Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

The M785 brake lever is made from forged alloy for the optimum strength and reliability. An extremely adjustable system as the brake lever features reach and free stroke adjustment. The kit also contains sintered pads, plus spare olives and insert should you wish to adjust the length of the cuttable hoses. Using Ice Tech alloy fin pads further improving heat radiation performance, reducing brake fade. Grab yourself this great I-Spec B compatible M785 brake system at this great price.
Overall rating:
4.886 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Review 1 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scuba
Country:Thailand
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality, cost, packaging, shipping, Evans, Excelle

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, beautifully packaged
Cons: none
I don't usually write reviews , but I feel compelled in this case, these breaks were part of a multi component shipment, which included, hope pick n mix head set, hope expander T rex 40t cog, shimano shadow plus deraillieur, XT m771 caseette x10 speed, xt I spec shifters and these m785 xt breaks. All Simply beautifull products, the quality of the xt breaks and shifters is amazing, the hope head set is beautifully engineered, the rear shimano xt deraillieur is superb, xt casette is so lite and again beautifully engineered. Way pay triple for XTR? On top of all that, it all arrived, beautifully boxed, with all insructions, fixings , extra bits and bobs..... eg extra long b screw with t rex cog, extra dollies for break hose alteration, and a little crimping tool included too,etc etc.....I'm so happy with all the products I have bought for my custom bike build . Ontop of all that, and most importantly. ?... free shipping to Thailand! I used to buy from CRC who are an excellent company, with superb after sales back up, but it would of cost £100 pounds extra to buy this lot from Crc? I think min spend with Evans is £150 to qualify for free shipping?, Weired the More you spend with CRC the more shipping costs....and evans was the cheapest on most products. Wiggle also offer free shipping (min spend £200). But Evans has blown me away with there service , quqlity of products, and free shipping.....simply amazing. No brainer highly recomended......10 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raraf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Light, inexpensive, quality stoppers

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Initially I was considering Hope brakes, but XT comes at half price! An exceptional brake when combined with ice tek rotors. More than enough power with really good control. Fantastic and high quality brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BecL
Country:United Kingdom

Great

Posted28 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
nice feel to braking. easy to install .look nice as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bulullu
Country:Malta
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value for money

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have used these breaks on Trail riding in the muddiest of conditions where the bike is dripping of mud. These breaks just keep on working regardless of conditions and have never squeeled. Breaking is just awesome as I can use just 1 finger to break when necessary which gives me complete control of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xcristianmtb
Country:Chile
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

The shimano xt brakes have been the best I 've tak

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
The shimano xt brakes have been the best I 've taken . Previously I had the version 2011 and have greatly improved . With a very good touch and perfect functioning fully recommend them .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rubbersideup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing value for money!

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These brakes have everything you need for the money! They feel great and look great!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chunkylinc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality, stopping power and value

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These brakes are lightweight, and have great stopping power. They were reduced, so great value too.
I replaced my avid exlir R, which I'd had from new, but these function much better and they're still not run in.
I would recommend these to anyone considering upgrading, especially with the ice tech discs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philgreat
Country:Qatar
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Such a great smooth braking power.

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I love the smoothness of this brake.just a little press of the lever, it will transmit already a sufficient braking force.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helen21again
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Easy to fit

Posted29 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great value and very powerful. Not too difficult to shorten the pipes and bless either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Brakes

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Stop you as quickly or progressively as you want, great bite. Look great twinned with XT spec-b shifters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snowbill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

ronseal

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
These brakes just work as they should. Swapped out a pair of Formula RX for these and they are much more reliable on the downhills.
I am told they are easier to service too, but haven't had to do that yet.
My only complaint is the plastic looking silver bling on the reservoir lid, not really to my taste!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laker
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent brakes as expected from Shimano

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As always these XT brakes are great quality, I have also added the XT ispec-b shifters to them which work flawlessly.
The only thing I would mention is that the hoses are super long to accommodate XL size frames I guess.
I run a Medium frame and have had to get the hoses shortened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BiggerTom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant, powerful, good feel and easy to fit.

Posted23 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought these to fit myself having never fitted, trimmed or bled brakes before. They come with the parts required when you trim them and I managed to trim them down easily without needing a bleed. These are infinitely better than the juicy ones that came on the bike. Recommend to anyone on pretty much any bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
improv

bite for your buck

Posted13 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought these as good recommendation from the cycle point in Leeds which are all great lads and have not only met my expectations but have surpassed them great brake and at that price you can't go wrong
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vmacs
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

XT brakes

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: not the lightest
Very good and powerful brake. One finger lever is welcome. I am using it with Magura rotors without problem so far. Best brake I have already used. No comparisom to my previous Magura ( hs-33, Loise and MTS) and avid-CR.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark20040
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome Brakes

Posted26 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Switched from Avid Elixir 3 to these. The difference is unreal. I too was skeptical about the performance difference but genuinely there is a huge difference.
On finger braking with loads of modulation - you can easily control descents without having to squeeze hard and you can literally send your self over the bars from a seated position if you grab a big handful!!
Easy to set up - hoses trimmed using supplied clamp and olive and no need to re-bleed.
Fantastic product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camberbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

Posted22 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Replaced the standard brakes for far superior braking performance. Would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elseie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This product was really easy to fitted ,I have already recommend this product to friends
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave09
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable brakes

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to bleed, great power and modulation. Comfortable levers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano XT M785 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
batesky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good item i am very happy with them

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
I bought these to up grade my standard brakes that came with my new bike and am very happy with them,
they are very easy to cut to length, and much easier to bleed than I thought it was going to be. having read all the complicated idea's that other people seem to employ. I just followed the same routine as for when I bleed my car brakes, IE. pour the brake fluid in the top and
and wait for it to come out of the bottom. {it seamed to work! }
so in all I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>