Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike

Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mikeaki
from Rochdale, Lancashire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Scott Sub 40

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I've got a Scott carbon fibre mountain bike that cost me crazy money but still cuts the mustard so I was naturally drawn to another Scott when I wanted a road bike. Didn't fancy an out and out racer as I like riding tow paths now and again with the kids but after too many years slogging a mountain bike on tarmac it was time for a change.
After several day's trawling the internet and the local bike shops I settled on the Sub 40..Evans had by far the best deal and having used them successfully in the past for small items I placed an order...the bike arrived two day's later, pedals and bars on in 10 minutes and off I went. It was love at first ride. Smooth, slick, fast and light...£299 is too cheap for this bike.
Style and colour are excellent...really looks the part in it's black and white livery and not being a component anorak all I can say is that the gears work, the brakes are keen and when you pedal it goes forward with minimum effort..and this was straight out of the box..!
Having off roaded for 20 years I must say that I did change the pedals to shimano spd's (bought from Evans at a bargain price) and the saddle is way too uncomfortable, but I am used to a flite on my mtb so it could be a personal thing.
A bit squeaky at the front end but the free 4 week check at Evans will sort this out....apart from that everything just works and it's a real pleasure to ride.
Been out and about for a week now and completed a couple of 10 milers then rode a 100k charity ride last weekend...awesome. Last year I slogged it out on my mtb, this year I cruised round with the 'real' roadies...smooth and fast. Just returned from an 18 mile loop I use with a serious hill climb and the bike flew round...really pleased with the handling and efficiency.
In a nutshell buy this bike if you want to smile every time you go out especially as you only pay £299..! Everything you need delivered almost as fast as the bike on a clear downhill...love it !
 
Products related to my review
 
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tom2010
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice bike...

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Pretty pleased with the bike. Came mostly put together, just pedals and handlebar to put on. Pretty easy. Very nice looking bike, fairly light too. Yes, the brakes squeal like mad in the wet, yes, the seat hurts, but it's a nice ride. My first brand new bike in a while, and first hybrid, so can't really compare, but handles well. Changed the pedals, but the original ones aren't bad. I'd change the seat, but it wouldn't look quite as impressive, and it's not really that bad, I ride with a pretty heavy rucksack, on bumpy roads, and it's not too uncomfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paree
from Leamington Spa
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best value I could find

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Enjoying getting back into cycling as fitness aid. After 20 plus years of, running, knee joints played up and ground to a halt. Tried gym then swimming (boring !) so eventually got old mountain bike out of shed and started doing 1 hour daily on local lanes. After 4 months fitness level transformed, lost weight and knees magically improved, so trawled net and thought Scott SUB 40 a steal at £299. Bike delivered in good time and well packaged.
Knocked 5 minutes off usual morning circuit without trying, bike is great to ride and only con is squeaky brakes. Might upgrade saddle and pedals, otherwise would give it 10 out of 10.
Thoroughly recommend to others and now thinking of new road bike for 2011. Happy cycling!
PS Last serious race bike, Ephgrave frame, Campag bits, purchased 50 years ago and cost £75 then. Think modern mass produced bikes great value and very well made.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neilh2069
from Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Met expectations and more!

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Without writing too much I can say that this bike for the money paid is excellent value for money. It is light, rapid and looks the business! I initially looked at buying a road bike but felt that that a hybrid was more me (no need for the lycra road cycling outfit!) and I am glad I did. This bit of kit is as rapid as a road bike and in my opinion is more comfortable for commuting. If you are reading this you are obviously considering this as a purchase and I urge to to get one bought, you won't be disappointed!
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Velocity
from Karlskrona, Sweden
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fits me fine!

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
About a month ago I bought a hybrid bike, a Scott Sub 40, from you. Now I have used it for citybiking as well as roadbiking and I must say I can´t complain in any plane. OK, I have changed the pedals, I have completed it with mudguards (that is necessary in Sweden in wintertime) but for the rest I think this was the best bike I could get for this money. A very good SUBstitute for my racer this time of the year!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dshep

Great!

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great bike. I've just upgraded from a mountain bike and use it for my commute. It's so much lighter and faster, and it looks the part.
I do feel like the seat could be more comfortable though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mikka
from Stockholm
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Sub 40

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike was shipped to me in Sweden where, though I was happy to set about fitting the front wheel and peddles, I couldn't help thinking that the bike my wife had ordered from Chain Reaction had arrived fully assembled. No great minus for Evans but as an inexperienced mechanic, I hoped that the things that I had put on would not fall off when I was in motion.
The bike itself is fantastic. It moves easily and swiftly. Gear changing is easy but, as has already been pointed out, a little clunky to begin with. This has either become less so or I have gotten used to it. Braking makes you stop when you want to. My rear brake also screams, which I quite like.
I fitted SKS Bluemels 35mm eaily and in no time at all - fitting similar to my wife's bike is still an ongoing project.
For the money, it would be difficult to find a better bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shiellsy
from Bamburgh
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great Bike

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
After reading the reviews before i bought the bike i held off writing this one. As one previous review quotes that the initial "Yay New Bike!" clouds the overall review.
So i have had the bike over a month now and i have very little Bad things to say about it!
For the price bracket it is a very decent bike.
Granted the seat hurt after a short while but soon as you get used to that its all good.
The only snag was the gearing and maybe only maybe could it be upgraded.
So if i were asked to reccomend this bike to anyone the answer is Yes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dubrider
from Dublin
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great little runner

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Firstly, thanks to Evans Cycles, based in Dublin and got bike delivered by UPS in couple days for just £25, bargain!
As for the bike itself, simple to assemble, looks eye catching and a smooth and fast ride. Used daily now for 4 weeks with a 15 mile round trip in and out of the city centre using roads/pathways/tracks and hard to fault the ride. Might upgrade the saddle to something slightly more comfortable but other than that, brakes are responsive and sharp, gear changes are fault free and bike itself is fast and light. A real bargain at £300, feels like a bike mnore around the £400 - £500 mark. Would recommend for fellow city/urban commuters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Northwest1
from North West
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Brilliant.......

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike as I have never had a hybrid before and needed a slick machine for getting to and from work instead of on my MTB. So saw this for sale on offer at a bargain price and took the plunge. Very slick and very fast bike, gears well and rides and looks quality and is a scott!! Not the lightest bike but still light enough and pedals without very much effort.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cuslund
from LLandudno
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

What a fantastic and value for money bike. A**

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
You will not be disappointed with this bike. It really is a briliant bike. Lightweight, extremely fast, strong, looks fantastic, just perfect!!! I researched bikes in this price range for hours, and this is the one i choose. I am not disappointed with anything! :-D
I have always enjoyed riding, not to the extreme levels of professionals, but i liked a good saturday 35-40 mile bike ride but have always used mountain bikes, because being 17 stone, I thought i needed a big metal full suspension bike. But, i thought it was taking to long, i honestly didnt know a bike could make such a difference to the speed and enjoyment of bike riding.
I ride round the Great Orme in llandudno at dinner time, (6 miles) and it is a really good test of a bike. Lots of down hill and up hill sections, rough sections and it took me 45 mins on my mountain bike. When the scott sub arrived, i immediately went round the orme, and it took me 33 mins.
The fact it has no suspension was a shock, as pot holes give your bones a good rattling, but i soon got used to that!
I really do believe this is a really brilliant, excellant built, but more importantly for me, a fun bike to ride.
Evans staff were friendly, helpful and its was delivered in 48 hours with all the bits and bobs needed to assembly! Thank you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wosy
from Croydon, London
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Super Bike

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased this as I have a Bianchi Carbon C2C which I use for cycle challenges of 50 miles plus, and have a Mountain bike I use at other times and during the winter months but this is a bit of a struggle, I wanted a bike for winter and summer riding that was light and fast for training and cycle challenges that are on more uneven offroad area's, and for a general run about, this fits the bill it is GREAT!!! have yet to do a long ride but so far so good, Plus ordered Wednesday ready to pick up from store Friday, all set up ready to go.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bombacci
from hertfordshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

great buy

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
quite light , very quick and the gear mechanism is very responsive ,the only drawback is that seat is quite uncomfortable but the bike is excellent value
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatjack
from Bolton
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brilliant buy

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first hybrid bike & purchase from Evans. Arrived in 2 days (excellent), 5 minutes to assemble (even for a numpty like me). After a long day at work rode home and this bike is everything that the other reviews say. Seamless gear changes, goes like the wind with minimum effort (4 mile trip that usually takes me 15 minutes on my old mtb took 8 minutes!). The tyres are fantastic, I even like the saddle, can't comment on the pedals as I fitted my own spds. I would recommend this bike to anybody for commuting or long road trips and would thoroughly recommend that you purchase it from Evans Cycles. First rate Company from order to delivery
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoxDaCosta
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Very Fast & Light!

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
That's a lovely bike to ride home/work in a city.
Looks great, it's veri light and if you want you can ride it very fast because of the big and thin weels with the amazing road Continental tyres. I would recomend it coz it's not an expensive pack!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thenuttyboy
from Lincoln
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quality bike

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Stylish bike that took me by surprise. Very light, but sturdy. Rides very smoothly and changing gear is a revelation - never known gears so slick. Brakes work well and riding position feels okay so far. Still got to get used to the seat and find the right position but so far reasonably comfortable. Proper test of ride comfort will come on a longer ride. First time owner of a hybrid and loving it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulbcfc
from birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

great bike

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
ive welcomed myself to the world of hybrid biking i went along to evans cycles and picked this model which arrived within 2 days (fantastic) the bike is great to ride just got to get use to the harder ride having no suspension but over all i am very pleased with my bike and can get some great speed and it feels sturdy too thanks evans cycles
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smirnoff
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Excellent Bike

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, no effort to cycle
Cons: saddle very hard
The bike arrived quickly and with only handlebars and pedals to be fitted. I got on it at once and even the gears were perfect. Full marks to Evans! It's a rigid bike with slick tyres, so leaning more towards a road bike than a hybrid and I soon had to replace the saddle as it was cutting me in half. Don't worry about the white handlebars, saddle and rims as you get used to it really quickly and you'll get loads of compliments on the bike. It's very stylish (more of a women's bike though - my husband says).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hanif

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, fast
on the whole the bike is good.
feels smooth and robust when riding and is fast too. seat is not too comfortable and the back break squeeles like a pig, maybe this will stop after a few more rides. breaks are sharp. the pedals are awful i suggest replacing them as they hurt your feet.gears are good.
would recommend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scott Sub 40 2010 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bicycle
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good for the price but the gears aren't great.

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable, drive train needs improving, breaks are noisy
For £300 it's an okay bike. I found the frame and forks to be a bit lighter than 6061 Aliminium framed bikes. The bike goes quite fast without putting any real effort into it, but that might just be me because I am upgrading from a 10 year old bike made completely out of steel.
The rear break pads sqeak alot when they are pressed against the rims but the Evans staff told me that's because the break pads are new and they need to be worn in. Another problem for me was the drive train. The drive train is pretty good but when moving down from 2 to 1 on the front mech it takes a while. This is because the drive train isn't the best in world but what do you expect from a bike of this price. From shifting to all others gears it's okay but can be quite jerky and not very smooth. I am going to upgrade my drive train to Shimano Deores for smoother and sharper gear changes.
I would also recomend getting a seat with more padding. It's not the best bicycle seat to be on.
Overall it's a pretty good bike that is worth the money. If the drive train is upgraded, the break pads didn't scream in pain, and the seat had a bit more padding then this bike would be excellent value for money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>