Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Water Bottles & Cages or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE Race Bottle Cage

FWE Race Bottle Cage

This bottle cage will fit bottles from 500ml to 750ml bottles. The FWE Race Bottle Cage features an elegant and innovative design. It has an extended and open design at the back side to make the cage more flexible and look fantastic. If you need a great quality, value for money and lightweight bottle cage that won't cost you those precious seconds, make sure you get yourself a FWE Race Bottle Cage.
Overall rating:
3.419 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
21 out of 31(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Review 1 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CWLL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Possibly unlucky!

PostedApril 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
First time I slid my bottle in the stopping bracket at the bottom snapped. Took it back and the shop staff exchanged (for different type) without question. Not impressed with the carrier but was very happy with the service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dartfrdpadyak05
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

brittle!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: brittle
not recommended for mtb. not built to withstand bashes and crashes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
nifo

Breaks easily. Avoid.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, fragile
The bottom has broken off two of these, when holding a bottle mounted on the seat tube. One even breaking within two miles.
Cannot recommend at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevbar

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Super light, easy to install and most of all easy to get the bottle in and out while riding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
IanC54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Broke first time out

PostedMarch 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, flimsy
Mine broke on the first ride. The bike wasn't dropped, I was using the bottle as I rode and when I had a stop, I noticed that it had cracked. I will be replacing this with an alloy cage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ed1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Cheap but water bottle a little loose

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Worth the money but the bottle sitting in the cage is a little loose and feels insecure.
No rattling however.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cyclist9999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Survived one ride

PostedMarch 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
And broke on the second - guess you get what you pay for..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slowandsteady
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

bottle cage

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does the job. Easy to get bottle in and out. Nice look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
luke1992

Bottom snapped off

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, bottom snaps off
I bought these thinking I had got much more of a bargain than my last cage, and thinking why didn't I get these last time, they look nice, their relatively light. But after about 10 minutes of riding, I heard a snap as I put my bottle back, and the bottom had come off, so I tried superglueing it on, but that didn't work either, snapped off again, I'm not heavy handed at all with my bottles, in fact I was putting them back very lightly, but still SNAP! off it went. So If I were you I wouldn't go for these ones, as tbh they are not that strong even though it is only a bottle haha.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
miked2714
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Lightweight

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Seems excellent and better value than many branded bottle cages. Very light. Can't comment on long-term robustness but it seems good so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MickM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

light good quality

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
light & looks great. Decent product,at a good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
intraining
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

durable, looks good and a decent price

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was looking for a reasonably lightweight holder without going down the carbon route. Found this to be durable, looks good and allows the bottle to slide in and out easily. For the price a very good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
00steve
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Light and great value

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Why buy a carbon cage? This is a third the cost, lighter and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
samd8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Broke on the First Outing!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I bought a pair of these for a new bike because they were the only light-weight ones in the shop (and I was in a hurry!).
Purchased on a Thursday, went for a long ride on the Sunday, took them back to the shop on the Monday. The bottom lip of one of them had snapped clean off. The bottle on the seat tube fell through as I was pedalling- could have ended badly!
Exchanged both with zero fuss in a different branch for the elite customs (same price) and not had any problems with those.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PeeGee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Basic bottle holder.

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cheap, basic bottle holder for what is now my spare bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jezzabel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wont last

PostedOctober 29, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Brought this together with an FWE bottle. The first one arrived in the post cracked in two but had another one sent out fre of charge to replace it. Having used the cage for 7 ride outs the internal paint finish has worn off to to the white plastic underneath not exactly the look I was going for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
sdb22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bottom of cage keeps snapping

PostedOctober 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality
Four of these have broken with normal road use and medium size FWE water bottle in about 6 weeks. The bottom snaps off as you go over bumps or down hill on a rough A road. The last two broke on the same run with the seat tube mounted one lasting less than 50 yards going down hill as I moved the bottle from the first broken one to the second cage.
Evans replaced both free of charge and the guy said if it happens again send them to head office. A job for the weekend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndrewP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good product. Excellent simple bottle cage

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Shopped around before buying the FWE cage.
There are various other options, including lots from Specialised.
Went for this one because the cage holds the bottle without firmly clamping it.
I was worried with some of the other products that I would have to wrench the bottle out of the cage, possibly damaging something.
The FWE has a snug fit, without going overboard. It works great for me.
Thoroughly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pickleonwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a very stylish bottle

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a nice design that works well with the looks of my specialized sports disc 2014 model.
It is easy to fit to my bike and is easy to clean after you go and have fun through the muddy tracks and trails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Race Bottle Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TH1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Well worth it, FWE Race Bottle Cage

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good holders, light, robust, good value and colours to match any paint job.
Fitted to my new road bike and look the biz.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>