Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike

HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike

When we set about designing the Shizuoka it needed to be fast-rolling to get you from A-B as quick and effortlessly as possible but strong and reliable enough to cope with the tough city streets or short-cut tracks. We designed the bike around a lightweight but durable triple-butted 6061 aluminium frame, with fast 700C wheels using semi-treaded 28C tyres on wider rims to help increase rolling speed and comfort. Rims can become dirty and worn quickly around town, causing defective braking so every HOY city bike is equipped with all-weather hydraulic disc brakes for reliable stopping power. The Shizuoka boasts all of the practicalities you would expect including rack mounts and plenty of clearance for mudguards and larger cyclo-cross tyres if light off-road use is your thing too. The Shizuoka .003 has a lighter carbon-bladed fork as well as a wider-ratio 20-speed SRAM X5 and Apex drivetrain with an FSA Omega chainset, so it's suited to bigger hills, longer rides or simply turning a bigger gear. Upgraded Tektro Gemini brakes improve braking ergonomics and feel - a faster bike needs better brakes.
Overall rating:
4.594 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 out of 32Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Robust and lightweight

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This bike's robust design is ideal for riding through narrow country lanes and being lightweight is great on faster roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Great bike,

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought this bike a few weeks ago, never ever had a bike that cost this much, didn't realise what I've been missing. The bike is light, plenty of peddle power and no trouble getting up those hills. The only grumble I have is on our lovely roads you can feels the bumps badly for an old git like me so have invested in a carbon seat post with suspension what a buy, not cheap but what a difference. Also invested in new saddle, slightly wider but again more comfortable. I suppose you could class me as a novice rider on this quality bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but had parts changed after a bikefit!!

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Liked the colour/weight...test ride at Evans Castleford seemed good (but its flat!) living with it for over a few months now and I found the bars needing adjustment an the saddle painful! I was worried that the lack of gears would catch me out on the hills round here and was a struggle in places......but then ....Bikefit!!!!! Just a couple of weeks in after having a fitting and its a nice place to be, very enjoyable!! But I had saddle changed and a riser handlebar fitted. Still don't feel the tyres give me lots of grip on corners but I haven't had the ususal "P" yet so I'll live with that for now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Norwich

Excellent advice & product

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, stands out from all the others!
I saw Tom in the Norwich branch. I was prepared to spend a fair bit as I use my bike for work and have ditched the car! Tom talked me down from the higher model (saving me £225) and also took off £75 for my ancient heap.
The HOY, well it really is the business. Light, fast and unusual. I don't want a machine the same as everyone else. It really stands out thanks to the paint work and name. Gear changing is slick. Brakes are unusual, configured differently and boy does the Hoy stop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
it is smooth and fast and looks good and good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sweet ride

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is the second Hoy i bought in a year (first got stolen unfortunaly) but i stick with the choice i made in the first place, mainly use it for commuting, light with good response and great break, i update to the 003 from 001, to have more range of gears, not sure yet for my use i need it but i defenitly got more speed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT BUY

Posted06 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a pensioner who took up cycling again for health reasons I wanted a lighter alternative to my usual Mountain Bike .After some research I decided on this one and I have not been disappointed. It is fast, responsive, with superb gear shifting.
It represents excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Solid ride

Posted05 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Switched to the Hoy from a heavier mountain bike for commute with occasional track use.
Firmer ride than am used to, but noticeably quicker on the road. Lovely light shifting action from the Sram chainset, and firm powerful braking that I have become so used to on the MTB, Does exactly what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Lots to like, good all-weather commuter

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, hydraulic disks
I've had this bike for almost a year now and ridden to work pretty much every weekday so feel able to critique. I've had no major issues with the bike and have been very impressed with it. The brakes are excellent and the 28mm tyre choice is perfect for commuting. I've even taken it off road. No punctures so the tyres are impressive and the wheels still perfectly true. The only minor gripes have been the clip holding the hydraulic hose onto the front fork came off quite easily and was lost, also some of the bolts are starting to rust (but only front reflector and QR skewer) which just shows where some sub-standard components have been fitted. The mounting of the shifters under the bar also meant that the top tube is scratched from where the bar has been turned over 90 degrees and hit it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very, very good!

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first hybrid and I couldn't be happier. Light, quick, strong and looks good as well.
The only reason why it doesn't get a 5 stars rating from me is due to the included pedals. They feel out of place in this, otherwise great bike, and I'd recommend getting another set right away.
Other than that, can't really fault it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

HOY Shizuoka .003 2015

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: saddle, pedals
The bike is well made very light frame big change from my old mtb bike
delivery was quick no problems i changed the saddle for more comfort and pedals which where plastic type but both these are person taste overal this is a great bike look forward to 100,s of miles of fast rides
on this excellent bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great Bike

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: handlebar/stem
I have owned approx 10 bikes and used all of them for thousands of miles. This is one of the best bikes I've ever bought. Particularly considering the price. Very lightweight for a bike of this price and the same goes for the quality of the brakes.
Very easy to fit full mudguards and the disc calipers don't get in the way either.
Wheels and tyres were just what I was after with the strength of an MTB rim and efficiency of 28c for commuting.
Two criticisms. Slightly larger front chain ring would be nice and a slightly longer stem with more rise and possibly riser bars would be a better riding position for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great bike, light weight and smooth

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Wanted one of these for a while, certainly lighter than my other bike. Gear changes are very smooth and breaks extremely responsive (not surprised given they are hydraulic). Comfortable ride as well...
Only things I'd say, gear shifters needed repositioning a couple of times until they were right (both shifters are click forward on each hand) and tyres were naff, I changed these without as much as putting a metre on them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased with this bike, which I bought for commuting purposes. It is light, fast and the components are high quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chelmsford

Excellent hybrid bike for commuting and leisure

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had my Hoy for three weeks now, and have ridden it on several leisure rides around country lanes (once in the pouring rain); and have commuted to and from work several times, and intend to ride to work almost every shift from now on.
My first commute the whole way into work (instead of ride/train/ride) was over 17 miles; I managed to ride in well over a minute quicker per km than previous rides, and even with stopping at red traffic lights made it to work in 1hr 25 minutes (not bad for this old Nanny).
The bike is very responsive on the gears, I quickly got used to going up and down the gears with my thumbs only, and the hydraulic brakes work brilliantly, the bike feels very secure to ride in traffic and on open roads.
The wide handle bars took a bit of getting used to, but the grips are comfortable; I have had mudguards and pannier rack fitted, and have found my Topeak MTX trunk bag great, fitting in everything I need easily.
The bike is much lighter than my old Pinnacle, making it easy to lift up an down stairs at stations (not that I am intending to do that often now). I have found it a bit dark to look at with the grey frame and black wheels, but have added spoke reflectors and hi viz light strips (from a well known budget supermarket) on the bike rack frame to lighten it a bit, and hope it will seem anonymous if I have to leave it locked up in public.
The saddle is comfy so far, I don't need my old gel cover on it, and I have quickly got used to the clips I added on the pedals. I am looking forward to many, many more happy miles on my Hoy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great lightweight commuter bike

Posted26 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Really enjoying this new purchase. Previously been using a Kona MTB for my journey and sick of carrying the weight of unnecessary additions like front suspension. This bike feels lighter than the D-lock I bought at the same time! I'm no expert but this bike felt way nicer to ride than the cheaper alternatives that I tried out for test rides. The only slight negative is the plastic pedals seem really naff for such a nice bike - I may well be looking for some replacements soon. For the high price tag I can't understand why much better pedals aren't included. I'd recommend allowing for the cost of suitable mudguards too as they are essential for riding in the wet.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent bike

Posted06 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having been predominantly a mountain biker, and never having got into road biking, I needed a bike for commuting and other 'light duties'. I couldn't decide between a hybrid MTB, a cyclo-cross or a road bike. The staff at Evans were really great in helping me with my decision and I am glad they did. This bike is excellent and it's now my bike of choice for all of non-technical stuff. To the extent that I barely use my Enduro. It's light and it flies. The equipment on it is of good quality and it just works. The disc brakes work really well and the riding position for me is excellent. I have used it on pretty rough tracks and it performs well in both wet and dry. One small fly in the ointment was tyre pressure. I came with 75PSI and that's what I assumed it needed. After 6 pinch flats on one session I went back into Evans and they advised I run at 95PSI. Since then, touch wood, there have been no further issues. Obviously you wouldn't want to use it on your favourite down hill or technical section but for moderately rough tracks and the road I highly recommend it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great Value Bike

Posted04 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: cheap decals
HI Had mine for over a year now, moved house so never had time to do this,I am well pleased with this bike,after my Cannondale sl3 Mountain bike, that got stolen,As expected for road use this is so much faster and easier to ride,Off road is ok for short rides,I did fit a Brookes saddle, but I do that with all my bikes.I believe I had the first one in store,good staff good service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great cycle, exactly what I was looking for.

Posted18 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I haven't used my new cycle for any long rides yet, but I felt instantly at home on it, and once I've swapped the saddle for my Selle Italia model, I can fine tune the seat and bars to fit me perfectly.
I find the bars a bit wide, but I'll be trimming a bit off the ends soon.
The brakes are settling in nicely now, and seem to be powerful but controllable, which will be important on wet roads and during the winter months.
There is a good range of gears, although I must admit I've upgraded to a 50 tooth chain wheel.
The steering is quick, but not twitchy, so it provides an excellent feel when steering through traffic.
The supplied tyres roll reasonably well if kept close to their maximum pressure, so I expect I'll keep those on until they are worn enough to need replacing.
My only disappointment so far is that the light blue, black and red bands of the logo on the top tube are on a sticker rather than painted on, This is a one piece sticker, which also passes around the front of the headtube, and there are parts of this sticker that have lifted off the curved tubes. I suspect that moisture could get under the sticker at these points, and I hope that the sticker doesn't lift off.
Other than that, I'm happy with the purchase of this cycle, and I'm looking forward to many years of use from it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Well specced good geometry

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, size range
Cons: colour
The Hoy guys have def done their homework. This is a well specced bike . If you are short then the xxs is well worth looking at as the geometry and component sizing is spot on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>