Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brakes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

The M785 brake lever is made from forged alloy for the optimum strength and reliability. An extremely adjustable system as the brake lever features reach and free stroke adjustment. The kit also contains sintered pads, plus spare olives and insert should you wish to adjust the length of the cuttable hoses. Using Ice Tech alloy fin pads further improving heat radiation performance, reducing brake fade. Grab yourself this great I-Spec B compatible M785 brake system at this great price.
Overall rating:
4.886 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 44Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 70 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Review 1 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JPMACCA
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Upgrade

Posted23 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: cable length
Used these to upgrade the breaks on a Cannondale MTB that came with Promax fitted. The Promax were driving me mad the amount of rubbing on the rear disc they did so got these as a reasonably priced replacement. Lot better feel to them when breaking so am pleased. Only downside is that cable is a tad long when fitted to a large 29er frame, so if you have a smaller frame may well have extra cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yorkie1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good and stops well!!

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought as my 1st upgrade on my Trek fuel and so far i am very pleased with the product. It came quickly and was well packaged and was also easy to fit to my bike. The results were very good even with the old discs still on the bike stops very well better than before and its also good to have the added benefit of the adjustable levers.
I will add new XT discs and will more than likely upgrade to the xt shifters as well. In all very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
epic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

superb braking and easy to set up.

Posted08 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was running Magura MTS previously absolute rubbish. These do the job so well. They have not been bled since shortening and fitting, because of internal routing but still work e tremly well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oli71
Country:Kuwait
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great braking power,

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The brakes performed really well on all conditions, adjustable levers are a great feature, looks very good specially with the ispec B shifter. Greatly recomend thus product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyhclement
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Brakeset

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Evancycle service is good. I upgrade from slx m675 brake, the feeling(firm) of these were a bit better and a pretty appearance. Everything is provided for shortening the hose..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roscothebosco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sleek and great stopping power

Posted15 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are an upgrade for my brakes from avid elixir 3's and are much better. They brake better, bleed much easier, are compatible with my XT shifters via i spec B and look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mad4itmike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

ready to use just fit it

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
good quality works very well
just fit it no need to bleed
i order it and it arive the next day
wat more could you ask for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sackface
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome Brakes

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these to replace my Avid Elixir 3's that came with my Canyon and what a great decision that was. Brakes came boxed with everything needed to fit, had to shorten both hoses which was no problem as the brakes came with spare olives and barbs, once fitted and pads bedded in the feel and power is awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pablo25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best brakes I've ever had

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
after many Avid and Formula brakes I have decided to get Shimano XT
Easy to maintain and more than enough of braking power!
I'm 13 stone and Shimano XT keeps me safe and full of confidence when hitting the trail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scuba
Country:Thailand
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality, cost, packaging, shipping, Evans, Excelle

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, beautifully packaged
Cons: none
I don't usually write reviews , but I feel compelled in this case, these breaks were part of a multi component shipment, which included, hope pick n mix head set, hope expander T rex 40t cog, shimano shadow plus deraillieur, XT m771 caseette x10 speed, xt I spec shifters and these m785 xt breaks. All Simply beautifull products, the quality of the xt breaks and shifters is amazing, the hope head set is beautifully engineered, the rear shimano xt deraillieur is superb, xt casette is so lite and again beautifully engineered. Way pay triple for XTR? On top of all that, it all arrived, beautifully boxed, with all insructions, fixings , extra bits and bobs..... eg extra long b screw with t rex cog, extra dollies for break hose alteration, and a little crimping tool included too,etc etc.....I'm so happy with all the products I have bought for my custom bike build . Ontop of all that, and most importantly. ?... free shipping to Thailand! I used to buy from CRC who are an excellent company, with superb after sales back up, but it would of cost £100 pounds extra to buy this lot from Crc? I think min spend with Evans is £150 to qualify for free shipping?, Weired the More you spend with CRC the more shipping costs....and evans was the cheapest on most products. Wiggle also offer free shipping (min spend £200). But Evans has blown me away with there service , quqlity of products, and free shipping.....simply amazing. No brainer highly recomended......10 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raraf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Light, inexpensive, quality stoppers

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Initially I was considering Hope brakes, but XT comes at half price! An exceptional brake when combined with ice tek rotors. More than enough power with really good control. Fantastic and high quality brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BecL
Country:United Kingdom

Great

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
nice feel to braking. easy to install .look nice as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bulullu
Country:Malta
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value for money

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have used these breaks on Trail riding in the muddiest of conditions where the bike is dripping of mud. These breaks just keep on working regardless of conditions and have never squeeled. Breaking is just awesome as I can use just 1 finger to break when necessary which gives me complete control of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcristianmtb
Country:Chile
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

The shimano xt brakes have been the best I 've tak

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
The shimano xt brakes have been the best I 've taken . Previously I had the version 2011 and have greatly improved . With a very good touch and perfect functioning fully recommend them .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rubbersideup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing value for money!

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These brakes have everything you need for the money! They feel great and look great!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chunkylinc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality, stopping power and value

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These brakes are lightweight, and have great stopping power. They were reduced, so great value too.
I replaced my avid exlir R, which I'd had from new, but these function much better and they're still not run in.
I would recommend these to anyone considering upgrading, especially with the ice tech discs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philgreat
Country:Qatar
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Such a great smooth braking power.

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I love the smoothness of this brake.just a little press of the lever, it will transmit already a sufficient braking force.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helen21again
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Easy to fit

Posted29 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great value and very powerful. Not too difficult to shorten the pipes and bless either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Brakes

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Stop you as quickly or progressively as you want, great bite. Look great twinned with XT spec-b shifters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snowbill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

ronseal

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
These brakes just work as they should. Swapped out a pair of Formula RX for these and they are much more reliable on the downhills.
I am told they are easier to service too, but haven't had to do that yet.
My only complaint is the plastic looking silver bling on the reservoir lid, not really to my taste!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>