Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike

HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike

When we set about designing the Shizuoka it needed to be fast-rolling to get you from A-B as quick and effortlessly as possible but strong and reliable enough to cope with the tough city streets or short-cut tracks. We designed the bike around a lightweight but durable triple-butted 6061 aluminium frame, with fast 700C wheels using semi-treaded 28C tyres on wider rims to help increase rolling speed and comfort. Rims can become dirty and worn quickly around town, causing defective braking so every HOY city bike is equipped with all-weather hydraulic disc brakes for reliable stopping power. The Shizuoka boasts all of the practicalities you would expect including rack mounts and plenty of clearance for mudguards and larger cyclo-cross tyres if light off-road use is your thing too. The Shizuoka .003 has a lighter carbon-bladed fork as well as a wider-ratio 20-speed SRAM X5 and Apex drivetrain with an FSA Omega chainset, so it's suited to bigger hills, longer rides or simply turning a bigger gear. Upgraded Tektro Gemini brakes improve braking ergonomics and feel - a faster bike needs better brakes.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmatt360
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent, Smooth and Comfy Ride!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: seat post clamp is weak, sram groupset, cheap plastic pedals
I changed to this beast from a Specialized Secteur Sport 2012 model with 105 Groupset. At first I was hesitant as I had upgraded to a Shimano 105 Groupset but the Shimano frame didn't fit well and was causing sciatica due to riding position.
When looking around the Edinburgh branch this bike caught my eye - I took it for a spin and after leaving my wife in the shop I found myself enjoying the ride so much I just kept on riding until I was called by the wife and told to come back to store as she was bored!
The brakes are excellent at stopping and can be bled easily (I haven't needed to - but I have researched already!). The groupset is SRAM unfortunately (I prefer shimano) but well matched for road riding. Snobbery aside I am as fast as I was on the Specialized.
The frame fit is perfect. Maybe however consider changing the tyres to the shwalbe durano line as I find these improve the handling (I ride 700x25c which is borderline fit for the supplied wheelset).
The pedals are rather plasticy and I changed to Shimano SPD pedals. I just simply didn't feel comfortable riding with the pedals provided. For the larger gents amongst us I have felt the seat post clamp is weak and have since replaced it.
So all in all? I love this bike! It has already clocked up over 200 miles on my commute and everytime I get on it still rides like it did when I got it from the shop. I would not however recommend this just as a commuter ride. In fact it should not just be limited to 10 miles a day and instead should be taken for long rides too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAMESDEAN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great looking speed machine

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfectly engineered and balanced with a sleek race beauty. The HOY Shizuoka .003 is the perfect combination of great looks with excellent brakes and gears at a relatively affordable price. I've been blown away Everything about this bike is slick.
The only change I have made is a better saddle (Charge Spoon ) & some BBB bar ends
Also all the staff at Cheltenham branch are amazing to deal with
I will be back next year for a carbon road bike for me and the wife
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jayson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Perfect balance for me, good all round

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
I bought the bike on recommendation from the shop, they even let me try it out. I was looking for something as close to a road bike but in a more comfortable position. Its light enough, strong enough, good spec.
All round great bike!
Very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Louby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Total dream, it flys

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, comfortable for a female rider
Cons: lost one off my pedal reflectors within the first
What can I say, last yr I did the pedal for Scotland on my mountain bike and I completed it in 4.5 hrs...on the Hoy, well 3hrs 10mins. Breaks are smooth and in easy reach. I'm a female rider and I find the bike comfortable even the saddle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mx5claret
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good choice

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Wanted something lighter with disc brakes to upgrade. Done over 200 miles and very pleased with everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richsb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Exactly what I wanted

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
For a 30 minute commute in central London this bike has been the perfect buy. Tough enough to endure the bumps and bends and light enough to mean all the effort is used betting me home not the bike.
SRAM forward-forward levers took a bit of getting used to but now preferred to Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryan75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I highly recommend this product.

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Great bike, enjoying it immensely, really lightweight, yet sturdy. Looks the part too. However, at the price I would expect the saddle to be a tad more comfortable and at least be given the option of add-ons such as mudguards etc.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lukejfk
Country:Italy
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A really good product

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable riding position. Great brakes. Beautiful design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PastaLover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Very pleased with this bike

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Treated myself to a new bike recently (just retired). Didn't know what to go for. Staff at Evans in Brighton were very helpful, talking me through the range. Has been about 20 years since I bought my last one - a comparatively heavy mountain bike.
What a difference! Its much lighter, more responsive and much faster on the road for the same effort - partly due to the tyres. Gear changes are much smooth and I like the spread of ratios. I found the saddle uncomfortable after my first 20 mile ride and have now changed it to a Brookes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyofBristol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought for commuting purposes to allow a child seat to be put on the back. I've never ridden an upright before, but I'm pleased with this - it's lightweight yet still sturdy and pretty quick. Not cheap but a decent spec and worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Emty

Great ride

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have only had this bike a couple of days (last marin nicked) but already have covered a lot of miles, the gear change is smooth and easy, the bike feels stiff and responsive and the brakes are superb. I is comfortable and I keep looking for excuses to get out and have a ride so all in all great.
One drawback and its only a small one is that the decals seem to be really cheaply and sloppily applied, not what I'd expect from a pricey bike.
However, the service that I received from the Wandsworth and Victoria branches of Evans was nothing short of great, the enthusiasm and knowledge of staff about the best that I've come across in bike shops and given there are four cyclists who cycle every day in my family that is an informed compliment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HOY Shizuoka .003 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BillyBoy2
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good choice!!

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this last week to get fit with the commute to work. After a couple of short rides I am impressed! As a normally a mountain bike rider I was very pleased with how easy this bike handles and moves. It looks great and feels like a top quality product. I will enjoy eating the miles up...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.