Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brakes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

The M785 brake lever is made from forged alloy for the optimum strength and reliability. An extremely adjustable system as the brake lever features reach and free stroke adjustment. The kit also contains sintered pads, plus spare olives and insert should you wish to adjust the length of the cuttable hoses. Using Ice Tech alloy fin pads further improving heat radiation performance, reducing brake fade. Grab yourself this great I-Spec B compatible M785 brake system at this great price.
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
51 out of 52Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Review 1 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Great item great price

Posted31 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great breaks, massive improvement from the elixir 3 they are replacing. Great price to go with it. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

My son is :-)

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Mounted these on my sons bike and he is very happy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Power, fingertip control and easy fitting.

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
A noticeable difference in performance over my previous Avid set up. Love the shape of the brake lever. I aslo increased the front rotor size at the same time. Now have huge amount of 1 finger control over all sorts of terrain. I need to shorten the hoses but the kit comes with all the necessary bits to do that when I get a mo. Would highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Spongy with excess lever travel

Posted02 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: spongy
Bought as a replacement for Avid Elixir front brake. Easily fitted 3 Allen bolts and that's it. Total disappointment when tried. Excess lever travel and spongy. A pre--bled system allegedly!
I'll be returning this item
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

XT at it's best

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have these brakes on another bike and decided to buy and fit to my other bike. Very easy to install and for maintenance very very simple to bleed if required and change pads. XTR may be 40grms lighter but at double the cost is it really worth it?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Awesome stopping power, irrespective of the price

Posted17 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Irrespective of the price, these brakes provide awesome stopping power. Quality is very good and fitting was easy. I would strongly recommend these brakes to anyone who is looking for a performance upgrade, and I would advise against spending vast sums of money on other brands....it really isn't necessary!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

top quality

Posted16 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
awesome brakes blows avid elixer out the water would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Could not ask for a better braking system fitted straight onto my gear shifters and looks great too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Upgrade

Posted23 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: cable length
Used these to upgrade the breaks on a Cannondale MTB that came with Promax fitted. The Promax were driving me mad the amount of rubbing on the rear disc they did so got these as a reasonably priced replacement. Lot better feel to them when breaking so am pleased. Only downside is that cable is a tad long when fitted to a large 29er frame, so if you have a smaller frame may well have extra cable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good and stops well!!

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought as my 1st upgrade on my Trek fuel and so far i am very pleased with the product. It came quickly and was well packaged and was also easy to fit to my bike. The results were very good even with the old discs still on the bike stops very well better than before and its also good to have the added benefit of the adjustable levers.
I will add new XT discs and will more than likely upgrade to the xt shifters as well. In all very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

superb braking and easy to set up.

Posted08 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was running Magura MTS previously absolute rubbish. These do the job so well. They have not been bled since shortening and fitting, because of internal routing but still work e tremly well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Kuwait
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great braking power,

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The brakes performed really well on all conditions, adjustable levers are a great feature, looks very good specially with the ispec B shifter. Greatly recomend thus product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Brakeset

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Evancycle service is good. I upgrade from slx m675 brake, the feeling(firm) of these were a bit better and a pretty appearance. Everything is provided for shortening the hose..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sleek and great stopping power

Posted15 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are an upgrade for my brakes from avid elixir 3's and are much better. They brake better, bleed much easier, are compatible with my XT shifters via i spec B and look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

ready to use just fit it

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
good quality works very well
just fit it no need to bleed
i order it and it arive the next day
wat more could you ask for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome Brakes

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these to replace my Avid Elixir 3's that came with my Canyon and what a great decision that was. Brakes came boxed with everything needed to fit, had to shorten both hoses which was no problem as the brakes came with spare olives and barbs, once fitted and pads bedded in the feel and power is awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best brakes I've ever had

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
after many Avid and Formula brakes I have decided to get Shimano XT
Easy to maintain and more than enough of braking power!
I'm 13 stone and Shimano XT keeps me safe and full of confidence when hitting the trail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Thailand
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality, cost, packaging, shipping, Evans, Excelle

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, beautifully packaged
Cons: none
I don't usually write reviews , but I feel compelled in this case, these breaks were part of a multi component shipment, which included, hope pick n mix head set, hope expander T rex 40t cog, shimano shadow plus deraillieur, XT m771 caseette x10 speed, xt I spec shifters and these m785 xt breaks. All Simply beautifull products, the quality of the xt breaks and shifters is amazing, the hope head set is beautifully engineered, the rear shimano xt deraillieur is superb, xt casette is so lite and again beautifully engineered. Way pay triple for XTR? On top of all that, it all arrived, beautifully boxed, with all insructions, fixings , extra bits and bobs..... eg extra long b screw with t rex cog, extra dollies for break hose alteration, and a little crimping tool included too,etc etc.....I'm so happy with all the products I have bought for my custom bike build . Ontop of all that, and most importantly. ?... free shipping to Thailand! I used to buy from CRC who are an excellent company, with superb after sales back up, but it would of cost £100 pounds extra to buy this lot from Crc? I think min spend with Evans is £150 to qualify for free shipping?, Weired the More you spend with CRC the more shipping costs....and evans was the cheapest on most products. Wiggle also offer free shipping (min spend £200). But Evans has blown me away with there service , quqlity of products, and free shipping.....simply amazing. No brainer highly recomended......10 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Light, inexpensive, quality stoppers

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Initially I was considering Hope brakes, but XT comes at half price! An exceptional brake when combined with ice tek rotors. More than enough power with really good control. Fantastic and high quality brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Great

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
nice feel to braking. easy to install .look nice as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>