I am new to road bikes
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
custard
from cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great buy

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
only had the bike a couple of months so have only managed just over 100 miles,due to snow/icy roads,but am well impressed with the bike.comfortable ride and decent equipment.a real step up from my old giro 500
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MuddyRutter
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

An excellent bike that combines comfort & speed

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, different
I needed a new bike to replace my beloved and comfortable old Raleigh road bike that had a Reynolds 531 frame.
My mountain bikes have been Specialized and I tried the Specialized road bikes at Evans Crawley but was encouraged to try a Fuji Roubaix 3.0.
It was much more comfortable than than the Specialized equivalents and I decided to go for a Fuji Roubaix 2.0. Sadly there were no more available in my size and I can see why. At £700 (August 2010) they would have been excellent value for money and had sold out.
I decided to go for the Fuji Roubaix 3.0 at £900, working on the theory that £200 isn't a lot of money over the long period of time that I would want to keep the bike for.
This turned out to be a wise decision as the extra £200 buys a lot of Shimano 105 running gear and the Roubaix 1.0 is half a kilo lighter than the 2.0.
I have had the bike for a month now and I love it. The colour scheme is great (having quickly binned the white saddle and handlebar tapes), and it is so much better than the drab silvers that Specialized were offering.
The important thing to remember (forgive me those that know this already), is the that Roubaix type of bikes are built for speed and comfort. The chap at Evans couldn't tell me what 'Roubaix' meant but I later found out that the Paris - Roubaix is a one day road race that in some parts takes place over cobbles. The winner is even given a cobble as a trophy!.
So to conclude, that's why this Fuji Roubaix is comfortable and sporty - it was designed that way. Doh!
Overall I reckon that the Fujis are a good £100 cheaper than the equivalent Specilaized. Build quality and finish is superb and I am a happy man!
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freddiethefrog
from Tokyo, Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Perfect middle entry level Road Bike purchase

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Coming back to road cycling after many years of interruption, I was looking for a value for money bike with enough specs to fully enjoy it without going all the way to the high-end stuff. The Fuji Roubaix 1.0 perfectly fits the bill for a regular leisure rider. Service from Evans Cycle was excellent with the bike shipped to Japan within 48 hours delivered within 96 hours ! UK VAT deducted !
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dubel
from Bucks
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Fantastic Bike -Great vaule & components for money

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Upgraded to this bike after an issue with my first Fuji - And what a bike
I am new to this sport and to be honest I couldn't of bought a better bike for value for money.
The bike is solid, fast and stable. It’s easy to ride and comes with a high component set for a bike under a thousand pounds compared to its rivals. It looks fantastic, opposed to many in this price range.
I have owned the bike for 3 weeks now and have been out on it three times a week without fail and have already clocked up well over 160 Miles. It holds up well with climbs and descents.
I would highly recommend this bike to any one, that is looking to spend under a £1000. If fact if your budget is £700 spend the extra money it is well worth it, you wont look back.....
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superted
from West Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Love it !

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first "serious" Road bike. I have had a mountain bike for many years and was starting to use it more and more on the road (charity rides etc.). Once I had a go of a friend's road bike - that was it...I was hooked !
This Fuji Roubaix 1.0 has filled all of my expectations. It's light, fast and great looking.
I don't have much experience of road bikes, so it's difficult to compare. But so far (over 200 miles), I have had no issues with this bike in terms of either relaibility, comfort or performance.
As one of the other reviewers mentions, the white handlebars did quickly become grubby looking, but I personally don't think this is a strong factor when choosing a bike. I was concerned about only having 2 front gears, but I managed to get up Ditchling Beacon without stopping, so if you know that hill, then I'm sure you don't need to worry !
Hope this helps you make the right decision. :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Grimsby
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great buy for under a grand

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: poor-ish tyre wear
This purchase was an upgrade that was forced on me due to a crash. What a great buy, feels very quick, handles well, and feels smooth even on the roughest of roads, of which there are many after the harsh winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robinb00
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

My first road bike....But what a bike!!

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike using the ride to work scheme after extensive research into components and build quality for the price point I was looking at. I needed a new helmet as I had recently been knocked off and I think the lid was damaged.
I test rode a Cannondale and a couple Felts but I always came back to this Fuji, the 105 gearing is solid as a rock and has not let me down. The frame is light and the power transfer from crank to road is excellent.
Although this is my 1st road bike I found the riding position to be racy but comfortable and it looks brilliant on the road as well.
The only downside is the wheelset as they are heavy, but I commute 7 miles each way every day so this is not a problem. If I start riding at weekends more seriously then I will invest in some lighter wheels.
Overall a great bike and I am very happy with my purchase, a pleasure to ride....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fuji Roubaix 1.0 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShadowDancer
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Stand out from the crowd

PostedMay 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The only problem with buying a bike above the £500 market is there is so much choice, it seems like it's a very hard fought battleground for the major names and brands. Picking a bike out of the masses is not that easy, it usually ends up to a choice of getting the best gearing and spec as possible, or one in colours you prefer.
Then along came this bike...
In it's price range the spec is hard to beat, and with the £100 off at the moment it is almost impossible and I spent a while looking around online to the point I was having nightmares about reading any more reviews and viewing more websites looking for my new ride.
The bike itself is stunning, and I mean eye turning, strangers stopping you and saying "nice bike" good looking. You know you are onto a winner when a policeman comments on your ride, heh.
The top tube is slightly triangular which is very eyecatching and a nice feature and adds to the nice lined of the frame. The colour scheme is subtle and seems basic but in person there is enough detail and graphics to keep your eye pleasantly busy for a while.
O.K, down to the more important details, it performs and does so well. It's agile and moves when you put the power down and stops on a 10 Pence piece when you need it to do so. Stiff and unflexing when you really drop the hammer but not overly so to the point of being uncomfortable, in fact I was suprised how much of the roads lumps and bumps get sucked up and ironed out by the Carbon forks.
Specwise most of the stuff on the bike is named and high end (for the price range), the parts that are not so far seem decent quality. & I'm saying that from clocking up so far in just over a week 210 miles with a lot more to follow I am sure.
Gears are bulletproof 105 from Shimano, brakes as I mentioned are responsive and do the job well when you need them.
I checked around and read reviews about the wheels as those were unknown to me and the feedback is somewhat even on comments, some people liked them and said they were tough as nails, others disliked them and complained they were too soft and went out of true very fast. As I said I have run them in and given them 200 miles on the road, and the road surfaces are not all smooth in my area, some are pretty bumpy and they have taken the punishment of hitting them at 20mph and above without so much as a flex, so no complaints on that score at all.
The bars and seat are comfortable and my only niggle with the bike is the fact white bar tape and a white topped seat was maybe not the best choice, already they are starting to look a bit grubby and how long it will be before that starts to annoy me and will make me replace them is not far off I am guessing.
In conclusion, why be among the multitude of Trek's, CAAD's and Orbea's etc when you can ride something slightly less common and far better looking (Also Fuji have a Pro Race team now so people can't claim it's an unknown brand, as it has history and racing pedigree too!), I put my money where my mouth is and even though I got back from a sun soaked 40 miler only this afternoon I am itching to go out and repeat it again already and will do so too! :)
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.