Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
70 out of 78(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 125 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hydefir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smart mudguards

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Quality item. Fitted in store free with new bike. look really smart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haggisbasher
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good mudguards but not "Universal Fit"

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very pleased with the mudguards but the front fitting bolt was too short for for a Hoy hybrid. Evans provided a solution, but it meant another visit to the shop.
Mudguards look very good on the bike and fitting was relatively easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phil1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Only had them for 3 weeks but ridden bike every day and have been great so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linzf

Do the job

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fitted by Evans when I bought my new bike.
A good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kevonn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is the right size mudgaurd

PostedJune 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These mudguards are quiet easy to fit and they come with all the nuts and bolts needed and more. The bike I fitted them on is a hybrid ie off road and on road. I had changed the tyres for puncture resistant ones which meant the mudguards needed to be wider. These are the right width for the tyres. The only draw back is I had to drill a slotted hole to fix the mudguard to the frame below the seat. The overall quality is good and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hagen13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A bit of a fiddle to install, if you can get them fitted for you would recommend this. Once on they are great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kozmo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

good, but fiddly to fix to bike

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
the mudguards seem to be working ok but they were a bit difficult to fix to the bike. There were good instructions provided but my bike did not have the same frame fixing points featured on these instructions. I had to adapt what fixings there were and drill a hole in the rear mudguard. In the end it seems to be ok though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dtsn

Painfully complicated to install

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: installation, instructions, wheel/wires easily catch
I'm not sure of the mudguards effectiveness, i still haven't managed to install them correctly.
You will need a hacksaw, a pair of pilars and an allen key. You also might need longer and shorter bolts depending on your bike fitting. The instructions that come with the set are an A5 piece of paper with only a quater being english. They do not accurately display what you have to do.
I managed to install them, then was told by my college that they were wrong, which then meant all by support poles where too short. So now I have to find 4 more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rodi

nice product

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've put it them on my Specialized Crossroads. Good quality and they permit some adjustment.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jock56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lightweight, plastic covered alum.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Like all mudgards a bit of time needed to fit. Good looking. Black plastic covered aluminium. Keeps bike away from the worst of the road muck. Recommended even with hybrid tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Will93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

fiddly and a bit too expensive

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: works
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I recently got myself a nice hoy shizuoka and got these mudguards to make it all weather however the bolt at the front doesn't fit my frame so I have resorted to using string which in turn makes them rattle a lot (very noisy anyway).
Besides that they are extraordinarily hard to set up and guaranteed the salesman in store did warn me but I didn't think I needed a phd to attach them!
They do stop any groundwater from impacting me, however I find myself removing them whenever its not wet purely from embarrassment.
Have to say I expected more from such a high priced set of guards.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJ56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good quality, does what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Good quality full guards that I fitted to my Trek DS 8.3. Lightweight yet robust, and fit very securely to the bike. These are a little old fashioned in appearance, but my bike is black, and the black mudguards I purchased blend in with the rest of the bike and so are not too obtrusive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CeeJay60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good looking mudguards

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fiddly to fit, needed to provide my own screw to fit trek 7.3
Good looking mudguards. Bought the black ones for my white framed Trek 7.3 and they look great. Light but strong. However were a fiddle to fit so be prepared to spend a couple of hours to do so. Instructions not overly clear. Also the long screw which fits the front guard to the main frame/fork was not long enough to fit my Trek 7.3 but luckily we had one that did. For this reason couldn't give 5 star rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vanjameson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm incredibly happy with these--definitely worth the premium over strap-on mudguards. They do a great job of keeping road spray off me while cycling in winter storms. Just a note, the black mudguards are actually a bit brown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woody197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great protection and look good

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I had these mudguards fitted to my Pinnacle Lithium as I have a 28 mile commute. They have protected the bike (and myself) from the grime and wet spray created whilst commuting.
I was unsure about going for full mudguards as I didn't want to distract from the look of the bike but the SKS mudguard in black which I had fitted look very good on the bike and do not take away it's looks.
They appear to be robust, I have only had them on 3 weeks, and fit the bike well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimTuckTwo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very high quality product.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Sleek, strong, well fitting & lightweight. These mudguards took me around one and a half hours to fit and now they're on they look excellent. Instructions were clear and fitting was straightforward. A few measurements ensured the height of the mudguards was equal around the wheel. My only niggle was a shortage of washers - 2 more would have been the correct number. Oh and be sure to be sure you're ordering the correct colour for you bike as I chose silver (on teal) and it looked awful. Black solved the problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newtreky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

good looking, excellent quality, sturdy.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I used the black version which looked really good on the bike. A little bit fiddley to fit but worth the effort to get a good fit. The stainless stays are very robust and I was able to bend them to get a custom fit around other equipment. The finished job felt very secure and I think will give many years of service. I was so impressed that I bought another set for my wife's bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnnyDangerous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Very good quality item

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
First time I've ever run mudguards, but I have to say these are very good quality. Metal bolts and screw for fixing and adjustment seem very good quality compared to others I have seen around. Not had to ride through any major rain yet, but done quite a few puddles and they keep the spray off nicely.
I'm running on a set of 28 armadillos, and clearance is a little tight. If not set up correctly I get a little rubbing, but they are very easy to tweak with just a spanner.
Definitely recommend getting these for commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenderRodriguez

Look nice - do what they are supposed to.

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
yep, they look nice and do what they are supposed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A320Steve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Do what they say on the box

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These fit really nicely on my Pinnacle Lithium 4, and the adjustments are very easy to make to get an absolutely perfect fit. They do a great job of keeping the mud off me when I have been brave enough to take the bike off of the tarmac. A nice feature is the rubber at the back end of the rear guard as when I am manoeuvring the bike into the garage I'm usually on the back wheel alone and the rubber is touching the ground, saves me scraping the plastic!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>