Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 116 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
107 out of 116Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
104 Questions | 167 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look the business

PostedFebruary 3, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these for my wife's new hybrid. I was sceptical at first but they look great on the bike, and so far so good they are working like a dream. No spray at all.
The Evans team who fitted the mudguards were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Elegant and well made

PostedJanuary 29, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Mine are silver finished and look just like the metal Raleigh mud guards of the 70s and 80s. Take that as a complement. Fiddly to fit (hence 4 star rating), but all fittings provided and easily achieved if you follow the instructions in sequence. I had to drill a hole in the rear guard to bolt to the bottom of the frame by the crank - but a suitable fixing bolt was provided in the kit. Very well made to German standards, rigid, but a bit old fashioned to look at (if that worries you). Extremely effective in the wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Nice and very useful, fiddly to fit however

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fiddly to fit
Very nice looking, fully adjustable mudguards. However the fully adjustable means if you don't want to cut the black plastic things on the end, you have to measure and cut the holding rods with a saw and/or wire cutter, which is really tiresome to do for 8 rods (maybe easier with a big cutter).
Consequently, if they fit it on your bike in the shop, they'll probably ruin it (which they did for me for a previous one), so if you want it to be properly fitted, you have to do it yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Once on they do the job, but difficult to fit

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: didn't fit
For some reason I found these very difficult to fit (noting I've never actually fitted guards before). I didn't check properly that they were compatible with my bike model (BMC Alpenchallenge AC02 Alivio 2016 Hybrid Bike) and it turns out they aren't (at least not fully). The bridge across the back wheel (where caliper brakes would go), on my bike, does not have a suitable hole, therefore I had to use a tie here. Also on the front guard the supplied bolt wasn't long enough to reach through the front fork stem (a common problem when fitting guards to hybrid and road bikes according to the chap at my local bike store). After buying an extra bolt, I've managed to get them fitted and they work well (surprising that they're not fully compatible). They are a good set of guards, just make sure you check for compatibility before buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Excellent mudguards

PostedJanuary 16, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are sturdy mudguards and were just the job for my hybrid bike. Very reasonably priced and fitted free of charge at Evans' . Would thoroughly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Nice product

PostedJanuary 16, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: instructions are rubbish
I thought this would be a 10min job, maybe second time round. If your fitting give yourself at least one hour plus.. Once fitted they look sleek and tidy, the front could of been about 6cm longer which would of prevented and much getting to the bottom bracket.. Come summer they will be removed from the bike and refitted which I hope will be 10min JOB...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Great Value v strong

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great, strong, virtually indistructable
Second set on second hybrid. Guys at Evans even managed to fit on my cannondale cx5 front suspension. Also look great on my cannondale bad boy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good mudguards but can be difficult to fit

PostedNovember 23, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: hard to install
Good and stylish mudguards. Offer excellent protection against rain and mud, but installing them can be a cumbersome task at least on some bikes. My bike does not leave a lot of space between the rear wheel and the bridge and therefore I struggled until I managed a good fit which would leave enough space between the wheel and the mudguard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent

PostedNovember 2, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great Product, keeps dirt and water off your legs, looks good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Good Quality Mudguards

PostedNovember 1, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Good mudguards with stainless steel fittings. No rattling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Fine but tough install for novice

PostedSeptember 26, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Highly suggest you ask if Evans can install for you. The bolts that come with the kit don't fit all bikes. In particular, the front guard bolt was too short to fit thru my stem and the nut wasn't suitable for tightening when I used a longer bolt of my own. Otherwise these guards do the job fine once installed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Good coverage, really fiddly!

PostedSeptember 25, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I got these for my giant Revolt as I was getting sick of being wet. They prove really good coverage and are a good solid set of commuting mudguards however... The instructions are pretty poor (visit a well known video site) and they are seriously fiddly to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stops the rain. but heavy and awkward to attach.

PostedSeptember 2, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
The kit included bolts that didn't fit the bike and using a hacksaw to reduce the length of the stays. Now attached they are solid and doing the job. Always a risk buying on the internet and finding a generic product designed for all bikes. The diameter of my tyres is very much narrower than the guards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great mudguards

PostedSeptember 2, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
From fitting, regulation to everyday use, they are great and fit Norco XFR2 perfectly. Very good antimud protection, tested couple of times in heavy rain conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

SKS mudguards - great looking

PostedAugust 30, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fiddly to assemble
Great looking mudguards. Only down side is that are quite fiddly to assemble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Online

do what they are meant but poor instructions

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: bad instructions
The mudguards are really sturdy and work really well, however the instructions are not very good. I had to get a friend who had these guards to help me put them on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Absolutely superb!!

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got it fitted on my Pinnacle Lithium Four bike. Looks beautiful and appears made of high quality materials. Does the job. Highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Online

smart thinking but maybe not practical

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I use these mudguards on my Genesis CdA and the fit is OK but not perfect. Perhaps they will fit better with smaller tyres, will give it a try next year.
Looks and durability is nice, but as mentioned they require some time to fit perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent - do the job nicely

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very shiny - look nice on my new hybrid. Adapted nicely to suit disk brakes. Sure they will do the job for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great quality but watch for disc brakes!

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: check mounting on bikes with disc brakes
Bought these for a 2014 Pinnacle Lithium hybrid that I use to ride to the station every day. They are very solid when fitted and don't rattle over bumps which is great. Unfortunately, I had to adapt the front one as it wouldn't mount to the forks because the disc brake was in the way. Luckily my forks have a front pannier mounting built in, so I was able to attach to that, bend the mounting a bit and cut the stays down to make it fit.
The back one was fine though and easy to fit once the back wheel was removed.
Like the fact that there is a reflector built in to the rear mudguard.
Price matched to another online cycle retailer saved quite a few quid too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>