Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike

Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
londoncycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Awesome bike, great style

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, style
Cons: Expensive
This bike is all about style from the hand made frame to the gold detailing on the wheels. Quality bike and a very comfy ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NStaffsTri
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sizing?

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Sizing...I am 5' 8" and I am comfortable riding a compact road bike with with a 54 cm frame (and a 55cm top tube). I have an inside leg mesurement of 32"
I test rode a 20.5" model and found it to be too small....resulting in a really aggressive uncomfortable position with both the seat post and stem at max extension....so I ordered a 22.5" model (my measurements accord with Pashleys sizing guide).
The 22.5 is far more comfortable...the seatpost has about 3" exposed and the stem is at max extension in a vain attempt to get the handlebars as close to level with the saddle as possible. I can just about stand over the top tube with feet firmly planted on the ground.
Gearing...I live in a hilly area so will have to resign myself to walking up the steepest parts of some hills.....The rear hub sounds like a bag of nails in gears 2 and 3...don't know if this is normal for Sturmey Archer....but doesn't happen with a Nexus hub on another bike...
Overall its a nice looking bike and a pair of MKS half clips with leather have added a nice finishing touch...oh and it came with a really useful user manual, 3 in 1 oil, spanner, inner tube,Guvnor tea, Brooks poofide an allen key and a Guvnor musette bag.....excellent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NStaffsTri
Leek
 
Please wait while more information about NStaffsTri is loaded.
Additional information about NStaffsTri could not be loaded.
Update after first ride
Posted June 7, 2013
...Better on the hills than I thought it would be and more comfortable over the days 65 miles than I thought it could be....so very pleased; it is a great looking bike and rides really nicely.
Post ride inspection reveals rubbing to the paint work from slack gear cable (when in 3rd) on chain stay. Peeling Pashley badge on steerer tube, a front wheel in desperate need of being trued and worst of all a loose headset....all minor issues but nevertheless ones that simply should not have arisen...so not greatly impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MGDodger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Unique bike, turns heads, gets you waves & smiles

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been an owner of the Guvnor for about 2 years. During that time the bike has performed with exemplary style. Whether riding to the pub on a lazy sunny Sunday afternoon with friends, or charging across northern France on a 160km club sportive this machine will not let you down.
Bullet proof mechanicals, tuff Sturmey Archer 3 speed gears matched to big all weather drums brakes, huge westwood 28" rims wearing their beautiful cream tyres are a throw back to a more heroic cycling age ! Best of all though... the 531 Reynolds frame, a piece of cycling history you can still own today... If you are still not convinced, the Guvnor even has its own Owners club, worth a quick look around before parting with your cash... http://www.theguvnorsassembly.com/2013/03/04/a-review-of-the-pashley-guvnor/
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Very solid, elegant bike, if a little heavy

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is a great bike. I really enjoy riding it and it has proved excellent for my 7.5 mile (largely flat) commute. If I have a criticism, it is that it is a little heavy, but that is in its nature. It does mean though that for commuting the stops and starts are unnecessarily tedious. 5 gears vs 3 might be particularly helpful with this bike. The other niggle is the cost of punctures. Because of the in-hub gears and brakes, repairs are more expensive than derailler bikes - punctrure resistant tires well worth considering.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
J0306
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

A Class of it own

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, timeless
Superb build quality, fit and finish. All aspects of the design have been well considered right down to the quality of the gold pinstriping on the wheels. It gains admiring looks and is actually quite fast of the line considering the size of the wheels. Riding it feels like a real occasion. It is smooth and comfortable and the gearing works seamlessly even under the pressure of an assent.
All round a brilliant sunny day ride and with 3 speed a lot more versatile than the single speed option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kello12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

The bike looks great

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought this as a present for my boyfriend for Christmas, he has not seen the bike yet but I know he will love it. I am very pleased with the purchase and can't wait to see him on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Classy , sexy and puts a smug smile on your face.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is a gentlemen's luxury vehicle, cycle it along a seafront and you will get several admiring looks. Park it outside a pub and every cyclist wants to chat/prod it.
It is not a lightweight racing snake obviously, but is no slouch either.
The three speed version helps out on the hills, I haven't had to ever get off.
I've bling'd it with some MKS leather covered toe clips and a brooks D shaped saddle bag, and they seem to complement it nicely.
Find some chrome frame pump clips and a old style chrome pump and your grin only gets wider.
Buy one and cycle!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pashley Guvnor 3-Speed Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossee
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fantastic ride

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The Pashley Guvnor is sheer joy to ride. It looks great and it rides great. I've had several bikes over the years but none have ever looked as good as as this. I'm stopped on a daily basis by other cyclist asking about this bike. It's a dream. Highly recommended
Pashley Ride
+21points
31of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.