Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE Top Rack Pack

FWE Top Rack Pack

Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Top Rack Pack
Review 1 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lins76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value and versatile product

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is great for my needs - it carries enough for my commute to work without using the side panniers, but then the flexibility is there to use these if I want to carry more. Has a good handle for carrying and also a shoulder strap can be attached.
Seems well made and my only complaint would be that it is quite fiddly to take on and off the rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
violinist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far, so (very) good

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, well designed
Although a top rack pack cannot hold as much as a pair of panniers, this may be no bad thing if you need an overnight or weekend change of clothes in addition to carrying some spares and a small repair kit: some roadbike frames do not hold up well to overloading.
It's too early to comment on durability, but so far the velcro straps – six of them! – hold the bag securely, and the zips also seem robust. Lots of pockets, too.
Much cheaper than many of its rivals, and it should fit securely to any rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
furfix
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Brilliant design idea

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought a similar bag some years ago which has served me well. This is very similar but more versatile. It has 3 external pockets, one inside and webbing on the top. Can be converted to a carry bag with a strap, fits well on the bike, but get this..and this is brilliant, the side pockets unzip to turn each one into a small pannier! sheer brilliance! I would like to see these bigger in future editions and maybe, like my old one, have an extender attached to the main bag so you can unzip it and the areas for storage is larger. fantastic. An excellent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mick101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top pack

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent peice of kit for medium distance touring cyclists
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
riverxgirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Good product, a little smaller than I expected

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Agree with previous comments that it is a little fiddly to attach, but I haven't had problems with it rattling - there are further attachments at the back that prevent this. I have concerns about the poor quality of the zips although haven't had a problem with them so far. Overall, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shermsc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Compact yet expandable

PostedJune 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, expandable
Cons: awkward to secure
This bag is ideal for carrying lots of small items and the two side pockets fold out and expand if more luggage space is required. Fantastic wee bag, and shower-proof as well! Short and long straps also available for ease & comfort. Only issue is that it's only Velcro straps to attach to rack & it goes underneath. Bit cumbersome to get on and off frequently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lizzie94259

Good value bag.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: the attachment straps
It's easy to attach and detach, lightweight and very spacious, with many different compartments.
My only problem with it is that, although I'm confident that it is secure, the straps can't hold it tight enough to be rigidly attached to the pannier rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good kit at great price

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Really impressed by this. Good capacity with or without the fold down side panniers. Velcro Fixing straps a bit fiddly on underside of rack so only 4 stars, but otherwise very happy with it. More than enough space for a long day or overnight stay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
louiev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great but not for people in a hurry.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fiddly
This top rack bag is great value for money. It can store my D-Lock and extender and can store all my things for worl such as uniforms for work, travel towel, lunch etc etc. The only thing thar bothers me a little bit is the time it takes to secure the bag on with the velcro straps. It can be a bit fiddly. I do love the bag though and the strap for carrying it around the shops is useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedHardrock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice-looking, capacious bag - value for money

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, expandable side pockets, secure velcro fittings
Cons: no waterproof cover
Nice looking rack-top pack with really handy expandable side pockets. I bought this to make it easier to pop to the shops with my bike if I just needed one or two things, and it's definitely preferable to stuffing groceries into a rucksack. I wouldn't overload the side pockets, but it does seem well made generally, and it's much bigger than many other rack top packs at twice the price, so I feel it represents good value for money.
It was easy to fit with lots of Velcro straps that keep it really secure - it doesn't slide around at all. It has carry straps but I never bother taking it off the rack, I use it instead of a seatpack now as it makes it easier to carry a multitool, spare tube, snack, spare clothing etc on longer rides without having to take a rucksack, and the bungee on top and bottle holder on the rear are handy too.
I haven't had it out in heavy rain yet but I don't expect it to be completely waterproof so I'll probably buy a waterproof cover for very wet rides. Other than that though, I'm very happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GeoffAZ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The FWE Top Rack Pack was just what I was looking for. As just a weekend group rider, I needed an inexpensive bag to hold my rain jacket, tools, tubes and other essentials for a day's ride. The side pouches can also be extended to carry additional stuff. The only negative is the fit with a Blackburn rack - the Velcro straps didn't line up very well with the bars in the rack, but no big deal because it is still held securely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tryphena
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect to bag

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
very nice quality bag, looked at others but at the price we were not disappointed. Very pleased with the delivery from Evans could not have got it quicker, many thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ukFrank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Hi everybody. That very nice back for commuting. Very practical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chris6969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good quality and size

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
It has six Velcro straps to attach it to the pannier rack which is more than similar products and results in a very secure and stable fit.
Only issue is the drop down pannier pockets, there is no hook and are supplied with a hoop of elastic which make's fastening them to the rack near impossible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hgho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Amazing product

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is light weight, good value & fits very securely onto the back of my bike. It fits loads of things in & has secret side pockets to enable you to carry more things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weerickster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great bag

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great bag. The side pockets are really handy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Top Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilly17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

This product is very useful

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, extends to increase space
Bought this to avoid carrying a back pack in the warm weather. It is a great bag, loads of room and it extends as the sides can be let down as panniers. Fixes on to bike very securely with 4 fastenings. Has shoulder strap as well as carry handle, and is padded and water proof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.