Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike

HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike

When we set about designing the Shizuoka it needed to be fast-rolling to get you from A-B as quick and effortlessly as possible but strong and reliable enough to cope with the tough city streets or short-cut tracks. We designed the bike around a lightweight but durable triple-butted 6061 aluminium frame, with fast 700C wheels using semi-treaded 28C tyres on wider rims to help increase rolling speed and comfort. Rims can become dirty and worn quickly around town, causing defective braking so every HOY city bike is equipped with all-weather hydraulic disc brakes for reliable stopping power. The Shizuoka boasts all of the practicalities you would expect including rack mounts and plenty of clearance for mudguards and larger cyclo-cross tyres if light off-road use is your thing too. The Shizuoka .003 has a lighter carbon-bladed fork as well as a wider-ratio 20-speed SRAM X5 and Apex drivetrain with an FSA Omega chainset, so it's suited to bigger hills, longer rides or simply turning a bigger gear. Upgraded Tektro Gemini brakes improve braking ergonomics and feel - a faster bike needs better brakes.
Overall rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 39Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good step up on my daily commute

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
I'm not a bike officianado, and I use my bike for my daily commute through west London. The bike is quick, has a good range of gears, relatively light, and excellent breaking. It replaced my heavier five year old Ridgeback Motion hybrid. I got the bike on the Ride to Work scheme and it arrived much quicker than the timeline outlined on the Evans website. I upgraded the tyres to Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres as I'm reliant on the bike to get to work. I had them on my old bike and despite riding past scrap metal recycling centres who leave all sorts of debris on the road never suffered a puncture. So far so good. The seat is not cushioned, so taking a bit of getting used to, and the pedals are pretty basic. All in all a good choice. The staff at the Fulham branch were helpful and service was quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great commuting bike

Posted30 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I use my bike for commuting around 20 miles/day into Central London. The bike is great - lightweight and I while I prefer drop handlebars the more upright riding position is good for city traffic.
While not as quick as the fastest road bikes, if you are after a light weight quick hybrid, this could be just the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

What a bike

Posted25 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this to start commuting after not riding a bike in 10 years. What a bike. Smooth, easy to ride and looks great.
Been riding it for a month and I can't fault it. Love my commute.
Saddle is uncomfortable at first so get some padded shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Woking

Posted06 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The bicycle is very comfortable to ride and the gear extremely smooth.
Very happy with the purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Impressive machine

Posted04 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
For a relative newbie like me, probably the first thing you notice with the Hoy is how light it is and how powerful the disc brakes are. Unfortunately, I also noticed that the front disc brake was rubbing on mine but managed to sort it out (I found the disk was very slightly warped at one end and needed straightening).
So far the Hoy seems sufficiently robust to be able to cope with our wonderful British roads. The 28 mm tyres are giving me a much firmer ride than I am used to but the increase in speed is worth it. Straight away I’ve been going about 2-3 mph faster on average on the Hoy compared to my old heavier hybrid.
Unfortunately, gear changing is not quite as smooth as I was hoping – I suspect they’ll need adjusting during the 6-week service.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all rounder and very light !!

Posted03 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this bike after getting back into cycling after a 10 year break and this bike is a great all rounder. It is light and surprisingly fast and the quality is extremely good both cosmetically and technically. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it!

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Superb bike. Very light. Brakes are great. Great ride in city streets and towpaths. Didn't love the quick release wheels, have swapped the skewers out with Pitlock, so feeling more secure now. Looks fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Robust and lightweight

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This bike's robust design is ideal for riding through narrow country lanes and being lightweight is great on faster roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Great bike,

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought this bike a few weeks ago, never ever had a bike that cost this much, didn't realise what I've been missing. The bike is light, plenty of peddle power and no trouble getting up those hills. The only grumble I have is on our lovely roads you can feels the bumps badly for an old git like me so have invested in a carbon seat post with suspension what a buy, not cheap but what a difference. Also invested in new saddle, slightly wider but again more comfortable. I suppose you could class me as a novice rider on this quality bike.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but had parts changed after a bikefit!!

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Liked the colour/weight...test ride at Evans Castleford seemed good (but its flat!) living with it for over a few months now and I found the bars needing adjustment an the saddle painful! I was worried that the lack of gears would catch me out on the hills round here and was a struggle in places......but then ....Bikefit!!!!! Just a couple of weeks in after having a fitting and its a nice place to be, very enjoyable!! But I had saddle changed and a riser handlebar fitted. Still don't feel the tyres give me lots of grip on corners but I haven't had the ususal "P" yet so I'll live with that for now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Norwich

Excellent advice & product

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, stands out from all the others!
I saw Tom in the Norwich branch. I was prepared to spend a fair bit as I use my bike for work and have ditched the car! Tom talked me down from the higher model (saving me £225) and also took off £75 for my ancient heap.
The HOY, well it really is the business. Light, fast and unusual. I don't want a machine the same as everyone else. It really stands out thanks to the paint work and name. Gear changing is slick. Brakes are unusual, configured differently and boy does the Hoy stop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
it is smooth and fast and looks good and good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sweet ride

Posted30 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is the second Hoy i bought in a year (first got stolen unfortunaly) but i stick with the choice i made in the first place, mainly use it for commuting, light with good response and great break, i update to the 003 from 001, to have more range of gears, not sure yet for my use i need it but i defenitly got more speed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT BUY

Posted06 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a pensioner who took up cycling again for health reasons I wanted a lighter alternative to my usual Mountain Bike .After some research I decided on this one and I have not been disappointed. It is fast, responsive, with superb gear shifting.
It represents excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Solid ride

Posted05 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Switched to the Hoy from a heavier mountain bike for commute with occasional track use.
Firmer ride than am used to, but noticeably quicker on the road. Lovely light shifting action from the Sram chainset, and firm powerful braking that I have become so used to on the MTB, Does exactly what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Lots to like, good all-weather commuter

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, hydraulic disks
I've had this bike for almost a year now and ridden to work pretty much every weekday so feel able to critique. I've had no major issues with the bike and have been very impressed with it. The brakes are excellent and the 28mm tyre choice is perfect for commuting. I've even taken it off road. No punctures so the tyres are impressive and the wheels still perfectly true. The only minor gripes have been the clip holding the hydraulic hose onto the front fork came off quite easily and was lost, also some of the bolts are starting to rust (but only front reflector and QR skewer) which just shows where some sub-standard components have been fitted. The mounting of the shifters under the bar also meant that the top tube is scratched from where the bar has been turned over 90 degrees and hit it.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very, very good!

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first hybrid and I couldn't be happier. Light, quick, strong and looks good as well.
The only reason why it doesn't get a 5 stars rating from me is due to the included pedals. They feel out of place in this, otherwise great bike, and I'd recommend getting another set right away.
Other than that, can't really fault it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

HOY Shizuoka .003 2015

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: saddle, pedals
The bike is well made very light frame big change from my old mtb bike
delivery was quick no problems i changed the saddle for more comfort and pedals which where plastic type but both these are person taste overal this is a great bike look forward to 100,s of miles of fast rides
on this excellent bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great Bike

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: handlebar/stem
I have owned approx 10 bikes and used all of them for thousands of miles. This is one of the best bikes I've ever bought. Particularly considering the price. Very lightweight for a bike of this price and the same goes for the quality of the brakes.
Very easy to fit full mudguards and the disc calipers don't get in the way either.
Wheels and tyres were just what I was after with the strength of an MTB rim and efficiency of 28c for commuting.
Two criticisms. Slightly larger front chain ring would be nice and a slightly longer stem with more rise and possibly riser bars would be a better riding position for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great bike, light weight and smooth

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Wanted one of these for a while, certainly lighter than my other bike. Gear changes are very smooth and breaks extremely responsive (not surprised given they are hydraulic). Comfortable ride as well...
Only things I'd say, gear shifters needed repositioning a couple of times until they were right (both shifters are click forward on each hand) and tyres were naff, I changed these without as much as putting a metre on them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>