Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Folding & Electric Bike Spares or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag

Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag

Please Note that Brompton Accessories cannot be purchased for international delivery and can only be delivered to an address within the UK.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 23Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Review 1 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tellusa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact, lightweight and does the job

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This cover is lightweight and compact fitting neatly into the supplied pouch which atttaches to the seat stem even when the bicycle is folded. It is easy and quick to use to cover the folded bicycle and thus permit carriage on buses and other public transport.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
infracom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

A handy cover

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The cover is easy to fit and looks good when covering the bike. The folded Brompton is then fairly inconspicuous. It seems to be made of strong material which is unlikely to tear easily. It folds up remarkably small. The double zip that allows the saddle to poke out if needed is handy. I hope the zips last; they seem a bit flimsy. The bag itself seems fine, slightly bigger than I expected but does not get in the way when lowering the saddle post. My only quibble is that the bag is open at the top, hence there is nothing to stop the rain entering and then staying inside the bag. A top flap on the bag would solve that problem and I wonder why there isn’t one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJPlus
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Covers the bike so the bus driver is happy. Job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluelemmy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Two For The Price Of One

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: couldn't the bag and cover be sold separately?
Although this the cover and bag are sold together, for me they are two separate items.
I use the saddlebag for things I always want to hand with the bike, gloves, scarf, clips. At the station, after folding the bike I stuff those items in the bag so that I know exactly where they will be at the other end of the journey. The beauty of the saddlebag is that it in no way inhibits the rasing or lowering of the seat post.
The cover I use for longer journeys, on Eurostar to Paris for example or on a flight. The cover means no longer having to worry about a jobsworth stating (wrongly) that 'bikes aren't allowed'. But also, on Eurostar, for example, it prevents anyone catching their clothes on the folded bike when stowed in the luggage areas. Basically, it quells all possible objections to a folded Brompton by turning it into a small suitcase. The fact that it folds down so small, stows so easily and weighs so little make it unique and decent value for what it does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wendy1

Useful and neat.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
I got the Brompton cover and saddle-bag to keep my Brommie clean when stored in my dusty garage and to wrap it up when stowed in the boot of my car as I don't have a chain guard. It's well stitched and looks strong. It is an draw-string bag, basicly, which comes in a flat bag which hangs from the back of the saddle. It doesn't look sleek, having a a square pack dangling from the saddle and for £25 I think Brompton are having a bit of a laugh. However, I got a reduction and pain £12.50 but it's easier and cheaper to use a bin liner, which looks just as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jack57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

well thought out quick tram, train and bus hop.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is an excellent item to have as it meets the travelling minimum for travelling as luggage on short bus, tram, train commutes well thought out an practical, an folds up into included saddlebag attachment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mjb2ride
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Really useful cover for Brompton

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Doesn't take up any space or weight when the cover is packed away it but adds some protection when traveling with the Brompton, eg on train.
The saddle bag is less useful - it doesn't have a drawstring so doesn't fit brilliantly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dickyt13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent robust cover.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought this so that I could take the bus when its raining or if I don't fancy the long ride up the hill on the way home. The cover makes the bike very discreet. In its natural state, the Brommie is certainly an attention grabber and the cover avoids discussions with bus drivers who claim bikes aren't allowed. I think it will also help in storage indoors. The cover itself is quite heavy but I guess that's the trade off for high quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobinOnABike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality, good product.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I'd seen a review about this bag on youtube, that shows it being unzipped and rezipped around the bike, I thought that looked a bit fiddley. In fact, you can just ease it over the Brompton carefully without unzipping. The material seems pretty tough, though I wonder how long the plastic zip will last. It has a good reflective triangle on the little bag cover which attaches (slightly fiddly), to the seat post and saddle. The big bag itself is plain black, which is a good thing because if you're using it, it's probably to hide what's inside. It does what they say it does, if feels pretty good quality, and it's small enough to stash away. It's shaped so you can still grab the seat and carry. I'm removing one star just because I'm not 100% sure about the zip, and I find it a little overpriced though I'd also say that about the whole bike. Overall good product. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoldIt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very nice

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag design is well thought out.
It is easy to use straight out of delivery box.
The 2-ended zip makes it very versatile.
One issue I had was with the gather cordage at the base of the cover, removed it and all was well.
The bag is strong and large for a small first-aid kit, map, cycling gloves and the cover
The EvansCycle online staff were most helpful, even though I changed my order a bit, they sorted it.
My order delivery was punctual to the second of their texted time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mistermark
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

good product, but could be improved

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: enables travel by bus
Cons: Expensive, bag not waterproof
bought this cover/bag when taking trip on Megabus to London as unbagged bikes not carried (annoying, as return ticket cost £6, cover.bag cost £25!)
the cover does its job and seems sturdy and well made
the bag could definitely be improved - make it bigger so would then hold other things and cover and be more useful
also, the bag needs to be able to close and be waterproof, why is the bag left open? this would just collect rain and then you're dealing with trying to put a wet cover on your bike...
the bag is probably the worst designed item with a Brompton logo on it
- ortlieb it aint
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
youngboris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good cover that fits in it's saddlebag

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: could have a bit of padding
Good cover that fits in it's saddlebag. Easy to put on and away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Perfect to cover the Brompton.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I purchased the cover to protect my Brompton and to hide it in places you can't carry without cover. When you need to ride, just fold the cover and put it inside the bag (I also carry some other little objects in it). As you arrive in your destiny, pull out the cover and protect your bike (folded, of course).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaneyBee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

useful product!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Slightly bigger than I thought it would be when packaged up, but excellent quality durable fabric - better than I had imagined, so worth the extra bulk.
A very handy piece of kit for when you want to disguise your bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1976T
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Good, but it's a cover...not a bag.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, good design with saddle bag, easily portable/stored
Cons: Expensive, should fit equally well either way up, doesn't stop drips onto floor
Once you realise and accept that this is just a cover and not a bag, then it's pretty good at what it's designed for. I have been using it upside down (i.e. with the drawstring opening at the top). I bought a cover as I thought it would stop oily and muddy drips on my floor at home and on the carpet under my desk at work where my bike spends most of the day. The way the cover is designed is to have the drawstring opening at the bottom (I guess so the wheels are still usable), but it makes it pretty hopeless at keeping dirt off anything else.
The saddle bag element seems useful, even if the cover itself isn't of amazing quality. £25 seems a little dear, but about what you'd expect.
I believe there is an actual carry bag available, but priced around £65.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wallaby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A must for any Brompton owner who wants to be discrete & be allowed to take bike folded into cinemas, restaurants etc.. Easy to fit & when stored under seat can double up as storage for tools & mobile phone/wallet:)
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chimo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dirty Brompton protection

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Used this for the first time last week when I rode the Brompton to a private members club, slipped the bike into the cover after a 'Damp' ride and the cloak room attendant didn't bat an eyelid putting it into the tiny room next to jackets etc.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slalom
from Windsor
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brompton bag

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Good addition to my Brompton. An easy to use cover and is also a convenient saddle bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ed34

Funny Bag

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: bulky
So the saddle bag hangs off the back of the saddle using slots that Brompton thoughtfully include for just this task. The saddle bag itself lacks a drawstring or zip but it's fairly deep so the cover isn't going to jump out. The bag itself is excellent - it's shaped to the folded bike and has a zip almost the whole way round so it's easy to get on and off. Some public transport (hello sheffield trams) seem to want the cover to be used so the bag can be very useful. The main disadvantage though is the size and position of the saddle bag. It looks very bulky when it's in place and anyone wanting to use a rear light at the top of the seat post will have to place light and bag very carefully to have the two cooperate.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brompton Cover & Saddle Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jimy

waterproof neat cover

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Excellent cover, without Brompton branding which is great when you have to take it to events, highly recommended.
Like most Brompton accessories its over priced (is after all just a nylon cover with a zip) but it works well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>