Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized S-Works Pad Set

Specialized S-Works Pad Set

Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 43(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Review 1 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sammy59
Country:Jersey
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pads

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: none
They are just the same as the old ones just not goosed come with all new Velcro pads too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wobblybus
Country:France
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great price, perfect fit.

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought this to replace my old one which had got pretty horrible after plenty of use.
Delivery was very fast to here in France, postage was free and just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OurDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

So so

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I have read in other reviews of people receiving a set of pads they perceive as being of superior quality to those originally included with their helmet. In this instance that is not the case. The grey pad that arrived was an exact match and replacement for the pad that was included with my S-Works 2D MTB helmet.
Being exactly the same, the pad is suffering the exact same issue as the old one - it is delaminating. The soft-touch material in contact with my head is peeling away from the foam beneath. I am bald/shaven headed so it might just be that being in direct contact with skin and sweat is not the optimal working conditions for the pad but I would expect a bit better. Interestingly, gently hand washing washing the pad to remove excess sweat just seems to accelerate the problem.
That said, I have pads in an old Bell helmet that do exactly the same thing so either I have particularly corrosive sweat or it is a common design challenge to make a pad that doesn't disintegrate.
Given that Specialized are just about the only brand of helmet that fits me properly (Bell changed their design) I am half tempted to make my own pads. Maybe I can improve the design and sell it back to Specialized...
That all said, the pad fits in the helmet as it should, was easy to install and works very well while it lasts. If you need a replacement pad for an S Works 2D then this is your only option at the moment so I am forced to recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stumpyevans
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Replacement Pad

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Not much you can say about a replacement pad set, apart from it fits and is far softer than the falling apart old pad it was used to replace. Needed to trim the front area with scissors to fit the headband strap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
dutts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sick of buying these pads

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
I had a giro helmet before this and I was able to wash the pad frequently. However, I wash this pad once and it disintegrates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mwebb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Refresh your helmet.

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Nice quick upgrade for renewed comfort. Does exactly what it says.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeEC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good replacement

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
If you tend to ride and lot and get a bit sweaty eventually the pads will wear out on your S-Works helmet. I put mine in the wash quite a bit and it lasted about 1 year with regular MTB use.
The replacements are a bit better made and fatter with more padding. It is a good feature to be able to replace them as it pretty much breaths new life into a great product.
For £5 postage free it's a no brainer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rolo1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than the Original

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great Item. My old one lasted years but started to fall apart and the velcro started to scratch my forehead hence the replacement. The new version is slightly thinker giving better comfort. The best feature on this version is that the brow pad wraps around the support on the helmet so it prevent the pad being pushed off the velcro pads each time!!!! New velcro pads are also supplied if requried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acass1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just like new

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, improvement on what they replace
A great way to freshen up my excellent but expensive S-Works helmet. A clean up with a baby wipe and new pads. Just like new! The new pads are better designed than the ones they replace. Comfier and look like they'll last well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wynnston

Does the job

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Helmet now feels like a new one - excellent product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhilRe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential spares for an S-Works helmet

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Inevitably the pads get worn so you will need spares, these are great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Siimv
Country:Estonia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than the one helmet came with

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought the replacement pads because the original one started to peel from the front. The new set of pads is way superior. Not only is the fabric sturdier, but Specialized has re-designed the front area in a way, that it protrudes a bit from under the helmet, making putting on the helmet a lot easier than before. Definitely will buy again if this one will wear out eventually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dennis73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A cheaper alternative to freshen up your SWorks helmet rather than buying a new one, feels like it did when it came out of the box !!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neil213
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what you need

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good replacement pads, with quality as you would expect from Specialized. Easy to fit/remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
speedygonzalas
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Works for all helmets. lost my last pads so used this one and it works fine. i dont have an s-works helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bernard1666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great item

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
After 2 years of use in long distance touring and cycle/camping the lining insert of my Specialized S-Works helmet was in very poor condition. However, the replacement insert was very easy to fit and is a better design than the original and as a result, should last longer. My helmet is now back to as-new condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
niceguysean
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than the original pads

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought these when the original pads fell apart. These have a front pad that wraps around the plastic, which wasn't present on the original pads. It's definitely more comfortable. I now feel like I'm wearing a new helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1415chris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good replacement

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
If your s-works padding looks tired it is a time to give the fresh ones a go.
It is exactly the same as you get with the new helmet.
It is slightly improved compared to previous years versions.
Wider forehead padding material allows you to wrap it up over the helmet plastic construction. That should protect the padding from the layers splitting up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cycliz

Excellent replacement - more durable than original

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The pad set that I received was the dark grey version, rather than the light grey that originally came with the helmet (currently pictured), and I think it is the one that usually comes with the S-Works 'MT' helmets. However, it was a good thing overall since the only shape difference is that it has a wider front strip that actually folds under and around the front headband , preventing that most vulnerable pad area from being worn out so quickly. Also comes with plenty of extra velcro sticky pads to allow you to replace any worn ones and/or add extra ones to allow front bit to stick around headband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized S-Works Pad Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ridhard
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
better than the original pad set in my lid. It is so good I bought another spare to alternate when washing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>