Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike

HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike

The Sa Calobra is a true all-rounder that's as equally at home racing as it is in a sportive or longer weekend ride, capable of handling typical UK roads or Spring Classic terrain. In the saddle you will find the Sa Calobra offers a fast, nimble ride with a confident and reassured character, effortlessly carving through sweeping corners and willing you to pedal faster on the open stretches. A 100% monocoque carbon fork, thin-wall slim seat stays and a tapered top tube maintains rider comfort while the front end of the bike retains plenty of rigidity for power transfer and a quick handling response. The down tube broadens into the bottom bracket area for maximum stiffness and oversized, multi-profiled chain stays help ensure power from each pedal stroke is transferred to the road. We have also utilized proportional tubing through the sizes to help keep weight down and ensure smaller frames aren't too harsh whilst the larger sizes maintain stiffness.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Review 1 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shortshorts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beautiful road bike

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
What can I say? I took ages looking for a new road bike before settling on the Sa Calobra .002 and I'm glad I took my time. I think the componentry on this frame, at that price, can't be beaten.
But it's not just a good purchase, it is a beautiful bike to ride. It handles fantastically, and seems to urge you to ride faster and further. I'm putting more miles in on this bike, it just wants to keep on riding.
Great groupset, very comfortable (for a road bike!) ride, and a strong frame that doesn't feel like it is going to skit out from beneath you. And all with Chris Hoy's name on the frame to egg you on to do better and ride further (well, it works for me anyway!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenbar
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb value great ride!!!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
An excellent ride. handles beautifully and really responsive. I ride about 10k (kilometres) P/A round the Aude (France) and Southern Spain...Lots of mountains and cant wait to do spain later this year. Id happily recommend this bike to anyone wanting "That next step" ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faroon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great First 'Proper' Road Bike

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My son is nearly 11. Having just grown out of his 24 inch wheeled MTB, he really wanted a road bike for his birthday, rather than a new MTB. The kids' bikes are good fit for him right now, but he'll grow out of it in a matter of months, I suspect, so we went for the XXS size of the Sa Calobra .002.
It's was wee bit big for him - we had to ask the techs at Evans Edinburgh to cut an inch off the seat post, and we put on a shorter stem, but it'll last him until he's 14, I suspect.
The kit for the money is great. Tiagra 2014 has lost the little thumb clickers of old, replaced with the same shifter design as 105 (and Dura Ace, for that matter), so the gears are much more easily accessed from the drops. The reach for the brakes from the hoods is perhaps a wee bit big for 11 year old hands, but he's perfectly happy on the drops!
Great kit, great frame, great bike. Many of my grown-up friends are particularly jealous of his new bike.
PS - We got this with TESCO vouchers, doubled in value due to the current promotion. No hassle at all, Evans Edinburgh just took the money off when I gave them the voucher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neil2222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Perfect Recommendation

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I recently upgraded from a HOY Hybrid that I purchased last year. This is a very good bike for the money a great recommendation by the guys in Evans Gatwick.
The only problem was the saddle which is very, very uncomfortable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tude

Great value for money

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Won't get better value for money, great paint job too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great Bike

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, responsive
Very responsive and agile, you look forward to getting out to rack up the miles!! Great quality accessories too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony42

Brilliant value sportive / winter / road bike

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Have done around 200 miles so for over various profiles and the bike is fantastic. Handles well, groupset is great and everything responsive and smooth.
Also, excellent delivery and service from Evans too.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pulling2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

what a bike!!!

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: saddle
i was after a road bike as i always used my mountain bike on the roads so went into the reading branch to look at the specialized or fuji i had a few options but not the hoy,
i saw the hoy and liked the colors and how light it felt so thought id see if it fit me and it fitted better than all the others.
I have had the bikes a few months now and racked up 100s of miles on it and the only thing i had to change was the saddle as it was a bit uncomfortable,
The ride is fantastic i can easily keep speeds above 20mph with no difficulty maneuvering is great on the bike too gears are smooth it really is a superb bike!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mrniall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing frame, great spec, great value.

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hoy parts like the stem are a bit uninspiring
I got swept up by the 'cyclocross for every season' craze last year but realised I was spending 90% of my time on the road so decided to bite the bullet and go for a full road. Being a real miser, I was searching based on spec and quality and was basically set on getting either a Ribble Ultralite with veloce or a ribble evo pro carbon with tiagra. But the 65 quid ribble charge you to use their cyclescheme put me off a bit. When I started looking around it seemed the de facto kit for this price point was sora and carbon legs only so was very excited to find a full carbon fork and tiagra for this money. They say a good aluminium frame is miles better than a cheap carbon and I couldn't agree more. The USP of this bike isn't the HOY badge on the front, it's the way it rides IMHO.
Balancing speed and comfort is difficult but this bike delivers both in spades, I'm a big guy but there is no flex at all under hard riding but it still manages good comfort over long distances. The HOY branded components are nice without being overly inspiring, and the wheels are a bit on the heavy side but definitely not a hindrance. Another reviewer said this bike pushes you to go faster and they weren't joking! It is a very fast bike, easily good enough to not embarrass yourself in a club run, sportive or TT (with aeros of course). This is a solid bike and a great platform for upgrades. And I think the paint job is lovely - it's understated and classy, so I think less likely to attract thieves but, more importantly for me, does not demand Lycra and neon cycling tops so you can be a road cyclist without having dress like Cipollini (other cyclists are available). If you are upgrading from a cyclo, mountain, or hybrid you'll wonder why you didn't get one years ago! (Although they weren't available years ago so you probably won't think that at all...)
N.b I bought mine off the website without riding it first, based on these reviews - so with that in mind I've had to buy a shorter stem as I'm a bit on the portly side. I'm 5'11 and bought m/l
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roadbikejunkie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Rides like a £2k bike!!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Right, where do I start?!! I am a seasoned road biker who does on average 900-1100 miles per month. I have ridden and owned most of the major bike brands like Trek, Specialized, Scott, Lite Speed etc,etc.
I was in urgent need of a new bike as my war horse commuter was in need of a lot of repair.
I was browsing the Evans site and stumbled across the Chris Hoy range of bikes.
I popped into the Wimbledon store on June 26th and as soon as I saw the Calobra I knew I had to give it a test ride.
So, what's it like? Well, right from the word go I noticed how smooth, stiff and responsive it was.
I decided to head up Wimbledon Hill and got out of the saddle and seconds later I was at the top. The tiagra gears shift smoothly and effortlessly, tiagra really is the new 105!
When any amount of power is applied, the bike responds instantly and all of the force is transferred directly through to the road and results in instant speed. Once up to speed you have a real sense that the bike is saying "come on chicken legs, is that all ya got!"
The wheels are ok but are cheap and will be upgraded in due course but used presently for my hilly 30 mile round trip daily commute.
It ascends like a Mountain Goat on speed and descends like a lead balloon thrown from the top of Mount Everest! It corners well and all in all is one of my favourite bikes that I have ever ridden and I have ridden a fair few.
If you are tired of the obvious brands, then I would urge you to try the Hoy range. Chris played an integral pat in the design and build of the bike and it really shows when riding it, he just didn't sign the frames as some cheap marketing ploy, he is REALLY PASSIONATE about these babies!
I have been told that Hoy is also releasing a 'component range' for the bikes which will no doubt include stems, seat posts and other bits and pieces so that you can create the PERFECT fitting Hoy steed!!
Give it a test ride...these babies fly!!
ps I'm currently injured but managed an 18 mile blast yesterday...what a dream, what an absolute dream of a ride....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
denull
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Lovely bike for the price

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: some parts are cheap
The bike is quite amazing for the price. But I had a small crash and I broke the chainring. Also the tyres and the wheels are quite cheap and they are a bit bent after the first week on the road. I am currently having some ticking noises when pedalling only and I asume it's from the bottom bracket because there is nothing wrong with the new chainring.
If you ask me save some more money and go for the .004 version of the bike.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great bit of kit at this price tag

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first road bike. Having never owned one i was unsure what i needed exactly for my 20 mile round commute trip with a very tasty hill halfway. Road tested 8 or 9 bikes at the Bristol store, a very patient and knowledgable staff member helped throughout. Once i got on to the S.A Calobra , it felt right immediatly. Comfortable and light. I was concerned about it having only 2 gears at the front. But i had nothing to fear. I get up my steep hill no problem. And i have knocked 10-12 mins off my 45 min cycle ride. The speed i can get on the flat is incredible . Love this bike. Highly recommend a road test.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HOY Sa Calobra .002 2014 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I2zy
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

PostedJune 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not full shimano tiagra set
Tried several bikes before settling on the Hoy Sa Calobra .002 as a first proper road bike (have a 20 odd year old heavy steel bike- which I still like). Did not have any real expectations as bike only just released and no reviews in the press. In the end, between Cube Peloton Pro and this. Chose this as the geometry suits me as well and ride more comfortable (I'm 170 cm with short legs). Handles well, stiffness is alright and lightweight enough for my purpose. Personally quite like the understated design and finish. Negative comments would be lack of full Tiagra sets (brakes aren't) and perhaps better wheelsets but these are minor things at present. So far have only done ~50 miles, and I'm rather pleased with it. Would recommend a test ride.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.