Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre

Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Review 1 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worm01
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great lightweight tyre

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, low profile
I have been using this great light weight tyre for a while now as I it provides me with good grip, very light weight and reasonably durable.
A great area to reduced weight, particularly in accelerating and decelerating, is a rotating mass. A tyre is an ideal area to take the opportunity to reduce the rotating weight. These tyres achieve that and remain function-able for your routine rides or hitting it out against other cyclists.
It also fits into aero frames such as the CerveloS5 that have very small clearances from the rotating tyre.
I don't usually do product ratings, but happy to recommend this.
Have fun. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hym34
Country:Japan
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It is light although it is very thin

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Heard a lot of mix reviews on this, but had to try it myself to find out.
Haven't got any puncture yet, but this tyres have a good grip on the road.
Aesthetically look good and has a good roll on it and the price is not so pricey compared to the other race tyres
Recommend to use for race days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yassa13
Country:Japan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect tire!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very low resistance, high grip, quick response. Hutch sell Fusion 3 as all weather tire, and atom as dry tire. But atom has enough grip in rain condition, and is very light, so you don't have any reason to choose Fusion 3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fpalit
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular

Good light tyre for training and even for racing

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Some days you train for stamina improvement, while other days for speed improvement. Not the lightest, but this fits well for speed improvement training sessions. Good on all weathers too.
Installation is easy. Haven't put much mileage to it, so can't comment on puncture resistance yet.
Delivery took a bit longer than expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Greg29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Very Bad Experience

PostedNovember 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality
I wanted to upgrade the Hutchinson Nitro's which were fitted to my bike as standard and took advantage of the 2-4-1 offer although at the time I only fitted one new tyre at the rear,
Commuting in London, I do expect the occasional puncture so put it down to bad luck when I got my first flat after just over a week. However after having these tyres around three months I can now count 8 punctures in total - and I only do around 150km a week.
One of the tyres had to be replaced after around a month as a puncture literally tore a huge hole through the tyre wall meaning the inner sticks out when inflated.
Overall I have been very unimpressed - maybe on clean, tidy roads (or indoors) these tyres would be good but for the real world I would avoid!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alistor
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

2 for 1 tires makes you wish you bought 4

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Actually I haven't used the tires a lot but I have used them for like around 200-300km. They are holding up great, give great grip and look great. Not to expensive and great for beginner like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fordy5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased with these tyres

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Took advantage of the 2 for 1 offer on these Hutchinson tyres as I wanted fresh rubber for my End 2 End Charity ride. After a nearly 1000 miles and some testing road surfaces they are holding up well and no punctures encountered. The full black styling also adds to the look of my bike. Very pleased and would recommend them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hutchinson Atom Comp X-Light 700c Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SiRr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very fast rolling tyre

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very happy with these tyres. They look good on the bike and are fast rolling. They are light are (so far) offer a decent amount of protection. I'm not sure about their durability as I have only done about 500 miles on them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.