Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike

HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike

The Sa Calobra is a true all-rounder that's as equally at home racing as it is in a sportive or longer weekend ride, capable of handling typical UK roads or Spring Classic terrain. In the saddle you will find the Sa Calobra offers a fast, nimble ride with a confident and reassured character, effortlessly carving through sweeping corners and willing you to pedal faster on the open stretches. A 100% monocoque carbon fork, thin-wall slim seat stays and a tapered top tube maintains rider comfort while the front end of the bike retains plenty of rigidity for power transfer and a quick handling response. The down tube broadens into the bottom bracket area for maximum stiffness and oversized, multi-profiled chain stays help ensure power from each pedal stroke is transferred to the road. We have also utilized proportional tubing through the sizes to help keep weight down and ensure smaller frames aren't too harsh whilst the larger sizes maintain stiffness.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Review 1 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great Road Bike

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
The Hoy SA Calobra .003 is a great bike, the build quality and the ride are exactly what you expect when buying a bike with Chris Hoy's name on it.
as soon as you get on the bike it feels right, free moving not to focused and yet responsive and fast. I did have a Specialized Secteur which disappeared one night meaning i needed a new bike and I couldn't be happier with the Hoy.
The one thing that may need changing is the seat but i have yet to make that change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great value for money

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only had this bike a few weeks but really impressed. Tried other bikes in this price range and this is streets ahead. Fast, Climbs great and really comfortable. This was recommended by one of the Brighton Store staff (Ed Allan) glad I listened to him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ali111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great quality, great spec

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great spec
This is my first road bike since being a teenager. What can I say? It's a revelation compared to what I had back then.
After a lot of research on what could be had in the £1000 bracket (Ride2Work) it was soon clear that the Hoy SaCalobra .003 was ahead of the competition with regard to specification, in both terms of groupset and wheels/tyres.
Frame geometry is a nice balance between comfort and speed with a fantastic construction quality. Nice neat welds and a colour scheme that although might not be to everyone's taste certainly appealed to me.
One very happy Hoy owner here, who will happily recommend one to anyone else looking in this price bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GolfCoastRidin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

As the ditty says, a good all rounder

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought the Sa Calobra .003 a couple of weeks ago as a re-introduction to road bikes. Wanted something that looked a little bit different but still enjoyed the reliability of familiar brand componentry. It's light and manouverable and nippy up hills. I find the front end a little twitchy but suspect that is just my amateurish attempts as I return to the drops after a long time away. Understand from Evans Edinburgh that different stem lengths and handlbar sizes will be available at no extra cost in due course and think I might have benefitted from that as I have not yet found the perfect riding position. But overrall the Sa Calobra has been a really good experience and as a well specced intro level roadie I wouldn't hesistate to recommend. Evans and Sir Chris may well be a perfect combination!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt1982
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Easy to use, efficient & great look!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Getting much more out of this bike than my last, lightweight and efficient whilst also being relatively durable on the North West roads!
Customer service at Evans was fantastic and I would definately recommend the bike and service from Evans Cycles. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
billki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great quality for the price

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Could not believe the quality of the components for the price.
Have had the bike for over a month now and done 250 miles. The ride is positive and the gear change really clicks into place. Acceleration is superb and the brakes really do pull you up. Fitted the Shimano 105 pedals to finish the bike off and would really recommend the whole package to anybody who wants a quality bike at a great price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElfNSafeT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike for the money

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had the opportunity to get a bike on our company ride 2 work scheme. It is surprising how few reviews there are our there for this bike so I went to store just to see it for real. I had originally had a shortlist of three bikes to consider but when I saw them I just wanted this on. The spec is spot on for the money and the bike just looks great.
I ordered the bike with some Shimano SPD SL pedals with the £50 of free gear.
I have only been out for a quick ride a few times but it is great to ride. I am six foot four and found the XL to be plenty big enough. The gear shifters are a dream and so far I just want to get on it and go out. I have a longer ride planned for tomorrow and can't wait to s what it can do uphill and down.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spenceuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Overall very impressed!

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've always ridden Mountain bikes and had a few varying from £400-£1500 so although not top of the range I've had decent bikes. I did a lot of research into buying my first road bike and everyone said the most important thing is that you find it comfortable. Well I test road the Giant Defy, Trek, Cannondale Synapse, Scott and to be honest they all felt very similar to me, so look and spec came into it. When the Hoy came out I loved the look and the spec seemed good, got £50 off with a voucher so even better for £950. I can't compare as it's my first road bike but I love it and am really happy, if I was offered the oppurtunity to swap it now there is no way I would. It feels stiff and handles well.
The negatives -
The saddle isnt great and I've put a Specialized one on from my Mountain bike. This might just be personal but I think it could be better.
After 200 miles the rear wheel had a buckle, which I think is a little soon.
If you are contemplating this bike I would definetely go for it, I love it, and most importantly, it's so fun to ride.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Sa Calobra .003 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iain70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It Does exactly what it says on the tin !!!!!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I initially went in store to buy a Trek Bike but my Fiancee spotted the HOY bike on display. As soon as I saw it I knew I wanted it. I took the Sa Calobra 002 out on a test ride and loved every minute of it, but opted to go for the 003 version. I ordered it and it was delivered the next day, all I had to do was adjust the seat and handle bars. Only had it two days but what a machine the gears are smooth the brakes are sharp and its so quiet. well apart from me puffing out load cause I am so unfit !!!! Well worth the dosh especially for the specifications on the bike.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.