Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike

HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike

When we set about designing the Shizuoka it needed to be fast-rolling to get you from A-B as quick and effortlessly as possible but strong and reliable enough to cope with the tough city streets or short-cut tracks. We designed the bike around a lightweight but durable triple-butted 6061 aluminium frame, with fast 700C wheels using semi-treaded 28C tyres on wider rims to help increase rolling speed and comfort. Rims can become dirty and worn quickly around town, causing defective braking so every HOY city bike is equipped with all-weather hydraulic disc brakes for reliable stopping power. The Shizuoka boasts all of the practicalities you would expect including rack mounts and plenty of clearance for mudguards and larger cyclo-cross tyres if light off-road use is your thing too. The Shizuoka .002 uses a 1x10 drivetrain for added simplicity and a wide enough gear range for city use, the extra 2 gears reducing the gap between gears. It's fully compatible with a double chainset if you need it in future. Upgraded 10-speed SRAM Apex and X5 components mix the best of MTB and road features to add to the simple, durable and fast concept of the Shizuoka .001
Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bunter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Wish I'd gone for the Boardman CX :(

PostedApril 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Let me start this review by saying that this in no way relates to the staff or service at Evans Cycles Lakeside. They have carried out all work, no questions asked and no hassle......
I brought the bike for my 40 mile daily commute into London from Chafford. I have used most styles of bikes over the years for my commute (CX/ROAD/SINGLESPEED/) and was torn between the Boardman CX or the Hoy. I went into both Halfords and Evans to look at both of the bikes. The Hoy won it over for me due to the single up front and what looked like better build quality!!!
Made a few personal adjustments (shorter bar/bar ends, GatorSkins/mud guards etc) and I was ready for battle.
First 2 weeks, no issues at all.
3rd week there was a grinding noise coming from the rear hub, took it into Evans and they replaced the whole rear wheel due to a faulty Hub...not a great start...!!
Week 4 very loud cracking noise from the Bottom Bracket on way home from work, stopped at Evans on route home and after a complete strip down and re-build, they replaced the BB!!
As I said no issues with Evans but not impressed at all with this bike, I know it may just be bad luck but still....wish Id gone for the Boardman!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FatDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great handling and brakes

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, frame, handling, brakes
Cons: quality of some components
Bought this bike six months ago, use it for commuting most days of the week. The frame is excellent, as are the brakes (my first time using hydraulic disks, incredible performance and feel).
Not sure about the quality of certain other components though, but I guess there's always a compromise. I wasn't happy with the 1x10 ratios or the quality of the cranks/bottom bracket etc so I've had a full SRAM upgrade, now got 3x10, transformed the bike.
Four star rating now that the upgrade has been done, three stars prior to that.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scaifeg9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Light, fast, quality components

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought bike mainly for road use in a rural area but as we live near a forest wanted to occasionally take it along the better forest tracks.
Bike is light and everything worked well straight out of he box. The hydraulic discs are very light and have good modulation and give confidence.
No problems riding it off road though it is a bit bumpy as expected when compared to a mountain bike.
Overall very happy with the purchase and would recommend
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Lightweight and great looking with good components

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought last years 2013 model at a £100 discount as it had better componentry, also preferred the light grey finish to the 2014 dark grey. The frame has lovely welds and was the lightest I could find at the price point and by a large amount at that. Hoy also allow you to choose longer/shorter stem/handlebars at point of sale which is a nice touch (although Evans failed to point this out to me). It rides nice and firm and the 1X10 chainset is a joy and all I need for my commute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CD8535
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

New Hybrid

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike only looks fast but it really delivers, the disc brakes are superb and for the price leaves behind the competiton for spec. With the wheels being 700's there is flexibility with tyre type and width for off roading. Commuted this week 42 miles and it was faultless and very comfortable, great gearing too with a 32 tooth top ring for those hard climbs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calopz
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great commuting bike!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I got specifically the 2013 model because of the 10x1 drivetrain, which simplifies everything. The bike is really light which is convenient for multimodal transport, as its my case here in Copenhagen. The bike was truly faithful to the specifications provided by Evans. After getting the bike I installed full covering mudguards and a frame lock without much trouble. It feels like is built to last, great frame and parts. The shifter and SRAM gears work smoothly and very silently.
I loved the small details like the chain guide, the adjustable grips, and a small bell which helps a lot here. Although the brakes work fine, they are really entry level and not adjustable at all. Overall very pleased, the bike is fast and very light! Great value for money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sn13

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great bike, lightweight, easy to ride and not too many gears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SBee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

love this bike

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
wanted a lightweight, comfortable hybrid that could cope with potholes and some poorly maintained roads on my commute (and one short stretch of off-road), and yet not sacrifice speed, and this bike is perfect. Great value with disc brakes and really smooth quiet gear changing. Had been using a single-speed before and I really liked the low-maintenance aspect, but with a longer commute now I needed to change to multi-speed. Love the fact that this has just one set of 10 speeds. 10 gears is plenty for the terrain I cover, but the fact that it's just one set keeps the maintenance down. And apparently it's an easy upgrade should I decide I want to shift to 2 sets of 10 in the future. Love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoffers1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Light & fast but sturdy

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this bike to replace an older mountain bike that had been fitted with city tyres and used as a city bike. The big difference by far is the weight (the modern equivalent of my older bike is 4kg more than this bike!). This makes the bike so much faster and easier to pedal but it also means that you will definitely see the difference when you ride with panniers.
The brakes are fantastic, having never ridden a bike with hydraulic disc brakes I feel more confident that the brakes work. The SRAM gears are easy to operate though they can feel a little clunky at times. It would have been nice to put a gauge on the gear as I can only tell what gear the bike is in by pedalling.
There is only 1 chainset on the drive chain. If you think about it, most city riding you'll only ever use one anyway and it can take on steep hills so you can keep up with road bikes.
All in all a good bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oskare
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike, great wight, great price

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really nice finish to this bike. Like the setup and it's really fast and agile. Beeing a MTB guy this is the prefect road bike for me. Only thing that might be problematic is the gear range. You cant go super fast, maybe it would be better with a bigger chainring in the front?
The value for this bike with the components it has is also really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tinhat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Lovely bike; fast, comfortable with good brakes.

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to ride, light and fast. Feel like I can cycle for miles without stopping. Already done 120 miles in a couple of weeks and loving it. Looking forward to the next ride with mates over the weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ccrDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

shizuoka 001 and 002

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: mis advertised
I bought two of these an 001 for me and an 002 for my wife. they are nice bikes and for the money the spec is fairly good, well it would be if the bike was built to the spec that is on both the Evans website and the HOY website, basically the bottom bracket is not as advertised and because of that the crankset is of lower quality. when questioned about this Evans were reluctant to build the bikes to spec but they did offer a £100 gift voucher as a consolation prize which is fair enough I guess. I bought these bikes over the chris boardman ones as I thought the spec was better!! but actually I dont now think it is. Evans gave me very good service however, no complaints there The bikes are quite lightweight and pretty fast, gearing is a bit limited and so is some of the finishing kit but for the money I think they are very good and I am very pleased with how they ride, just did my first 40 mile loop on mine without any discomfort. If they had been specced as advertised they would get five stars from me and I would recommend these as a good buy
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from Evans CyclesBy JamesBike DesignerAugust 8, 2013
We apologise for any misinformation on the website, it would appear an error slipped through our upload processes. Happy to hear you’re enjoying the bike. We’ve now amended the spec online, the crankset was correct, it was the BB which was erroneous. We’d love you to feedback further through a longer term review or @hoybikes as you get to know the bike more. Thanks.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
reedcomics
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Light, fun easy to use...

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike and it is a good hybrid for the road but shook the fillings out on the rough trails. I upgraded to a Specialized Expert Pro bike which solved that problem but that was £1k. For £620 this was a great bike and 2kg lighter than my Specialized. If you want a simple fast 10 speed road bike + "LIGHT TRAIL USE" then this does the job very well. It would be nice to see if they ever do a Hardtail version with carbon forks as I may be tempted back...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Derko

Brilliant bike,just what I needed!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fast,light and strong.
Thanks for those breaks!
Brilliant bike,just what I needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danny007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great price, very light,

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As I'm in my early 40s and someone who has not been on bike since been a kid, A friend of mine ask start doing some cycling to keep fit as well, so pop down evans try out couple of bikes. The one for me was this chris hoy bike, and only had it a week and been out two times. Its very light the brakes are very good and stop on a sixpence, also going up hills was a whole lot easier than I thought as bike is so light made so much easier. well I would definitely recommend this bike, or at least if your trying couple of bikes then give this one a try see what you think?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cublon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Well built bike with a great spec

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good components
Bike feels very well built and as fairly new rider it gives me a lot of confidence. The breaks are excellent as are the gears and changing gears is very well laid out.
I took the bike to be security marked, the police there and the bike Dr were all really interested in it. The maintenance guy was amazed that the gears needed very minor adjustment after its first run out and remarked the quality of the components was very high.
I do a mix of road, park and trail riding - nothing too hilly as I don't enjoy it but this copes well with those I do and being light is great for when I have to use the train.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ilikeleaves
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Excellent well buit bike but beware of gears

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: the gear ratio on the 10 speed
A brilliant comfortable bike it runs very smooth the only problem I had was the gears on even a slight downhill gradient or backwind I found that I was spinning out due to the front cog only being 38t.Overall great bike ideal for a 3mile commute around town any further you might require the model above with better gear ratios
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shayan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

bike

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, amazing
juts bought the bike today and its a super fast bike, very smooth.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HOY Shizuoka .002 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
firela
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Excellent bike very nice ride

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Could not be more happy had bike just under a week and just cant stop riding .Great gear change and brakes feel very nice top quality feel everywhere and under 11kgs with Hydraulic disc brakes , excellent value for money cant ask for more a very happy customer .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.