Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals

Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals

Please note, this item is OE sourced. It is a genuine, brand new Shimano item.
Overall rating:
4.731 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
67 out of 67(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ross73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First time with clipless pedals - no looking back

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These pedals are easy to install (once I managed to get the original, folding ones off) and easy to adjust. The corresponding cleats (included) simply screw onto the shoes, but require a bit of fiddling to get the appropriate alignment.
Since fitting these, I've noticed a massive improvement in both my acceleration and cadence. Thankfully, I've not yet fallen off (due to forgetting to unclip) - they're that easy to get used to - but I'm sure it won;t be long!
My only (self-) criticism is that I should have bought these sooner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ianboneskennedy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good light weight product

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, great choice
I bought these about 4 weeks ago in silver, they were fitted with no problems and they look great, really easy to slip cleats in and out of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MandyB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great entry level

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I am fairly new cyclist and had it suggested to me I should go onto Spd , so I looked around and found these . Although I these are really mountain bikes I have them on my road bike. . Great entry level as uou can clip in both sides which is really helpgul when learning to use cleats . Bit heavy but good all rounder would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ro55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Similar weight and performance to other SPDs.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used on both a road bike and MTB. Similar weight and performance to much more expensive SPDs for a fraction of the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pistaa
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bargain

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good pedals for a cheap price. I've used the same pedals for a few years for now without any issue. I just needed new ones for my other bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nuverman

great

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fantastic. This is the first time in my life i have used these pedals and wander how i managed without them. I would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leg21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, good quality pedals

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'm pretty harsh on pedals so this offers a great value, functional and reasonably lightweight solution to my needs.
With several riders in my household and running a couple of bikes myself you can't go wrong with this pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skippy64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Pedal, great for newbie riders too

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Evans were helpful and took off my old pedals and fitted my new pedals. As I fitted my Shoes, I read the instructions and watch youtube video clipping in and out of the pedal, I was a bit weary but as soon as took off the shoes just clipped in beautifully. I was astounded on the comfort and power I could get down on my first ride...my cycling friend said dont forget to pull up as well as push down, after a 30 mile ride, I felt confident and still reasonably fresh after the ride. I had to clip out around 5 to 6 times, but managed to take off again. You can clip in both topside and bottom side...very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gilberto
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

standard quality

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
it is a simple sistem tha has been working for a while. The only cons is the weight it feels heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fireblade69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect SPD Pedal

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: shoe specific
Was unsure of getting quick release pedals for many reasons, the main reason was a general unfamiliarity with using them. However, these were on offer and I'd had a couple of slips on the previous ride so I decided to man up and get some. What a difference! My cadence has improved and my power is now directed properly and stability is great. The adjustable release enables you to learn the technique required to consciously decouple ;-) without falling and gives you security on power strokes. 19 step adjustment and dual sided SPD clips are great with the only real shortcoming being that they are not really suitable for normal shoes so only the 4 stars I'm afraid and that's because they don't have half stars.
If you're contemplating getting them, just get them. You won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nifo

Great no nonsense pedals.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These just work. Perfect for what I wanted. Good value with cleats included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sickdude
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent buy

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Solid performer at a fraction of the price of the more fancy siblings up the Shimano model ladder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
niteridz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Light weight but do the job

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I read a few reviews on bike websites and the overwhelming opinion was why buy anything else, these are light, cheap, last well, engage and disengage easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ButterCookie
Country:Latvia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals for an adequate price!!!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Mud clearance much improved, easy to get in and out of pedal. Easy maintenance and design + cheap price and really great quality. Looks great!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guzzlebucket
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Functions well and good value

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good Product, easy to fit, competitively priced and delivered on time all in all a pleased customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jkivar
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value Pedal

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Rugged, robust and reliable. You won't get a better value pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bolt3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money !

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value pedal. I have fitted these pedals to all my bikes. They come with cleats, which, if bought separately, nearly cost as much as the two together. You could get lighter pedals but it would be at a greater cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deano76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Quality Shimano product available in 3 colours to match your frame. I have these on two different bikes and have had no issues with them. Excellent value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drew7990
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Good Quality

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great Product, would recommend to all. Fits perfect on my cyclocross bike and looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano OE M520 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paul118
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

perfectly easy to clip in and out

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a first timer to these clip in peddles I was worried about getting stuck.
As of yet I have not got stuck and feel over :) they have an adjustment to the tension but I left it as it came and love them.
Highly recommend, and delivery was spot on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>