Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

SKS Mudguards - Hybrid

Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
79 out of 87Would you recommend this product to a friend?91%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
85 Questions | 137 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maracuch0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product but very time consuming to fit.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: difficult to fit to bicycle
I have fitted these to a Pinnacle Lithium 2015. They give very good coverage and appear robust. However, they took a long time and a lot of effort to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
High quality fast delivery highly recommended mudguards............
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elaine177
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:St Paul's

great product, difficult to fit with disc brake

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
these are great at keeping the bike and me clean and dry on my commute but a bit tricky to fit around disc brakes. I had a go myself but without the proper tools - a vise for example, it is too difficult. In the end, the mechanic did it for free at the East Dulwich store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kezza29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great but fiddly to fit

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
Great product, very fiddly to fit and instructions weren't clear but used the video from Evans and we managed it. It still took two of us though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ermie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Great full-coverage mudgards

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Ideal for commuting. Helps keep your feet nice and dry when it is pouring down.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rodders1959
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Keeps the wet off your bum.

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Good quality guards that do the job as expected. Little pricey but better than wasting money on cheaper alternatives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Projectgaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great mudguards but be sure they'll fit your bike

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc after being advised by Evans that they'd fit, sadly, as my suspension forks don't have attachment points by the hub, and there's only one attachment point at the rear (which is in use by my pannier rack), they do not fit this bike. However, they do fit my wife's hybrid. They were relatively easy to fit, although a little fiddly. They look good, feel quality and provide excellent all round wheel coverage, preventing water from covering her, and as the winter months beckon, they'll reduce the amount of horrible road salt that gets all over the bike.
Definitely a worthwhile purchase but check your bike has the required attachment points before buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
arrgee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Proof against west of Scotland weather

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
When riding around the west of Scotland, personally I consider mudguards to be a vital piece of equipment. I bought these with my new hybrid bike, and they have done exactly what I have needed them to do when I've been caught in the rain, or when the roads have just been wet. I cannot comment on ease of fitting, though, as I had them fitted to the bike prior to collection. I particularly like the fact that they come with the reflector fitted on the rear mudguard, as others that I have bought in the past did not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrColdhands
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, good value

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit, and the little plastic bits at the end of the stays are designed so they can't fall off once assembled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hydefir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smart mudguards

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Quality item. Fitted in store free with new bike. look really smart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haggisbasher
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good mudguards but not "Universal Fit"

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very pleased with the mudguards but the front fitting bolt was too short for for a Hoy hybrid. Evans provided a solution, but it meant another visit to the shop.
Mudguards look very good on the bike and fitting was relatively easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phil1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Only had them for 3 weeks but ridden bike every day and have been great so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linzf

Do the job

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fitted by Evans when I bought my new bike.
A good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kevonn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is the right size mudgaurd

PostedJune 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These mudguards are quiet easy to fit and they come with all the nuts and bolts needed and more. The bike I fitted them on is a hybrid ie off road and on road. I had changed the tyres for puncture resistant ones which meant the mudguards needed to be wider. These are the right width for the tyres. The only draw back is I had to drill a slotted hole to fix the mudguard to the frame below the seat. The overall quality is good and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hagen13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A bit of a fiddle to install, if you can get them fitted for you would recommend this. Once on they are great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kozmo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

good, but fiddly to fix to bike

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
the mudguards seem to be working ok but they were a bit difficult to fix to the bike. There were good instructions provided but my bike did not have the same frame fixing points featured on these instructions. I had to adapt what fixings there were and drill a hole in the rear mudguard. In the end it seems to be ok though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dtsn

Painfully complicated to install

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: installation, instructions, wheel/wires easily catch
I'm not sure of the mudguards effectiveness, i still haven't managed to install them correctly.
You will need a hacksaw, a pair of pilars and an allen key. You also might need longer and shorter bolts depending on your bike fitting. The instructions that come with the set are an A5 piece of paper with only a quater being english. They do not accurately display what you have to do.
I managed to install them, then was told by my college that they were wrong, which then meant all by support poles where too short. So now I have to find 4 more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rodi

nice product

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've put it them on my Specialized Crossroads. Good quality and they permit some adjustment.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jock56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lightweight, plastic covered alum.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Like all mudgards a bit of time needed to fit. Good looking. Black plastic covered aluminium. Keeps bike away from the worst of the road muck. Recommended even with hybrid tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Hybrid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Will93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

fiddly and a bit too expensive

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: works
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I recently got myself a nice hoy shizuoka and got these mudguards to make it all weather however the bolt at the front doesn't fit my frame so I have resorted to using string which in turn makes them rattle a lot (very noisy anyway).
Besides that they are extraordinarily hard to set up and guaranteed the salesman in store did warn me but I didn't think I needed a phd to attach them!
They do stop any groundwater from impacting me, however I find myself removing them whenever its not wet purely from embarrassment.
Have to say I expected more from such a high priced set of guards.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>