Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible

The M785 brake lever is made from forged alloy for the optimum strength and reliability. An extremely adjustable system as the brake lever features reach and free stroke adjustment. The kit also contains sintered pads, plus spare olives and insert should you wish to adjust the length of the cuttable hoses. Using Ice Tech alloy fin pads further improving heat radiation performance, reducing brake fade. Grab yourself this great I-Spec B compatible M785 brake system at this great price.
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Review 1 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vmacs
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

XT brakes

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: not the lightest
Very good and powerful brake. One finger lever is welcome. I am using it with Magura rotors without problem so far. Best brake I have already used. No comparisom to my previous Magura ( hs-33, Loise and MTS) and avid-CR.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark20040
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome Brakes

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Switched from Avid Elixir 3 to these. The difference is unreal. I too was skeptical about the performance difference but genuinely there is a huge difference.
On finger braking with loads of modulation - you can easily control descents without having to squeeze hard and you can literally send your self over the bars from a seated position if you grab a big handful!!
Easy to set up - hoses trimmed using supplied clamp and olive and no need to re-bleed.
Fantastic product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camberbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Replaced the standard brakes for far superior braking performance. Would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elseie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This product was really easy to fitted ,I have already recommend this product to friends
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave09
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable brakes

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to bleed, great power and modulation. Comfortable levers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
batesky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good item i am very happy with them

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
I bought these to up grade my standard brakes that came with my new bike and am very happy with them,
they are very easy to cut to length, and much easier to bleed than I thought it was going to be. having read all the complicated idea's that other people seem to employ. I just followed the same routine as for when I bleed my car brakes, IE. pour the brake fluid in the top and
and wait for it to come out of the bottom. {it seamed to work! }
so in all I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kyle1974
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

xt front brake.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, powerful
I upgraded my front brake to this xt one and really happy I did, its very powerful with loads of adjustability, it's also a really good looking brake in the silver and as usual evans is the cheapest around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purpleginger

Great Brake

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product, some nice design features that are ure to come in handy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xlhrv
Country:Mexico
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
nice brakes, massive grip in wet and dry conditions, it worth the money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FuchsA
Country:Israel
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The set of brakes arrived quick ready to install
Since than I enjoy from safe riding the braking power is great quite and smooth , The braking is very linear all over the force you apply to brake
Giving me confidence while riding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kona82

Awesome

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really pleased with these brakes, can't comment on reliability as I haven't owned them long enough (but my old slx were bullet proof)
I run 180 rotors (not ice tech) and the stopping power is one finger sat down stoppies! Great initial bite, easy to control after a little getting used to. Hoses are long, but on my medium ibis mojo hdr not essential to cut them down. Look good, feel good, work great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SlipperySibbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellant Brake

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I Bought this brake for the looks and the write up's that i have heard from the mtb magazines, not only that when i put it to the test on long descents to see if there is any flaws in them i was surprised i havent suffered any problems with fade also the braking power is outstanding on long descents with organic pads even in the wet and muddy conditions i havent tried the sintered pads as of yet but ive had my other XT on for about 8 months and not needed to change my pads not once and they still have plenty of life in them they got no problems in les gets in france, the pistons are plush as ever still working fine after all the Jet-washes my bike has had highly reccomended product a MUST BUY as you all well know a good brake to rely on is a must in any MTB'ers books =) a fit and forget brake
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CallMeDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Perfect Balance

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Upgraded the OE SLX brakes on my Rumblefish with these as a birthday present to myself. Not significantly more powerful, but much improved modulation, making it far easier to keep the wheel on the edge of locking up.
Not a weight weeny, so the XTR can wait...
The SLX went on the better half's steed, far superior to the bottom rung tektros she had!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Biffabacon2321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good brakes at a good price

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Hoses too long but relatively easy to shorten with the supplied clamp
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iandic
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excelent stopping power and value for money.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Upgraded from Shimano 775 brakes.
775 were great but little lack of power. 785 are much more powerful and better looking. On 775 I needed two finger to brake and on 785 only one. Great.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davey1236
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Amazing

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Replaced an Avid Juicy 5 on a downhill biuke by using the same 203mm rotor and avid adapter and wow it stops better than the Avid. Lots of modulation and confidence to brake later and more controlled into corners. Great brake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rrice15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Superb performance, decent price

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Just fitted these (front and rear) to my S-Works Enduro in place of Avid Juicy Ultimates. Brakes were very easy to fit straight out of the box. They're light and look good. First real test of performance came this weekend on some of the decents of the Brecon Beast race. Brake performance was fantastic with great modulation and no fade. Highly recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peterparts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best down/upgrade ever

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got rear in black to replace useless Hayes stroker carbon ,, so good to have a brake that works without rubbing constantly and squealing ... Got at a reduced price , what more could you want
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TodayzHero
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A massive improvement

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These have been a great upgrade on my Cube LTD Race. Very proud to have these mounted on my handle bars, I think they look good in the black option and the performance is everything I expected from the XT spec and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano XT M785 2013 Hydraulic Disc Brake - Ispec B Compatible
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great stopping power

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love these brakes, the stopping power is amazing and good modulation. New set comes with long hoses, which is nice for certain bikes. Some may need to trim it. No big deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>