Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike

HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike

The Sa Calobra is a true all-rounder that's as equally at home racing as it is in a sportive or longer weekend ride, capable of handling typical UK roads or Spring Classic terrain. In the saddle you will find the Sa Calobra offers a fast, nimble ride with a confident and reassured character, effortlessly carving through sweeping corners and willing you to pedal faster on the open stretches. A 100% monocoque carbon fork, thin-wall slim seat stays and a tapered top tube maintains rider comfort while the front end of the bike retains plenty of rigidity for power transfer and a quick handling response. The down tube broadens into the bottom bracket area for maximum stiffness and oversized, multi-profiled chain stays help ensure power from each pedal stroke is transferred to the road. We have also utilized proportional tubing through the sizes to help keep weight down and ensure smaller frames aren't too harsh whilst the larger sizes maintain stiffness.
Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Review 1 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knockerhero
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great spec for the price

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have just upgraded to my first road bike after having a hybrid for 2 years to commute to work. Taking it a bit more seriously I decided to get a road bike and I've not been disappointed. It has taken a little while to get the body position correct but it is much faster than previous bike.
Overall the bike has great spec for the price. 105 mainly all round and the opportunity to upgrade components means I got a great deal. Very impressed with feel of bike as well. Some nice comments from people I ride with as well about the look of bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iluvgadgets
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Beautifully made

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I thought this bike looked quite dull in pictures on the web. As it was discounted though, it was on my shortlist when I went into the shop to have a look. The impression you get when you see it is totally different, it looks fabulous with an understated style that suggests no bling - just performance. It went to the top of my list & I bought it.
I watched Chris Hoy on Youtube talking about the 'honesty' of this bike. It's not a cheap carbon bike made to look good & grab those buyers, but a top quality aluminium frame with superb 105 items fitted.
From my point of view the ancillaries are just right. No pedals supplied (you will fit your own anyway & they would steal a few pounds that could be spent on the bike). The wheels are bottom of the range, but again, you can get by with these, it means good money has been spent on the frame & to get the best out of the bike you will fit your own wheels. I put a pair of Zondas on & they work great.
The brakes are good, bars, bar tape, stem & the seat stem is actually quite light too. The saddle is adequate but for comfort it's probably best to choose your own.
At first glance the frame looks very reserved with round tubing, but after a closer look you see that each tube has been subtly shaped adding strength where it's needed & losing weight where it isn't. The finishing of the welds looks fantastic too.
The fork is a complete carbon item, lots of bikes I have looked at have aluminium steerers & this shows again that money has been spent on this bike - not necessarily where you will see it but where it will add true value.
Riding the Hoy is a real pleasure, with great feedback allowing you to sense everything. It feels 'precise', giving you the feeling that you are indeed riding a top quality bike.
I would say that if you are thinking about a Hoy, get down to the showroom & have a closer look. Like me, you may well be impressed by what you see.
Well done Chris, a bike to be proud of.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coxmeister373
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

great spec and very light for aluminium frame

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: seat a little hard
This bike is a very good smooth ride and extremely light for an aluminium frame and 105's for less than a grand - first duathlon next weekend looking forward to it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simz13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick starter

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
A very good all rounder that offers a light and easy to use introduction into road bikes, as my first road bike I have been very impressed with my adjustment to the feel of this bike and since have been cycling to work every day! Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ed1965
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Very comfortable with nice build quality.

Posted25 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Have only done a couple of hours, but my initial impressions are very good. I'm tall at 6ft 5in and now that the seat is adjusted correctly, the riding position is comfortable and efficient.
The handling strikes a nice balance between being stable on the straight whilst having agility in the corners.
Hopefully my experience will continue in the same way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gearshifter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Fast and light, but THAT saddle.......

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Purchased after a lot of thought and test rides, and it's generally very good, it's light, it's fast (even for an "oldie" like me ), it is very highly "specced" and it looks great, although I'm never sure why that matters as - bit like a haircut - you're not the one looking at it ! Gear changes are fast and smooth, now that it's starting to bed in, and the 23mm Continental Ultras seem to grip very well indeed.
Only gripes - despite being sold as a "Sportive" I find the position on the drops very low, and I have had a lot of neck ache ( test rides being shorter, I hadn't noticed ), and there is quite a "reach" on the drops to pull the brakes ( and I don't think I have small hands ) so I am having to stretch a bit. Apparently the handlebar stem can't be "raised", which is a shame as I think it would help, but I'm confident that both issues will get better as I adapt, so will be OK.
The main reason for 4 stars not 5 is the awful saddle - I cannot believe how Sir Chris can design a bike with such very high spec and then seemingly "skimp" on the saddle. It is uncomfortable from the first pedal stroke, quite excruciatingly so in fact, despite me wearing high quality padded shorts, and is totally spoiling my enjoyment.
I am not exactly "bony" in that area and I am totally comfortable on my other bikes, so it has to be this miserable saddle that is 100% to blame. Supposed to be doing a 100Km this weekend but have cancelled as I can't source another saddle in time.
If anyone else has had this problem with this bike, and has solved it, please do let me know what saddle you replaced it with, as there are so many around and they are not cheap, and I need to spend wisely after such an outlay on the bike.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pete72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great bike, good looks, light and hi spec

Posted12 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am really pleased with this bike. Purchased on the ride-to-work scheme and liked the look of something a bit different. Obviously very similar to the Halfords/Boardman concept of decent bike with good spec.
First rides impressed, feels very light and responsive. A bit of chain rubbing on the highest and lowest gears, but I am sure it's just "bedding in".
Very comfortable riding position and overall feel I have a bike that will serve me well!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mike444
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Awesome!

Posted28 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great spec for the price. First road bike for many years, after riding mountain and hybrid. Eats up the miles with ease and very fast. I'm really pleased with it. Purchased via cycle to work, quick, smooth problem free, good service from Evans and at sale price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colinm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First road bike

Posted22 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After weeks of research looking at numerous bikes I opted for the Hoy .003 as it had everything I was looking for and in my price range for my first road bike.
I've clocked up almost 100 miles in a couple of rides and had nothing but great experiences. It is really light and climbs really well. Only slight niggle is the seat as after 1 1/2 hours in it was becoming uncomfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DanW5555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looks, light, 105s shift beautifully

Posted13 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, great spec
The bike itself is fantastic. I researched a long time in trying to decide how to spend my Ride2Work voucher. Previously had a Boardman Sport. After many discussions with other cyclists I decided on the HOY because of the high spec components compared to other brands at the same price. Each to their own but I love the look of the bike; it is very understated and far less showy than other brands. The Velodrome detailing and polished aluminium sections really stand out. The bike has had some admiration already and looks better in the flesh than it does online. I was surprised how light the bike feels as well compared to the Boardman. The Shimano 105 componentry is also excellent, the gears shift really nicely. The bike feels sharp and nippy. I am 6'2" and decided to go for a large frame size. It seems ok but I might need to shortern the stem which feels quite a stretch. People have commented that the seat is firm and should be replaced. Having cycled 80+ miles at the weekend I'd agree that it is firm but would reserve judgement until a few more miles have been done.
Now for the gripes - these are mainly to do with Evans. When the bike arrived the gears and indexing had not been set up properly. The front derailleur was not shifting up. I had to spend a lot of time re-adjusting the gears and cabling. It was very frustrating but I suppose is part of the risk of buying online. Complaints raised to Evans customer services who were quite helpful but this did leave me with a negative experience of the supplier.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wardy
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very comfortable, stiff, light and fast road bike

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, lovely shaped frame, very strong frame, stiff and responsive
hi i bought this bike about a month ago and i couldnt be more pleased with it. i bought this to replace a trek madone that i had sold because although it was also a lovely bike i was always wary of a full carbon frame, my carbon frame developed a couple of chips and scrapes due to use so it didnt inspire much confidence when pushing it hard on decents and such like. this bike might be about half a kg heavier than the madone, but it definately doesnt feel it on the road. i received an ultegra derailleur and brakeset, sram 52 39 chainset as a present on my last birthday and had not fitted them to my bike at the time, so it was great to be able to upgrade these parts as soon as the bike arrived. i cant really comment on the bikes origanal chainset and tektro brakes as i didnt ride the bike until i had he upgrades made. anyway getting back to the bike, it looks absolutely stunning in the mat black and silver, it is very stiff and responsive and climbs like a mountain goat and its very stable and has a very planted feeling on the decents its also has a very comfortable riding position so you could ride it all day, ideal for racing and sportive riding alike. i cant comment on the comfort of the saddle either as i have a favourite saddle that ive always got on with so that was fitted on day one aswell. {sr seta}. im fitting a new set of mavic ksyrium sl wheels tomorrow as well, so it should be an absolute rocketship then. looking forward to many pleasurable miles on this bike. why bother with carbon when these 6066 alloy frames are almost as light and stiff and they definately will stand the test of time. highly recommend this bike, hope this helped. im 5ft 10 in and i bought the m/l frame and it fits a treat.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Punjanaman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A revelation at the this price !

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I should start by explaining the background to this purchase.I plan to complete 2 sportives back to back at the end of June but 3 weeks before the events my frame developed a crack and had to be scrapped.I needed a bike FAST but had no money . A long day trawling through the internet and i discovered the Hoy range.The plan was to buy a cheap shop-soiled bike as a stop-gap before i could save my pennies and buy a "proper" bike.The order was placed and the bike duly arrived 4 days later. Initial impressions were good, i liked the colour scheme and build quality was good.The initial ride was a revelation.I took the bike for a quick 30 mile set-up ride and was very impressed with the feel and ride quality.The ride was so smooth i dismounted to check the tyre pressures, surely it should have a harsher ride on 700 x 23's ...but no pressures were correct and low speed road buzz was absorbed incredibly well much better than my previous bike with carbon seat stays.High speed descents on wash-board roads were tackled without the usual judder and shake i have become accustomed to. You can really feel the difference in the stronger bottom bracket arrangement with the slushy feeling gone, when you rise out the saddle on climbs you can feel the power going to the wheels not flexing the frame.The steerer tube on this model is long with several spacers to allow you to select the 'bar height that best suits. As i was intending to ride to 100+ mile sportives with this bike i have the 'bars quite high but the option is there to drop them much lower for a more aero riding position.
My backside never touched the saddle ( i only ever ride Brooks) so i can't comment, but it did look extremely thinly padded and rather uncomfortable, but saddles are always such a personal fit that its up to the individual rider to decide. Wheels are light and make a noticeable difference when you put the hammer down.The brakes however are pretty bad , describing them as "wooden" would be a compliment !! They have little feel and no modulation and you wonder how they came to chosen with the rest of the package. I said at the start of this review that this purchase was planned as a stop-gap until i could afford a "proper" bike , after today's 75 mile training run i can tell you that's not going to happen, this bikes a KEEPER .
Evans have really got it right with this formula if they can do something with the brakes i would happily have paid much more for this bike ...10 out 10 ! ! !
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basildonvegas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

King of the Road!

Posted22 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, great components
I collected my new Hoy Sa Calobra .003 last week and I'm already smitten. This is my third bike purchase on the Ride 2 Work scheme, and each time I get more 'bike' (and less accessories). I genuinely cannot believe there is a better bike available for £1000. The 105 levers shift effortlessly; the crank whirs beautifully; the drop handlebars are way more comfortable than on my previous bike (I'm a tall lad, but feel great on the drops). It handles really well. You can ride it fast, and it feels really stable. And to top it all off, it looks like a beaut too. I've had admiring comments and glances from other cyclists - it's like going out with a supermodel!
Some people said the seat was painful. It is a bit of an acquired taste, but after a few rides it feels fine.
In summary, I cannot recommend this bike highly enough - well done Sir Chris, and the chap who helped him design it (who I randomly bumped into on my ride home through London yesterday!). The best £1000 bike out there.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FabriciBarros18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

The Features don't seem amazing

Posted14 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike is amazing, very light, comfortable and definitely I would recommend it. I had a boardman but HOY bike is far much better. Planning to by another HOY (city version).
However the gears are a bit noisy. Though I think this fact is only occurring because in the store the gears were not set properly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great Road Bike

Posted16 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
The Hoy SA Calobra .003 is a great bike, the build quality and the ride are exactly what you expect when buying a bike with Chris Hoy's name on it.
as soon as you get on the bike it feels right, free moving not to focused and yet responsive and fast. I did have a Specialized Secteur which disappeared one night meaning i needed a new bike and I couldn't be happier with the Hoy.
The one thing that may need changing is the seat but i have yet to make that change.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great value for money

Posted29 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only had this bike a few weeks but really impressed. Tried other bikes in this price range and this is streets ahead. Fast, Climbs great and really comfortable. This was recommended by one of the Brighton Store staff (Ed Allan) glad I listened to him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ali111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great quality, great spec

Posted09 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great spec
This is my first road bike since being a teenager. What can I say? It's a revelation compared to what I had back then.
After a lot of research on what could be had in the £1000 bracket (Ride2Work) it was soon clear that the Hoy SaCalobra .003 was ahead of the competition with regard to specification, in both terms of groupset and wheels/tyres.
Frame geometry is a nice balance between comfort and speed with a fantastic construction quality. Nice neat welds and a colour scheme that although might not be to everyone's taste certainly appealed to me.
One very happy Hoy owner here, who will happily recommend one to anyone else looking in this price bracket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GolfCoastRidin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

As the ditty says, a good all rounder

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought the Sa Calobra .003 a couple of weeks ago as a re-introduction to road bikes. Wanted something that looked a little bit different but still enjoyed the reliability of familiar brand componentry. It's light and manouverable and nippy up hills. I find the front end a little twitchy but suspect that is just my amateurish attempts as I return to the drops after a long time away. Understand from Evans Edinburgh that different stem lengths and handlbar sizes will be available at no extra cost in due course and think I might have benefitted from that as I have not yet found the perfect riding position. But overrall the Sa Calobra has been a really good experience and as a well specced intro level roadie I wouldn't hesistate to recommend. Evans and Sir Chris may well be a perfect combination!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt1982
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Easy to use, efficient & great look!

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Getting much more out of this bike than my last, lightweight and efficient whilst also being relatively durable on the North West roads!
Customer service at Evans was fantastic and I would definately recommend the bike and service from Evans Cycles. Thanks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
billki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great quality for the price

Posted21 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Could not believe the quality of the components for the price.
Have had the bike for over a month now and done 250 miles. The ride is positive and the gear change really clicks into place. Acceleration is superb and the brakes really do pull you up. Fitted the Shimano 105 pedals to finish the bike off and would really recommend the whole package to anybody who wants a quality bike at a great price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>