Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket

Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Review 1 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gedevede
from Oxford
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An absolute bargain

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, incredibly compact
This jacket is just the most convenient way to cover yourself for a change of weather. It weighs nothing and packs down into a very small stuff pack. It has been, so far, completely water and wind proof, allowing the freedom to layer as necessary for the temperature outside.
If I was going to be very picky, I have found the zip to snag unless you are quite careful, which can be a problem if you want to unzip while riding. Also, a bit more reflective trim might be an advantage in the darker evenings.
No hesitation in recommending this jacket to anyone cycling right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mombeman
from Milton Keynes, London, Chilterns
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Great raincoat. Been through some big big downpours and it worked. Packs ever so small and is just long enough in the body for me
Now test will be longevity of such a fine material; however, quality feels good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MIckeyK
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good and bad

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Packs really small which is great and has kept me dry so far in some heavy rain so can't complain. Odd shape though, I got a large and the arms are really long but the body is a bit too short, I keep having to pull it down. Designed for chimps maybe!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ridecraig
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Great breathable jacket

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Amazing jacket, should have spent the money on this and not wasted it on other jackets that claimed to be breathable and waterproof. Due to it's small size it now goes on everyride. Makes riding in the rain more bearable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hanlev11
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ideal for those unexpected rainfalls

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Slips into a small bottle size pack and easily carried in a rear pocket ideal for those days when you may get some rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HairyHighlander
from Aberdeenshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A decent jacket that does a good job of blocking out windchill as much as the odd shower. Packs away nice and neatly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LukeAD
from Northumberland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: could be a bit more breathable
Good, low-cost jacket. Folds up small. My ideal jacket would be a tighter fit and be a bit more breathable, but I'd have to pay a lot more to get that. This is good value for money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
icroadie
from East Midlands
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Light weight waterproof

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, breathable, compact pocket size
Cons: Expensive
After buying various cheap light, supposedly waterproof jackets, I decided to spend a bit more on the Pocket Rocket. Wise decision! It is light, very compact, waterproof and breathable. How long the waterproofing will remain durable remains to be seen but is excellent up to now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Icantcorner
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

I've bought another

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Did the Fred Whitton route with this tiny pack(red xxl} packed away under the saddle.Had to use it for the last 85miles in the wind and rain.It did all that they claimed it would.If it can deal with the Lakes weather,it's got to be worth buying,hasn't it?
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Manganaj
from Berkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Really can't fault it at this price!

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value
Cons: no rear pockets
So, I am now on my second one of these jackets, not because the first one broke, but because I managed to shred it by accident and was so impressed with the first that I had to replace it like for like.
I have just got back from a 300 mile cycle from London to Paris, and this jacket was in my back pocket or lashed to my stem at all times. Both well fitting and comfortable, this is a must have for any cyclist who needs to keep the wind or rain off. I mean, lets not get confused, this jacket wil not keep you dry if you get caught in a downpour, but that's not the point is it? It will keep the chill off the wind to stop you from cooling down too quickly, and it does it really well. I very rarely felt that I need to wear extra layers under this when the wind really picked up, and it gave me a nice warm feeling, keeping my heat in just enough to be warm without overheating.
The only negative is that there are no back pockets, but then again, that never caused me any problems as i just pulled the back up and reached into my jersey for what I wanted. If you feel that you really want the pockets then go and spend the extra money, but are they really needed/worth it???
At this price, and packing up as small as it does, you really can't beat this jacket!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lebossu
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good emergency waterproof

PostedMay 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: rides up
Jacket arrived and seems identical to my Ron Hill running waterproof!
Good quality and packs down very small but really needs a drawstring on the hem to stop it riding up. Fits me everywhere else but fails to cover my jersey at the back when on the bike (though not a problem when running)
Red colour nice & bright and plenty of reflective material to keep you visible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barhamboy
from Bexley
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Packs away super small

PostedMay 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Although expensive, this is a good quality item. Folds up really small and easily fits into your pocket. I used it recently on a sportive when it rained for an hour and my upper body remained dry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cyclerunner
from S Wales
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: un-generous sizing
This would have been the ideal "back-up" coat to carry in your back pocket in case your caught in an April shower. It packs down very small and is very light BUT it was no good for me. I'm 6ft 4in and this jacket was just to short in the front. I ordered the XL, but the front zip was only 59cm long (compared to 65cm on other Altura XL tops I have), so I sent it back. Some come on Altura - get some consistency in your sizing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PsychoSteve
from West Midlands
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
An excellent fit for roadies, folds up really small for the jersey pocket and has stood up to heavy rain and frequent tumbledrys. A great value rain jacket. Just wish they did them in other colours.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Pocket Rocket Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
road
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

wet ones

PostedDecember 15, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
This jacket comes in significantly lower in price than the Gore range. It is extremely easy to pack up into a tiny little bag, so I have not gone riding without it since I bought it. I find it is 100% waterproof, but of course in a real downpour water still makes it in down the neck. When it is wet it almost shines hyper-red that makes you feel like you're wearing a super-hero kit. It has elastic loops on the end for your thumbs but they are unnecessary, unless you just like putting your thumb through things for security. The jackets weakspots are a lack of pockets, meaning that whenever you stop in the rain you've got to take it off to get at your things underneath. The material also tends to snag in the zip if you don't zip it up carefully, and then it can be quite hard to remove. Finally, the cut is fine, as far as I'm concerned.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.