Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

Overall rating:
4.141 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
63 out of 71(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
62 Questions | 112 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dtsn

Painfully complicated to install

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: installation, instructions, wheel/wires easily catch
I'm not sure of the mudguards effectiveness, i still haven't managed to install them correctly.
You will need a hacksaw, a pair of pilars and an allen key. You also might need longer and shorter bolts depending on your bike fitting. The instructions that come with the set are an A5 piece of paper with only a quater being english. They do not accurately display what you have to do.
I managed to install them, then was told by my college that they were wrong, which then meant all by support poles where too short. So now I have to find 4 more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rodi

nice product

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've put it them on my Specialized Crossroads. Good quality and they permit some adjustment.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jock56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lightweight, plastic covered alum.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Like all mudgards a bit of time needed to fit. Good looking. Black plastic covered aluminium. Keeps bike away from the worst of the road muck. Recommended even with hybrid tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Will93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

fiddly and a bit too expensive

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: works
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I recently got myself a nice hoy shizuoka and got these mudguards to make it all weather however the bolt at the front doesn't fit my frame so I have resorted to using string which in turn makes them rattle a lot (very noisy anyway).
Besides that they are extraordinarily hard to set up and guaranteed the salesman in store did warn me but I didn't think I needed a phd to attach them!
They do stop any groundwater from impacting me, however I find myself removing them whenever its not wet purely from embarrassment.
Have to say I expected more from such a high priced set of guards.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJ56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good quality, does what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Good quality full guards that I fitted to my Trek DS 8.3. Lightweight yet robust, and fit very securely to the bike. These are a little old fashioned in appearance, but my bike is black, and the black mudguards I purchased blend in with the rest of the bike and so are not too obtrusive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CeeJay60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good looking mudguards

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddly to fit, needed to provide my own screw to fit trek 7.3
Good looking mudguards. Bought the black ones for my white framed Trek 7.3 and they look great. Light but strong. However were a fiddle to fit so be prepared to spend a couple of hours to do so. Instructions not overly clear. Also the long screw which fits the front guard to the main frame/fork was not long enough to fit my Trek 7.3 but luckily we had one that did. For this reason couldn't give 5 star rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vanjameson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm incredibly happy with these--definitely worth the premium over strap-on mudguards. They do a great job of keeping road spray off me while cycling in winter storms. Just a note, the black mudguards are actually a bit brown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woody197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great protection and look good

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I had these mudguards fitted to my Pinnacle Lithium as I have a 28 mile commute. They have protected the bike (and myself) from the grime and wet spray created whilst commuting.
I was unsure about going for full mudguards as I didn't want to distract from the look of the bike but the SKS mudguard in black which I had fitted look very good on the bike and do not take away it's looks.
They appear to be robust, I have only had them on 3 weeks, and fit the bike well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimTuckTwo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very high quality product.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Sleek, strong, well fitting & lightweight. These mudguards took me around one and a half hours to fit and now they're on they look excellent. Instructions were clear and fitting was straightforward. A few measurements ensured the height of the mudguards was equal around the wheel. My only niggle was a shortage of washers - 2 more would have been the correct number. Oh and be sure to be sure you're ordering the correct colour for you bike as I chose silver (on teal) and it looked awful. Black solved the problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newtreky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

good looking, excellent quality, sturdy.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I used the black version which looked really good on the bike. A little bit fiddley to fit but worth the effort to get a good fit. The stainless stays are very robust and I was able to bend them to get a custom fit around other equipment. The finished job felt very secure and I think will give many years of service. I was so impressed that I bought another set for my wife's bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnnyDangerous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Very good quality item

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
First time I've ever run mudguards, but I have to say these are very good quality. Metal bolts and screw for fixing and adjustment seem very good quality compared to others I have seen around. Not had to ride through any major rain yet, but done quite a few puddles and they keep the spray off nicely.
I'm running on a set of 28 armadillos, and clearance is a little tight. If not set up correctly I get a little rubbing, but they are very easy to tweak with just a spanner.
Definitely recommend getting these for commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenderRodriguez

Look nice - do what they are supposed to.

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
yep, they look nice and do what they are supposed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A320Steve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Do what they say on the box

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These fit really nicely on my Pinnacle Lithium 4, and the adjustments are very easy to make to get an absolutely perfect fit. They do a great job of keeping the mud off me when I have been brave enough to take the bike off of the tarmac. A nice feature is the rubber at the back end of the rear guard as when I am manoeuvring the bike into the garage I'm usually on the back wheel alone and the rubber is touching the ground, saves me scraping the plastic!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maya
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good product. Takes a bit to fit.

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Works well and looks good. They were a bit of a fiddle to fit but no other negatives. The reflectors on them are a good addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good quality, fiddly to fit

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I fitted theses to my trek fx7.5. They are good quality, look good and come with all the screws you need and more. You have to cut the stays which is hard work without a proper work bench and I used two junior hacksaw blades in the process, although things are easy to adjust so you don't need great precision. Budget on 2 hours unless you've got a workshop as even getting the screws into the frame is hard if the screw holes haven't been used before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bove
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

a quick fit, well made but not for long.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: need adjusting, dont offer good protection
Disappointed with these mudguards as wanted something that would do the job and offer good weather protection during the wetter months on regular sludgy commute. Having bought them for a new cyclocross bike (with disk brakes so no mounting lugs) i have struggled to stop them rattng on the front tyre, regularly needing a fiddle to set them at right clearance. They are also quite short and dont close the gap on the rear tyre between the bottom bracket and seat post area resulting in quite a lot of spray coming off the rear tyre onto me and my shoes. Similarly at the front they dont go far enough forward to stop spray coming back to me from the tyre. The front one does come down a decent distance although project off the tyre enough for me to catch the toeclip on it when pedaling from tight turns.
They are well made and easily fitted - simpler if not onto a straight bladed carbon fork. I imagine a really good product if only being fitted to a road bike occasionally and not being relied on overly for commute.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mirik
Country:Czech Republic
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality mudguards

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've recently applied this item on my mostly off-road hybrid bike and it is just fine for my 700c wheels. The rear mudguard fit easily and precisely. The front one needed more settings and a small improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Do the job

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Nothing particularly special about these. However they do what they claim to do and are robust. they also match the look of my Pashley governor very well. All I can ask really.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pete531
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, but sizing is not clear on website

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I bought these for my wife's Specialised Vita [700x32C tyres], as they are described by this website as being for hybrid bikes. However, they were unnecessarily wide for that tyre size. The packaging itself has a useful SKS sizing guide on it that identifies this mudguard set as being for tyre sizes 700x38c - 700x45c. I returned these and opted for the next size down [P45 - SKS size guide 700x28 - 700x37] that Evans describe as 'Wide Road', which fitted very well and looked good on the bike.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sypher
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, look bad on closer inspection if not fitted right, poor instruction information!
I'm happy with end result, but it was the journey of getting them fitted that was the problem. Firstly I was advised that this set would fit my Lithium II hybrid. So I bought them and went about fitting them myself. First mistake! Unpacking the product and the instructions that came with explained next to nothing. No item list so couldn't tell how many of each nut and bolt I was meant to have and therefore didn't know which one fitted where. Coming to the conclusion that had the wrong mudguards sent to me I perused the website for answers to find that these mudgurads apparently 'do not' fit my hybrid bike. Second mistake had been made.
I travelled to my nearest Evans which happened to be over 30 mins away. Brought the bike in case they may be able to do something. And apparently on explanantion 'they did' fit my bike. Right, so I left my bike the guards with them for an hr. Came back and presto they were fitted. But of course it wasn't as straight forward as that. The guy had to bend the folks in order to fit them! To which you can see where the pliers were used. Granted I now have mudguards attached, they still look slightly out of alignment and border scraping my tyre should they move any closer.
My advice, ask if there are any other mudgurads, if not buy these but ask 'EXACTLY' how to fit them cause the instructions DO NOT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>