Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)

Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Review 1 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dave4friends
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Good Road Pedals

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought them at a reduced price and they are definitley a bargain. These are very well made. I would recommend them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simon123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Had the mountain bike version of SPD pedals before (i.e. non-SL) with clips on both sides which is great for quickly getting clipped in. These require a bit more attention/practice but once in I can't fault them. The cleats for the shoes are quite large, made of plastic and allow a bit of movement (floating), which can be changed with other cleats. If you want to do any walking use the mountain bike system where the cleats are made of durable metal and can be recessed into the sole of the shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robin2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple to fit on the bike, and you can quickly get the hang of how best to use them. You can easily kick out your shoes once you adjust the spring and just need to learn the trick of how best to deal with them once you come to a stop so you don't fall over. Wish I had bought them at the beginning instead of ordinary pedals as you are more energy efficient using them. Bought the Specialized Sport Shoes to go with them which are an excellent fit if you have broad feet. ( I am a size 47) and the fitted perfectly.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
namosa

makes your pedaling as like a PRO

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I thought that clipless pedals will be diffcult at my 1st trails but shimano clipless pedals105 spd-sl make my ride and pedaling more fun and easy.
Cheap .. Easy ....and way to pro
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mautinni
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Pedals

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this pedals a few weeks ago and so far they have felt and performed great. No cons so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MDolt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano....need I say anymore

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Look great on my new bike, give a nice area to put the power down
usual shimano quality, not too heavy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeanUK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pedal for the Price

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
This is simply a great pedal for the price and is only slightly heavier than the next model up which is considerably more expensive. Clipping in and out is easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boynton74
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not the lightest but good value

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If I wanted to save an extra 50 grams I could have spent heaps more, I reckon good value to weight and quality ratio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MagicJoey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals. Couldn't ask for more.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well made with the usual Shimano quality. Easy to fit.
Done about 300 miles so far with no issues. Smooth action with good sized platform and easy to clip in and out of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Griff100

Great upgrade

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Changed my old 540's for these and this is a great upgrade for as small price difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulo83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great pedal at a great price

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having used MTB SPD pedals on my road bike for many years, these represent my first experience with road pedals - I was pretty doubtful that things would be this easy.
The pedals were a breeze for someone with next to no mechanical ability to fix on to the bike and the easy method of tweaking the release force required means you can be totally confident that when you want to unclip, you can (very important!)
Compared to the MTB SPD pedals I'm used to, the big flat surface offers much more support and seems to help generate a bit more power. The bearings also seem to run better than the MTB equivalent.
No doubt,worth the money!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevesta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product & very good value for money

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These pedals look good are easy to clip in and out of and were great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigmick21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedMay 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great pedals and a big improvement with the correct road shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canitflycasper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super Value

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Changed to these Shimano pedals from my look keo classics and they are far better in my opinion.
A much more solid click when engaging the cleat but also nice and easy to click out of.
They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Willski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and use

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was warned these pedals can take some getting used to so had until now been using the Shimano M520 SPD Pedals. However I find the Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road pedals easier to get in and out of and they feel much more comfortable and light. As expected they have a firmer grip with a small amount of lateral float. Initial worries about the plastic cleats have gone away, they seem robust enough. The pedals were easy to fit to the bike and adjustment of the release mechanism very straightforward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD-SL Road Pedals (OE)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finmeister
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy on the shoes and wallet

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
great pedals - my first SPDs. Relatively easy to adapt to - they come with tension setting - I just left mine on the easiest setting to get used to - perfect. Good platform for your shoes - look great; i got the silver one's as black had run out of stock - but no regrets, they look the business; easy to clean and take care of. I had no trouble at all fitting them - I'd recommend a proper spanner though (also bought online from Evans), makes the whole transition that much easier. They are also slightly weighted at the rear which makes the whole clipping in process smoother for your feet - takes no time to 'feel' your way into them at the traffic lights. I also got Shimano road shoes with these and the fit is perfect - good price too for these pedals - no complaints at all. p.s. the photo doesn't really do them justice; when you open the packet - a really smart compact pedal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.